reviews

Book Review – Air Awakens

Book: Air Awakens (Air Awakens) by Elisa Kova
Release Date: August 27th 2015
Tags: Young Adult / High Fantasy / Fantasy / Romance
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

Review

What initially drew my attention to the Air Awakens series was the buzz on Instagram and those beautiful covers. I think those covers is what really got the hype going. They are gorgeous and promise us a lush fantasy setting. Unfortunately the book could not live up to this at all.

The thing is, when you break this book down it is a bit cliché. I’m even going to go far out and say that it resembles Avatar the Last Airbender too much. I don’t mind the magic focus on the elements. A lot of fantasy has that, and while it is not original, there is a whole lot one can create with that. Unfortunately this was not the case with this book. Each element seemed to come from a certain area and the area with the fire element had been oppressing the others. Oh and wind is extremely rare. Well then…  There aren’t any creative or unique twists in the story to get away with that.

I also feel like I didn’t get enough feel for the whole world as most of it was all set in the castle and very restricted to a few characters. The only good thing about that was that they were in a library most of the time. At least that made my heart a bit excited.

Another thing is that I found the plot a bit flimsy in places. Actually, the plot was mostly the romance happening which was not what I was expecting from this book. I was promised epicness and I get a barely tolerable romance.  As I said in the previous paragraph, not enough world building and as such there wasn’t enough background for me to care about the ending or to understand any of the motivation from our villains. I also expected a whole lot more magic. Or at least a whole lot more training going on with Vhalla. But it was mostly googly eyes. Pass me the bucket please.

As far as characters go, I wasn’t nessecarily moved by a whole lot of them. I mean the prince could have been cute had he not thrown her of a tower. I don’t think I could have gotten over that tid bit as fast as Vhalla did. Vhalla was a bit of a wet blanket in that regard. I felt she would do anything to gain his attention. Our damsel in distress. She is apparently the special one. There was little sign of that though.

And now that I am done with writing this review I realize my initial rating of 3 stars was too nice. Taking of another star.

8 thoughts on “Book Review – Air Awakens

  1. This was one my TBR for a while now (mostly because of the gorgous covers and because it sounded amazing) but I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it! Sad to hear it’s not a lot of plot but way too much focus on romance, with wet blanket characters… Maybe I’ll still enjoy it, but I’m giving it a less high priority… Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no, I’ve heard great things about these books and this author so it sucks this book didn’t work for you. You’ve effectively lowered by extremely high expectations so maybe it’ll be ok. That’s the one terrible thing about book hype, it can kill a book instantly because there is no way it can live up to the expectations in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oops! Ik heb het boek nog niet gelezen maar had net als jij hoge verwachtingen van dit boek. Zoals jij in je recensie aangeeft zou ik zelf ook veel actie verwachten in plaats van een liefdesverhaal met een klein beetje magie ernaast.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh no! Sorry you didn’t like this one!

    I have heard really amazing things about the series in general so I got myself a copy but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

    I always did think it kind of sounded like Avatar, haha. I guess I was right in that regard.

    Chances are I will still give this a go because there are things I think I could like about it – I don’t mind romance-heavy fantasies, to be honest!

    I hope your next read is one you love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

