top ten tuesday

TTT #106 – Books I Loved in 2014

Sometimes it can be a good thing to look back. I’ve been blogging since May 2015, a bit more than two years now. I share the books I read now and how I feel about them. And hey, all time favorites often get a mention. But sometimes there are books I read before blogging that do deserve a mention here and then.

This is why I decided to use this throwback freebie of Top Ten Tuesday, as always created by The Broke and the Bookish, to share the 10 books I loved during 2014.

In 2014 I was fairly active over on Tumblr or rather Booklr and that influenced what I picked up a lot. During this year I read a total of 77 books. I rated 5 books 5 stars of which 2 were rereads. But I mostly rated books 3 stars.

⌘

Untitled

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
This book is one I had never considered picking up if it had not been for Booklr. One of them was so obsessed with this book and she organised a readalong for it. I bought the ebook to give it a chance and I loved it enough to buy a paperback book of it later.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
I heard so many things about this book, but I don’t think any of them do it justice until you read it yourself. For some reason it is one of those books that stays in your mind for a while after you finished reading it.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
I’ve mentioned this book quite a few times and it is one of the first books by Gaiman that I read. For some reason this is one of those books that also stays with you after reading it and the more I think about the book, even know, the more I love it. I really need to reread it soon.

Untitled

The Darkest MindsΒ  (The Darkest Minds 1) by Alexandra Bracken
I think I fell in love with this book because of the van gang. They were so cute together and honestly, the later books could not recapture that.

Angelfall (Penryn and the End of Days 1) by Susan Ee
Oh, I am not a big angel fan but this first book captured my heart. I just really loved Penryn.

The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave 1) by Rick Yancey
I remember reading this book in one sitting during a Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon. I just tore through it in the morning.

Seven Realms by Cinda Williams Chima
While I had read the first book of this series, the Demon King, ages ago, it took me a long while to pick up the rest. So I reread the first book and then steamed through the rest of the series. And I loved it. All these characters deserve so much love and I love the world this plays out in.

Untitled

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
While I am not a big The Mortal Instruments fan, I ended up being quite taken with this trilogy. It is one of the reasons why I’ve decided to give Lady Midnight a chance. I just really liked the main trio of these books and the plot feels a lot tighter. (Also I highly prefer these covers over the new ones)

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
Again, I had read the first book ages ago but didn’t pick up the rest until this year. I ended up being charmed by the world and especially the last two books took me by surprise.

Mort (Death 1, Discworld) by Terry Pratchett
2014 Was the year where I started reading Pratchett. While this wasn’t the first book I started with, it is where I started to fall in love with the world. They way Death is characterized is something I love.

26 thoughts on “TTT #106 – Books I Loved in 2014

  1. Oh, terugblikken is altijd leuk. Het nachtcircus heb ik zelf ook heel graag gelezen. Ik ben het even voor je gaan opzoeken en 2014 was het jaar waarin ik belachelijk veel las (180 boeken). Dit waren enkele van mijn favorieten: Dark lover en Lover Eternal van J.R.Ward, Appeltaart van Janneke Philippi, Vermoord naakt en Vermoorde schoonheid van J.D.RObb, Renata van Lara Adrian, Met een been in het graf van Jeaniene Frost en Het boek van leven van Deborah Harkness. Dit waren de boeken die ik dat jaar vijf sterren gaf.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Darkest Minds has been in my wish list forever! I’m just in a fantasy slump right now but as soon as I can read fantasy again I’m reading it!

    I really enjoyed The Ocean at the End of the Lane thought it left me more than a little “HUH?” I decided to read more Gaiman after that so I read American Gods and was even more “HUH?” so that’s why I wrote the post about Gaiman and I not been a good fit for each other LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I fell in love with The Night Circus when I listened to the audio version. Such an amazing magical story. I really liked The Ocean At the End of the Lane as well. And I totally sobbed my eyes out while reading The Book Thief. Great list! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so fun! I love revisiting old favorites. I should do this more often! The Night Circus is one of my favorite books of ALL TIME. I try to push it on people whenever I can. πŸ˜‰ I also read The Darkest Minds in 2014– but I never picked up the rest of the series. This just validates that for me! Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m curious to see if the author is coming with a new one soon. It has been a while.
      Yeah it is a shame when series can’t live up to the first book. I don’t think the rest of the series was bad but it just couldn’t keep the same feeling going.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There’s no news from Erin Morgenstern, sadly. I would be pre-ordering her newest book (if there was one) for sure!

        And yes– Exactly! I have definitely been disappointed down stream by a few series in the past. It always makes me sad. Divergent is another series which comes to mind. I loved the first book, but after that… O_o

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

