Topics/Discussion

Good Covers for Dutch Translated Books

Very often Dutch translations get a bad name. The translations would be bad and there would be many spelling mistakes. Maybe this was true 10 or 20 years ago but I think that in the most cases translations have been a lot better.

Not only the actual translated work tends to get a lot of negativity, the cover changes do too. These days there are a lot of books that keep the original covers like The Lunar Chronicles but there are still a lot of books that get a cover change for the Dutch book market. In most cases they seem to think that those covers would work better for Dutch buyers but I think in some cases the ability for readers to recognize what international title this is, goes away.

Even so I think there are some translated works that got a great change in covers. And I want to show those to you all.

āŒ˜

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

harteloos.png
Left – US / Right – Dutch

I wasn’t expecting Blossom Books to change this cover, but I’m sad I had already pre ordered my US copy as I really like how this Dutch one turned out. I just love that tree with everything in it. And trust me, this picture does not do it justice.

In Death by J.D. Robb

in death.png
Left – US / Right – Dutch

The In Death series has had many covers over the years, and lets be honest, they are all ugly. But I really like these Dutch covers. They are really worth buying.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

caraval.png
Left – UK / Right – Dutch

I own both these covers. Initially I wasn’t that drawn to the Dutch one but it really has grown on me over time. I really like it. But I dislike the change of title together with it. I didn’t realize this was going to be Caraval at first.

On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis

on the edge of gone.png
Left – US / Right – Dutch

I love how similar these look yet so different. I think the blue on the Dutch cover is a lot more striking, but the US one has the better letter type I think.

Lockwood & Co. by Jonathan Stroud

lockwood
Left – US / Right – Dutch

While the Dutch covers are quite a bit simpler I do like them. Of course I can be biased as this is Stroud books we are talking about… I think Germany has similar covers.

Silber by Kerstin Gier

Silber.png
Left – German / Right – Dutch

The original Dutch hardcovers are so ugly and unapealing with grey and a girl figure. But they started releasing these gorgeous paperbacks and it makes me want them instantly. They are simple to a point yet draw the eye and still have something to do with the German covers as the door comes back on the second cover.

The Reckoners by Brandon Sanderson

de wrekers.png
Left – US / Right – Dutch

I like the UK covers but these US covers really do nothing to appeal. The Dutch covers on the other han are quite striking I think. I like the colors they used and keeping the lettertype similar. I’m normally not a fan of figures on the covers most of the times but these work so well.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Good Covers for Dutch Translated Books

  1. Leuk om ook eens positieve geluiden te horen over Nederlandse covers. Omdat Het Zwarte Hart eerder uitkwam dan de Engelse moesten ze zelf met een titel komen. Vandaar dat de titel zo anders. De lockwood covers en de reckoners covers vind ik ook veel leuker!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja daarom had ik het ook gedaan. Ik zat zo te kijken naar de mooie covers van JD Robb in het nl en toen dacht ik, er zijn er toch wel meer nl covers die ik mooi vind?
      Oh echt waar? Vandaar. Wel jammer. Ik kom voortaan dus gewoon naar jou als ik mij bepaalde dingen afvraag. šŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Great post! I love the Dutch J.D. Robb versions too. I have those books as the UK version, and I like those covers a lot more than the US ones. Heartless is definitely beautiful in Dutch!
    But changing the names? I just don’t get that either. Just like with the Harry Potter books, I really irritated me that in the Dutch book it was Perkamentus and in English Dumbledore. Why change names? Sigh..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some of those US covers, oh my is all I can say. It’s a good thing she has so many fans already haha.
      Well Roos in the comment above explained why Het Zwarte Hart was changed. And while I would have preferred the names in Dutch HP to stay the same I do understand why they changed them as it was more focused on the younger ones initially.

      Like

  3. Ooh I like that Dutch cover for Heartless so much better! And all those covers for Silber are gorgeous. That’s interesting how the On the Edge of Gone covers are, like you said, so similar but also different. They kept all the same elements (the girl, the cracked road, the things in the sky), but just used different pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ik vind het alleen zo jammer dat de vrouw op de covers van de J.D.RObb boeken niet lijkt op Eve. Doorgaans gaan fysieke omschrijvingen totaal aan me voorbij maar vooral in de eerste boeken komt haar korte warrige kapsel vrij vaak ter sprake. Verder vind ik de covers echt geweldig want de sfeer die ze uitstralen past perfect bij het wereldje waarin Eve en Roarke leven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

