Blog Events · top ten tuesday

Five Books to Read if You Loved Star Trek: Picard | #TopTenTuesday 314 | #SciFiMonth

Today we are meant to be sharing bookish memories for top ten tuesday (as always hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl) but as I missed this topic from 2 weeks ago and it is still Sci-Fi Month I figured I’d just share this one with you instead.

Earlier they showed Star Trek: Picard here in the Netherlands and while it certainly wasn’t perfect, husband and I quite enjoyed watching it. I was so happy to see old favorites again. That helped a lot. Anyway I thought it would be the perfect show to point you in the direction of some books to read.

Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk and Robot 1) by Becky Chambers

While Psalm takes place on our earth entirely and it has quite a different feel, it overlaps in certain points regarding life of AI and idealistic views on the world.

Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch 1) by Ann Leckie

Stick it to those in charge is how I remember Ancillary Justice mostly and while Picard won’t use those words he is quite being a rogue at the start of this show, talking against those in charge.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

A crew of misfits that somehow end up fitting together just right.

Seven Devils by Elizabeth May and Laura Lam

The same as above but they fight for the same cause.

Leviathan Wakes (The Expanse 1) by James S.A. Corey

A crew that has to deal with the big chaos because those in charge suck.

17 thoughts on “Five Books to Read if You Loved Star Trek: Picard | #TopTenTuesday 314 | #SciFiMonth

I welcome your thoughts and opinions!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.