Book Shelves

Bookshelf Tour 2017- Part 4

Here we are with part 4 of this bookshelf tour. This part and the fifth part will focus on the right shelf in our living room. You will see more specific shelves like classics, but also some more TBR shelves. This is a recent thing I’ve been adding. Do you have shelves that only hold your tbr books?

As these posts are a lot of work I did take these pictures of this bookshelf at the middle of May in a moment there was some reasonable light. Keep that in mind if you think you don’t see something that came up in a book haul or something. Of if I have read something in the mean time.

Intro / The Number Games / Part 1 / Part 2 / Part 3 / Part 5
Previous bookshelf tours

Untitled
Shelf 1 + 2

 

Shelf 1 – Harry Potter

Of course it is not hard to miss that this shelf focuses on Harry Potter. It is not so much a shelf as one cube and then some space on the top of the shelf. But our room is a little slopey so another cube next to that wouldn’t fit. In the empty space I actually had the illustrated edition of The Philosopher’s Stone but as that came tumbling down I’ve moved it to the blue bookshelf. Way on top of the cube I also have a funky Harry Potter with wand, but as it is up so high I couldn’t get a great picture of that.

Untitled

In the cube I have my Dutch editions of Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling stacked. I bought those for my husband since he prefers to read in Dutch and these paperback editions are super cute. The potionmaking card I got from a friend who went to the harry potter world I think. On top of the Dutch stack is the first book in English that are mine. And a little wooden train on top. Next to that book 2 to 4 are stacked at the bottom. With my two hardcovers of book 5 and 6 on top. Yes without dustjacket. Shh. Then next to that are the three books from Hogwarts Library.

Untitled Next to the cube I have three that wouldn’t fit in there. The first book after the stickers is the Dutch edition of book 7 that is my husbands. Then there is my English book 7 without dustjacket and a hardcover I bought of it later cheaply.

Shelf 2 – Classics

As you might have seen from the above pic, this shelf is full of books. And all classics or considered classics. I have been collecting classics that I have an interest in to read though I find it hard to pick them up. As a result I might not have read as many of these books as I would have liked. But that is okay. No reason to rush with classics I suppose.

Untitled

The first books on this shelf are my Tolkien books. Firstly is my leatherbound edition of The Hobbit. Then my Dutch editon. Next to that there are my Lord of the Rings trilogy books in the same Dutch edition. Then we have a my bind-up of the trilogy and Tolkien, A Dictionary by David Day. Also in a very pretty leatherbound edition. The card up front was made by a friend and with the dragon I thought it fitted great with these books. Lastly you see my 30 year anniversary book of The BFG by Roald Dahl that I got for my birthday last year. It is so pretty.
Untitled Then we have a dutch bind-up of the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I amnot really a fan of these but my husband grew up with it. Next to it then is of course the Dutch hardcover of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe that my husband got as a gift as a child. Next to that are three classics in Dutch. Nobody’s Boy by Hector Malot, King Solomon’s Mines by H. Ridder Haggard and Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne. There is a bookmark in Nobody’s Boy as I started that once a year and a half ago but lost interest when other books caught my attention. Next to that is an illustrated edition of Snow White from The Grimm Fairytales. It was illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia and I loved it. Then we have Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea by Jules Verne in two parts. I love these older editions but it can be hard to find them in great condition. Lastly on this picture we have The Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I like this edition though I’m not sure how excited I am about reading Charles Dickens. Untitled

Then we have this very large stack that mostly holds Wordsworth editions. But at the top it starts with The Time Machine by H.G. Wells. An interesting sci-fi story but a bit too long winded in the end for me which is funny since it is so incredibly thin. Then we have my Dutch copy The Perfume by Patrick Suskind. I read this as a teen and was quite taken with it. I should reread it now I’m older though.

Than we have my white spines that consists of Irish Fairy Tales, The Jungle Book & The Second Jungle Book by Ripyard Kipling, The Secret Garden by Francis Hodgens Barrett, Tales from Arabian Nights, English Fairy Tales, Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll, Rip van Winkle by Washington Irving, and Peter Pan & Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens by J.M. Barrie.

