reviews

Book Review – The Bone Season

Book: The Bone Season (The Bone Season 1) by Samantha Shannon
Release Date: August 20th 2013
Tags: Fantasy / Sci-Fi / Dystopia / Adult
Rating: 3,5 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

Review

If you had not heard about this, Samantha Shannon has been said to be the new J.K. Rowling. And who is she? The author of The Bone Season. Do I agree with this assessment? No, because there can be no new J.K. Rowling. There is only one. But it does create insanely high expectations. And those are hard to meet.

See I’m kind of conflicted. On the one hand I tore through this book. Samantha Shannon has a gripping writing style that you don’t easily turn away from. I just wanted to know what was going to happen. And possible hints for the next books as it will be a 7 book series.  On the other hand now that I am finished with it I can’t say that I am that attached to the characters or the series in itself.

The idea in itself is rather interesting. The idea that there are clairvoyants in our midst, the change in our history and an oppressive government (in England for a change) just intrigues me. And through Paige we emerge ourselves entirely in the world. But the world building is somewhat lacking in place. The thing is, there are sometimes too many details. The book starts with all 7 different classifications that are all divided in different ones as well. It is a lot to take in and some are referred to in the book of course. It was a bit hard to remember, especially at the beginning. I was trying to wade through all the terms. Another thing is, the back has a large glossary of terms. While I am a fan of these, having two things you need to reference to keep your head above the water seems a bit much, really. In the end I was able to read the book without referencing the glossary but I might have missed a significance here or there I suppose. Untitled

As far as characters go, we follow Paige in first person point of view. She was a bit of a breath of fresh air. While there is some mention of love and a smidge of romance at the end, it was nothing that bothered me and Paige certainly didn’t let it take her away from what she was setting out to do which was escape. She was for the most part focused on her task but sometimes frustrated by there being no way out. Her relationship with Warden, her ward, was a bit odd. I think what bothered me is that he asks her to trust him yet he offers her no motivations for what he is doing and she doesn’t even ask him. It just struck me as odd from Paige, someone who seems so smart about all other things. I couldn’t really work my head around that.

I am very curious about The Mime Order. I really hope it steps up a bit from The Bone Season. While it is an enjoyable read it doesn’t entirely stand out to me in the crowd.

10 thoughts on “Book Review – The Bone Season

  1. I heard this was supposed to be like the next BIG THING after JK Rowling. 😂 Haha didn’t really work for me, ahem. But I’m glad you found a lot to like about it! I still need to read The Mime Order, but mostly because my sister’s name is Mime.😂 I was just soooo confused in the first book. I wonder if I might do better with it on audio? I should try someday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really interesting to read your thoughts! Hmm, I’m kind of on the fence about this one. I started it last year but couldn’t get into it so it ended up being a DNF for me. (Though I’ve left my copy of it at my mum’s for future visits so I might read it someday?) Or maybe I’ll wait to see what you think of the next one 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HOLY CRAP A 7 BOOK SERIES?! AS A DEBUT AUTHOR?! I mean… that *alone* sets a really high bar. It sounds like this book has a lot of great things going for it, but you will reserve judgement until the rest of the books are out? Or, at least, more are? I love the premise, and I’ll certainly read it, too.

    Great review! I appreciate how honest you are about your own thoughts concerning this book. It’s easy to get swept up in the hype.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

