If You Liked · various

Five Books to Read for Halloween If You Liked Frankenstein

Eleven more nights until we hit Halloween. We’re getting closer and closer until that one creepy night. This year I am participating in the spook-a-thon by Kwante in Wonderland that started on the 13th and as such have been thinking a bit more on reading spooky books this year around.

Even more so after having finished The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein. After writing my review this topic popped up into my head all of a sudden. I’ve never hid that I am not the biggest Frankenstein fan but I do think its Monster is one of the iconic classics for Halloween, along with Dracula and werewolves.

So this year I am here to help you figure out some books to read for Halloween if you liked Frankenstein.

Reading Challenge(65)

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein

by Kiersten White / My Review
Frankenstein Retelling / Female Point of View / Historical / Horror / Young Adult

This book will probably not have passed you by easily this Summer or start of the Fall. It is a recent release from the end of September and a Frankenstein retelling. It tells the story from the point of view of Elizabeth, who lived with Victor Frankstein from childhood. It is an atmospheric and intriguing read. Perfect for Halloween.

Untitled

This Monstrous Thing

by Mackenzi Lee / My Review
Frankenstein Retelling / Steampunk / Historical / Young Adult

Perhaps not as creepy, This Monstrous Thing is another Frankenstein retelling with steampunk elements. It focuses on two brothers. It is a fun and entertaining read if you don’t want something too creepy for Halloween.

Reading Challenge(65)

The Island of Dr. Moreau

by H.G. Wells
Classic / Science / Eerie / Horror / Genetic Engineering

When it comes to eerie settings The Island of Dr. Moreau certainly fits. I mean the protestors against this book in 1896 will tell you enough of the horror in this book, no?

Untitled

Pitch Dark

by Courtney Alameda / My Review
Space / Sci-Fi / Young Adult / Mutants / Horror

More of a true sci-fi book by its setting in space, there is a certain eerie quality to this horror space ship with its mutants roaming around it. Alameda knows how to write some good horror young adult so you can’t go wrong here. And if this isn’t enough to satisfy you, you could go check out her other horror YA novel, Shutter, as well.

Reading Challenge(65)

The Golem and the Djinni

by Helene Wecker 
Historical / Djinni / Magic / Golem

Perhaps at first glance this doesn’t quite fit in but I think what appeals to people in Frankenstein, the question of who is really the monster and morality, is one of the things that does come back in this novel. It also has the atmospheric historical feel that I think is appealing. Perhaps not creepy but certainly a great read for a Halloween evening.

19 thoughts on “Five Books to Read for Halloween If You Liked Frankenstein

    1. I love the idea of Frankenstein, just not the acutal book haha.
      Yeah as I was thinking on this topic I came on that book rather quickly. It is such a different approach.

      Like

  1. I am so ashamed to share that not only have I not read any of these books, but I haven’t read Frankenstein yet either! GASP! I feel like such a SFF Fan Failure. 😦 But, I aspire to read it sometime. I always want to read it during October but other reads always displace it. Oops.

    Do you feel like reading <em.Frankenstein before these books would help me appreciate them more? Or can I just pick any of these up?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. Nothing to be ashamed of for that. I personally didn’t care for Frankenstein but it is a short read and for that reason I think it would be good to read it before most of these. You can read Pitch Dark without it. It mostly feels similar in mood. Especially with The Dark Descent and This Monstrous Thing I think it would be good to have read Frankenstein first so you can see where it diverts and how the authors play with it. Especially Dark Descent stays close to the original.

      Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts and opinions!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.