reviews

Five Reasons You Should Read The Language of Thorns

UntitledI don’t know about you guys but sometimes I can really struggle writing reviews. Some books are just hard to describe. And in some cases, anthologies, there is not one author or writing style to point out. In the case of this collection of short stories, that is not the case as each story is written by Leigh Bardugo.

Even so I still struggled to find the right words. So for a change I bring you a five point review. (Please let me know if you like this type of review from me and I might consider doing some others like this. )

1 Creepy Writing. Leigh Bardugo has a way with words and as she has been writing more books her style of writing has also improved. This clearly shows in the Six of Crows duology. She has however always had a knack for writing short stories. The Witch of Duva was the first thing I ever read of her and was what captured my attention. There is such a dark vibe that runts through that and the other short stories. It grabs you by the throat.

2 Dark Folklore and Fairytales.Ā  Adding to that is that these short stories are folkore stories to the Grisha world and have such a Grimm Fairy tale vibe. Some are also clearly based on original fairy tales like The Nutcracker. Don’t expect super happy endings.

Untitled

3 Unexpected Twists. One of the things I loved the most about the stories was how there were unexpected twists to these stories. There is a twist on the stepmother trope for instance that took me by surprise the first and even second time I read. Even the second time, already knowing the story, I still half expected the story to go the usual way. She lured me in and set me up to fall for it. Like our main character in it. And that was that way with the other stories as well.

4 Illustrations. I think what got everyone’s attention when it was announced this book was coming out, was that stunning cover and the illustrations that were promised. I can honestly say that the illustrations are such a great addition to the book. Each story has their own big illustration but each spread of page of the story builds up the image along the sidelines. It is so interesting to see.

Untitled

5 Background to The Grisha World and World Building. I think these delicious folkore stories to the Grisha world also gives us an interesting look into the world, away from how that world now works. To different places, different perspectives. Having said that, I don’t think you need to have read Bardugo’s other works in this world to be able to read this. It stands on its own just fine because it builds the world greatly even in these short stories.

āŒ˜

Book: The Language of Thorns (Grisha) by Leigh Bardugo
Release Date: September 26th 2017
Tags: Young Adult / Illustrated Books / Folklore / Fairy Tales / Dark Fairy Tales / The Grisha
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

āŒ˜

Other Books in This world I Reviewed
Shadow and Bone / Siege and Storm / Ruin and Rising // Six of Crows / Crooked Kingdom

Goodreads

12 thoughts on “Five Reasons You Should Read The Language of Thorns

  1. I like the five point review! I think it allowed you to clearly explain your thoughts without getting too review-y.

    The illustrations looks amazing! I also love books with twists. I want to be shocked and surprised when I read a book. It’s not any fun if I figure everything out before it happens.

    Do You Dog-ear?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True. Some books you just need to be able to shout about instead of doing the whole plus and minus thing of reviews.

      I agree. I hate it when people are like, oh that plot twist, and I’m over here thinking, but that was so obvious I could smell it fromm the first page…

      Like

  2. Ooooooh. This book is SO PRETTY! I had no idea it came with proper illustrations! I love the color scheme, too.

    Now, this is on my TBR because I adored the Six of Crows duology. I also LOVE short stories– and everyone has said this is an amazing collection. But, I haven’t read any of the other Grishaverse stories. Do I need to read the trilogy before picking this up? Why or why not?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew that there were going to be some illustrations but I didn’t realize that they were like this. ā¤

      Oh if you've read SoC than you for sure can read this anthology. You already have a feel for the world.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this format. I feel it makes the reviews easier to digest. I think I would be more motivated to write blog reviews if I could do it in chunks like this. At one time I toyed with the thought of doing the Plus One format, where if it is a book you loved you write [insert number] of things you loved/liked plus one thing you didn’t care for; and if you didn’t like the book, the reasons why plus one thing you did like. Now that you made me think of it…

    Thanks for your thoughts. I definitely need this one on my shelves. šŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This book looks beautiful, but I think your lovely photographs really do it justice. I wish I had the photography skill that you do! šŸ™‚

    How young adult is it? The coloured illustrations make it look slightly younger than that, but I’ve heard it’s quite creepy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

