top ten tuesday

TTT #115 – Books I Want Merijn To Read in the Future

When you are a bookworm you want to be able to install your love of reading and books into others. When you also happen to be a mom, this is often thought to be the same for your children. Which is what this topic is about. The Broke and the Bookish ask which books we want our future children to read for this week’s top ten tuesday. But there is obviously no future children here as I already have one.

I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again. I would love it if Merijn became a reader but if he doesn’t, that is fine too. I certainly don’t want to push it on him. I just want him to not dread reading but see it as something that can be fun. I think that is important.

So I struggled a bit with this topic. I just want him to read anything he wants. But I guess if I could push him into a certain direction, here are a few books I’d like him to look into.

⌘

Matilda, and other Roald Dahl books
I am slowly buying some of these in Dutch and as audio books for him. I’d just love to read to or read these with him at some point.

Untitled

Oorlogswinter / Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw
Honestly I think this, and other second world war children’s book are important to read at some point. To see how things were, also from a child’s perspective.

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
And the same goes for this book.

Achtste-Groepers Huilen Niet by Jacques Vriens
This author is one I read reasonably a lot of while in primary school. This book is about a girl in her last year of primary school who gets cancer and how she and the class deal with it. I think that is an important topic.

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee
This book is funny, adventurous and important. It is good to read outside of your own world.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
I regret not having read this a lot sooner. I would have reread this forever.

Untitled

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
I just want him to find Hogwarts.

33 thoughts on “TTT #115 – Books I Want Merijn To Read in the Future

    1. Me too. I now have the first three illustrated ones and I am hoping to one day have those open alongside reading the dutch text of our dutch paperback to him. (this is so romanticized in my head though that it spells disaster haha)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ohh I see we have some similar choices, awesome! the Anne Frank Diary is on my list as well and Harry Potter of course! Oorlogswinter is a good one too, didn’t think of it – oops haha.

    I had a great time creating this list, loved the topic – which was The reason I wanted to start with top ten Tuesday as well. I added a lot of books from my own childhood and I’d love to see Milan and maybe if we’d someday have another child, reading them when they get a bit older and hopefully enjoy them as much as I did.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I might need to read Winter in Wartime myself, simply because as an American, we get only a certain view of WWII, if that makes any sense. I’d be interested in something written by a non-American author.

    Excellent list!

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I so agree that I would love if my kids would love reading too, but if they don’t that would be fine. As much as we love reading, it wouldn’t be right to push them into reading as that could definitely have the opposite effect. But yeah, I’d love to share Harry Potter and Roald Dahl with them too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wat een super goede lijst! Ik ben het totaal met je eens, Roald Dahls boeken moeten gewoon gelezen worden. Ik ben van plan om zijn boeken te kopen voor mijn nichtjes. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones! Oh wow, ik heb het boek niet gelezen, maar wel de film gezien. En de film was te gek! Ik moet het nodig nog eens zien.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aww this post is SO lovely!! I think it’s definitely important to make sure smol children grow up around books, but equally to make sure it’s not a chore?! My nephew/nieces have grown up surrounded by SO many books and library visits and they just adore books and I’m so proud. 😍 I really want them to read Lemony Snicket and Harry Potter when they’re older!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed. It has to be enjoyable. Merijn has a place where he has a bunch of sturdy books he can grab and do whatever with (He destroyed one this week, hear me weep). And then we also go the library, and read a story to him for bed time. But it is all on his terms. Some days he isn’t feeling reading a library book and that is fine.

      Like

  6. My book love sharing worked out pretty well with Baz except for the Earthsea trilogy; which I found myself not loving as much when I tried to re-read it, ha ha, and the A Wrinkle in Time books. After we tag team read Wrinkle he had no want to read any of the
    other books which was my only real book disappointment with him, so I guess I am lucky!

    I love the books you chose, and you are right, reading children’s accounts of bad times in history is important. Since starting book blogging I have been introduced to a lot of children’s books I didn’t know about before, and of course all of the newer titles I found to read to Baz, so my grandchildren’s tbr is going to be HUGE! 📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚

    Like

Leave a Reply

