top ten tuesday

TTT #105 – Books I Struggled to Motivate Myself to Pick Up But Ended Up Loving

I don’t know about you guys but sometimes I have books that I have on my TBR, bought and all but it still takes me forever to pick them up. Even when I only hear great things. Sometimes it is all these great things that stops me. What if I am the odd one out that doesn’t like the book?

Some times it is the thickness of a book. Sometimes just staring at a thick book can give you reader anxiety. It is quite the commitment to read a 1000 pages fantasy book apart of a series.

The Broke and the Bookish asked us for books you struggled to get into that you ended up loving but I have changed that to books I struggled to motivate myself to pick up as that situation happens to me much more often. I barely register having trouble getting into a book afterwards if I ended up loving it.

⌘

The Farseers TrilogyΒ  by Robin Hobb / Review
This trilogy and this author are so well loved that it took me ages to pick these books up even though I could easily start it as I had the books for a while. I read them a few months ago and binged the series in a week.

Untitled

Gentleman Bastard by Scott Lynch / Review book 1
An unfinished fantasy series with thick books. I was afraid that I would not be able to get into this but I fell in love with the characters and their interactions quite quickly. I can’t wait for the fourth book now.

Endymion Spring by Matthew Skelton / Review
I had bought this book years ago, cheap, at the Boekenfestijn here in the Netherlands. Yet it took me until this year to pick it up. In the end it turned out to be quite an endearing middle grade read. Very different from what I was expecting, but still a nice read nontheless.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin
Let’s be real here, who has not read these books because they are so chunky even though they watch the tv show? They are big and intimidating reads. I’m glad I did read them though as the tv show is diverging from the books so much these days. And I like some of the things that happened in the books over the tv show.

Indigo Springs by A.M. Dellamonica
Another cheap buy that took me a while to pick up. When it comes down to it, the cover isn’t exactly that exciting and since nobody I knew had read it I had no idea about this book. But I am glad I read it because I loved it and it has certainly put this author on my radar.

Written in Red by Anne Bishop / Review
The first The Others book was big and urban fantasy, and I had it in Dutch. It took me a while to pick it up. So many people seemed to love it and I didn’t quite understand why. Well now I do. One of my favorite series.

Untitled

The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
In this case, it being a classic and big played a bit part in why it took me a year and a half to pick this book up and then took me forever to finish it. I enjoyed it though and I was glad to read the original source material for Sherlock Holmes

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
For years I loved watching the BBC adaption of this book. But I never even thought about picking it up to read. It was a classic. Jane Austen. That did not seem appealing to me at all. But I ended up challenging myself and was glad I read it. I enjoyed the writing a lot more than I thought I would and are interested in reading a bit more Jane Austen at some point in my life.

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb / Review
I kept being told by two people that I needed to read these, and that they were good. And while my interest was piqued, they were still detective books and I never have a good track record with those. Still this book ended up convincing me to start collecting all the books out in Dutch

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
Did you know it took me ages to continue on with Percy Jackson? I mean I read the first book around the movie came out and then promptly forgot about it. It took me ages to pick up the rest. I didn’t seem to care, but people kept telling me how great the series was and how great the series after it was. The Heroes of Olympus sounded great, but to get to that I needed to finish Percy Jackson. And I did and I am very glad I did because I did like the books a whole lot more than I thought I would.

38 thoughts on “TTT #105 – Books I Struggled to Motivate Myself to Pick Up But Ended Up Loving

  1. I’m currently struggling to finish reading Pride & Prejudice. The issue for me personally has been the writing style; it’s so complex, I feel.
    Glad you got to finish reading it. Hopefully I can finish reading it soon.

    I barely got into the Percy Jackson series as well. Rick Riordan is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve struggled to finish reading Pride & Prejudice because of the writing style- it’s eloquent and too advanced for me. lol. Glad you got to finish it. Hopefully I can as well…soon.

    And Rick Riordan is a genius! I love his books and I barely started getting into Trials of Apollo and the Percy Jackson books.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is so much in there that it is a series you can reread so many times and still discover something new. Too bad they are so big though that I haven’t felt like that yet.

      Like

  3. What a great twist to today’s topic! My list could go on for quite awhile! Sometimes I don’t even know why I put off reading a book for so long. I haven’t yet read The Farseerers Trilogy, as a matter of fact. Oh, and Sherlock Holmes. I’ve read one book of fiction Doyle’s, but nothing else. Yet.

