top ten tuesday

TTT #102 – Some Book Recommendations for Minion/Despicable Me Lovers

Untitled If you have followed me on the blog for a while it might not have escaped your notice that I am quite endeared by the Minions from the Despicable Me movies and their own movie The Minions. To say I have a few Minion things in my house would be a small understatement. I have a minion lamp on my bed stand, 3 plushies, a gazillion little figurines, a bag, stickers, and so on. Ahum.

And other people like to support my habit. Liesbet from Zwartraafje sends me whatsapp pictures of Minion adds in stores. My husband tends to be happy to pay for minion things. I swear this is the whole enabling book buying thing all over again.

In any case, now that top ten tuesday (as always created by The Broke and the Bookish) is back from hiatus, I thought it would be great to start this off with something that I love and to figure out book recommendations for it. Which was actually rather hard. Because what is it exactly that draws us (or rather me) to these minions? And can we find that in books? And have I even read them? So in some cases I might not have read these books but I feel like the would fit regardless based on what I have heard of them.

⌘

Yellow

Looking at myself, yellow is what draws me into these little ones at first. It is my favorite color so…Do you know I actually barely own any yellow books? It is ridiculous really. So of course I struggled with this first item.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Humor

Another thing that I love about the Minions is that they are humorous things. They are a bit clueless at moments and that creates humor. But they also love to laugh at themselves and sometimes even have a bit of a blunt and cruel sense of humor. I like all kinds of humor in my books (as long as it isn’t making fun of others and such) so I’d imagine others do too.

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee
Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Anderson

Endearing

But the Minions are als quite endearing to me as creatures and deep inside they have a soft spot for things like Gru’s girls and villains.

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones

Untitled

Villains and/or Minions

Of course the Minions love their villains and want more than anything to be minions to a villain. That desperate need is so intriguing honestly.

Because You Love to Hate Me. Edited by Ameriie
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Bartimaeus series by Jonathan Stroud

Villains They Would Totally Go For

The Darkling
Moriarty
The White Witch

⌘

Have you read any of these books? Do you think they could be a great fit for Minion lovers? Do you like the Minions?

29 thoughts on “TTT #102 – Some Book Recommendations for Minion/Despicable Me Lovers

  1. Oh I love how you did this post! That was smart to think of what exactly it is you like about the minions and go from there. I originally wasn’t interested in Nimona, but when I finally actually read the blurb lol, it sounds pretty cute! And I’ve heard good things. I would like to read that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love minions. 🙂 And I have very few yellow books as well, as it turns out (something I only realized looking at this post!) Nice pick of villains too- it would be interesting to see thew Minions serving the White Witch!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have only ever met one, and she is a beautiful person who journeyed to London and surprised me with a signed copy of Ptolemy’s Gate. 🙂 Fans unite! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awhhh!! This is such an adorable, clever, and creative post! I absolutely loved it, and all of the books that you choose. I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, this is such a brilliant post, Annemieke! Love it! Haven’t seen Despicable Me yet, but I love the villains you included. Really smart concept you have here. Also: I got Nimona from the library ages ago, and I liked what I read for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, nu heb je zelfs een nieuwe manier gevonden om Minions ook nog eens op je blog te laten verschijnen. 🙂 Ik ben trouwens graag je Minion-acties dealer hoor. Toen ik ooit al mijn gele boeken uit de kast haalde voor een blogpost ben ik er echt van geschrokken hoeveel het er waren. Maar dus niet Charlie & the Chocolate Factory want die kocht ik speciaal in een omnibus met het vervolg erbij Ên een paarse kaft. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

