Read-a-longs and Read-a-thons

#TheReadingQuest – I Want To Be a Mage

the-reading-quest-sign-up-post.png

A while ago Aentee from Read at Midnight announced on twitter she was creating a new reading challenge. I was excited about this because she has so much creativity with these things. Recently she posted the sign-up post. It is from August 13th to September 10th so roughtly a month.

This time the challenge is game based. You can choose from 4 characters whose path you then have to follow on the board. You can read more about it here.Β The lovely art that is being shown in the challenge images are by CW from Read, Think, Ponder.

Not only will the board give you prompts for this challenge, but there is a competetive element to this all. With every book and prompt you complete you can earn exp and hp. Fun times!

reading-quest-board1.png

I have decided on going for Mage. Obviously. That path, the yellow one, is more fantasy aimed and so should work splendidly with my mostly fantasy tbr for August anyway.

The Path

A Book With a One Word Title
Stardust by Neil Gaiman
Not a long book so I feel this would be a good place to start for this challenge.

A Book that Contains Magic
The Mime Order (The Bone Season 2) by Samantha Shannon
I read The Bone Season in July so it would be great to be able to continue this series.

A Book Based on Mythology
Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan
This is basically the ONLY Rick Riordan book on my shelves that is unread. I’m up to speed with his current work beyond this. (I’m choosing to ignore the Kane Chronicles and so on)

A Book Set in a Different World
The Last Namsara (Iskari 1) by Kristen Ciccarelli
An e arc I need to read and it fits perfectly here.

The First Book of a Series
The Long Way to a Small and Angry Planet (Wayfarers 1) by Becky Chambers
Since I caved and bought the ebook cheap I can now read this pretty.

Bonus

Time Warp – A Book Set in Either the Past Or the Future
Immortal in Death (In Death 3) by J.D. Robb
This book takes place in the future so fits perfectly for this prompt.

Multiplayer – Buddy Read a Book
Replica (Replica 1) by Lauren Oliver
I’ll be buddy reading this with Kristen from Boekwereld but it might not fall in the challenge. We’ll have to see.

Grind – A Book With 500+ Pages
Revocatie (De Demon van Fellswyck 2)Β  by Jurgen Snoeren.
As the first book was well over 500 pages I am expecting its sequel to be of similar size. I can’t link to Goodreads for this book yet as it has not yet appeared on there even though it will be released at the end of August. It happens with Dutch books often.

 

Obviously there is a huge chance I won’t be getting to most of these. My husband has his vacation starting August 28th and so I will be less reading then. But I’ll try and get as far as I can. We’ll also have to see how great I am at keeping track of the exp and hp, haha.

Had you already heard of this reading challenge? Will you be signing up as well?

 

17 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest – I Want To Be a Mage

  1. Zo’n leuk idee om een readingchallenge op deze manier uit te werken. Ondertussen weet ik perfect bij wie ik moet zijn wanneer ik terug wat meer leesuitdagingen wil aangaan. Ik ontdek hier immers steeds leuke initiatieven op jouw blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