    I hope you have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Completely agree about ASOIAF! I hurt my wrists reading the first three books in paperback format and then finally switched to an e-reader for the others. And yes, Heroes of Olympus would have been great motivation to finish the first Percy Jackson series – they’re thicker and more inviting somehow. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just said this in a prior comment to someone else, but so many fantasy novels start out moving at the rate of molasses. That’s one of the few genres I’ll force myself to push through because a huge majority of the time, it really picks up. I felt the same about GRRM and wasn’t disappointed once things got rolling.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True. Fantasy needs a lot of time to set up and it does not create a very action packed start. I have to say that I usually don’t mind a slower start for fantasy anyway.

      Like

  6. I’m not giving up on reading A Song of Ice and Fire and The Others. I feel intimidated by the size too but I hope one day I’ll read them! Good for you Annemieke for persevering! It paid off!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can imagine that the Gentleman Bastard books aren’t the easiest to get into with the way they are written with interludes. It kind of threw me for a bit there too.

      Like

  7. Oh I’m exactly the same with Percy Jackson!! I’m the biggest Riordan fan now but like originally I read the first Percy book and was like “Ok but whatever” and didn’t try more till a year later.πŸ™ˆπŸ™Š stilllll. I love them now. And omg Game of Thrones is SO intimidating. Worth it, but also freaking annoying being unfinished. 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right? I feel like the last 2-3 books are just better in PJO.
      Oh my gosh, how much longer do we have to wait? The tv show is already at 7. Like, when are we even getting 6? Is it EVER going to happen?

      Like

  8. SAME! I’m only now reading The Heroes of Olympus even though I read the Percy Jackson series YEARS ago already. Written in Red had been on my shelf waiting for me to read it for almost a year now… And I have all the Song of Ice and Fire books on my shelf, but have I read them? Nope πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that sounds familiar but with different books for me. πŸ˜‰ Written in Red really is great, though perhaps a little slower paced than other urban fantasy books.

      Like

    1. Yes! It is great but does take a bit of getting used to.
      I really did enjoy it and thought the subtleness of some of it was great, yes. I have some other Austen on my shelves but I have yet to pick them up unfortunately.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oooh I feel you, I have been dragging my feet SO much when it comes to reading A Song of Ice and Fire! I actually haven’t even seen the show yet but I want to! And I want to read the books! But… so long. And I also want to read The Others series too, so I am glad that you ended up loving the series!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Eigenlijk tonen die vragen steeds aan hoe slecht mijn geheugen is. Boeken waar ik nooit zin in had maar die ik uiteindelijk super vond … euhm? Tja, het enige dat ik momenteel kan bedenken is Sterrenhemel van Colleen Hoover. Contemporary is nog steeds mijn favoriete genre niet. Heel af en toe wil ik het wel eens lezen en heel af en toe heb ik ook het geluk om zo een boek te ontdekken dat beter is dan ik had verwacht. Voor dit soort blogposts moet ik steeds door mijn Goodreads gaan Γ©n serieus in mijn geheugen beginnen wroeten. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha ja deze lijstjes moet ik ook vaak even goed over nadenken hoor. Soms zijn er ook topics waar ik dus ook niks mee kan dus dan tweak ik ze maar een beetje voor mezelf. Zo ook dus deze topic. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Ik had dat heel hard met Staalhart, het lukte me gewoon niet om eraan te beginnen, maar toen ik het na maanden eindelijk deed was ik meteen helemaal verliefd haha! Momenteel heb ik het overigens ook met Morgenster, dat boek ligt al een aantal weekjes op mij te wachten, maar ik durf niet.. Rood vond ik persoonlijk echt niet goed, maar de laatste honderd pagina’s van Gouden Zoon waren dan wel weer heel tof. Dus hopelijk is Morgenster ook zo’n boek waar ik met moeite aan begin, maar waar ik uiteindelijk enorm van ga genieten πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dat is wel heerlijk dan he. Als je dan begint dat het dan ook gelijk het uitstellen waard was.
      Ik ben erg benieuw wat ik van Red Rising ga vinden maar die stel ik dus ook al een tijdje uit, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha dat zijn ook zo van die dikken boeken.. ik ben juist aan deel drie begonnen πŸ˜› het eerste deel vond ik niet fantastisch maar boek twee was al een stuk beter!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