Below that are the black spines with A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Shakespeare; Pride & Prejudice, Northanger Abbey and Emma by Jane Austen; Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte; The Lost World & Other Stories by Conan Doyle, and lastly The Three Musketeers and The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas.

Untitled
Shelf 3 + 4

 

Shelf 3 – Unstarted Series TBR

As mentioned at the intro paragraph to this part 4 I have been organizing books more by read versus tbr. In this case this shelf consists of series I have completely or more thanone book of. While this shelf is technically unstarted there is one series I did start as I haven’t moved that series to the other bookshelf yet since I like the way it looks here.

Untitled

As you can see this whole first section of this shelf are in Dutch surprisingly. Clearly I need to pick up more books in Dutch but all the English books just shout at me a little harder I guess. Anyway, the shelf starts us off with The Bone Season and The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon. I shared in a book haul how I had the mass market paperback of The Bone Season but couldn’t find The Mime Order as tiny so I ended up with the Dutch books instead. I hope the series will be continued on though.

After that you see the Half Bad trilogy with Half Bad, Half Wild and Half Lost by Sally Green. Then I have a bind-up of Starters & Enders by Lissa Price. I’m not too sure about this duology but I might give it ago in the future and binge it. Then we have the Under the Never Sky trilogy by Veronica Rossi that consists of Under the Never Sky, Through the Ever Night and Into the Still Blue. The covers keep drawing me in with the colors but I have yet to pick them up. Bad me.

Lastly we find Mage’s Blood on this photo seperated into two books in the Dutch translation from The Moontide Quartet by David Hair. Again, I’m very curious. I’ve seen the English editions and they are quite chunky so I understand why they were divided in half. Still it’s a bit confusing.

Untitled Moving on are the first two books in the Duivel (in case you were wondering it means devil) trilogy by Adrian Stone, Profeet van de Duivel and Zoon van de Duivel. And of course I have them the wrong way around. Then we see Talon by Julie Kagawa and standing after it are the next two books, Rogue and Soldier.  I read Talon but I liked how it looked here. Will hopefully get around to reading the next two later this year. Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy is the bind-up of the first two books, Skulduggery Pleasant and Playing with Fire. Just these covers alone are enough to draw me in. A Skeleton!  Lastly I have The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness in a very miss matched fashion. It starts with The Knife of Never Letting Go in Dutch and then goes to The Ask and the Answer and Monsters of Men in English. It was just the way I came across them in sales so yeah…

Shelf 4 – Taller TBR

The next books are taller tbr books. Most of these are standalones or the first in a series. Again a lot of these seem to be in Dutch. I really need to get on reading more of my translated books and books by Dutch authors. Though I also think all these are together because Dutch paperbacks are often generally taller than English ones.

Untitled

The Fire Sermon by Frencesca Haig is the first book on the shelf and the tallest. I got this cheap once. I’m interested in it because of the title. Then we have The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. I enjoyed The Raven Cycle serie by her and I found this for 5 Euro so I couldn’t leave that. Finnkin of the Rock, the first Lumatere Chronicles book by Melina Marchetta, I’ve heard great things about it. But that also makes me hesitant to read it.

Then we have the massive paperback of The Waking Fire by Anthony Ryan. I love this cover. Then we have three Dutch authors in a row. Het laatste Licht by Jen Minkman, In Transit by Margaretha van Andel and De Stem van de Zee by Mara Li. All signed too. And we find Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I keep telling myself to read it at Halloween but I haven’t yet.

Untitled

And these are all in Dutch too. Starting with On the Edge by Ilona Andrews and Moon Called by Patricia Briggs, both published by a Dutch imprint focusing on Urban Books. They are also the ones that are publishing The Others series in Dutch. So I have these to try.  Then we have The Dwarves by Markus Heitz. I’ve had this book forever but have yet to pick it up. Yet I can’t get myself to unhaul it either.

Silber is the first book of Dreams or also known as Dream a Little Dream in English by Kerstin Gier. I enjoyed her other trilogy to a point so I am curious about this one. Then we have an impulse buy. Storm & Stone by Joss Sterling, something that I normally wouldn’t pick up. But there it is. I know this will be a quick read so I am saving it for an afternoon where I can finish it in one go.

Then we find Drakenkoningin by An Janssens. And the first two Nachtuilen boeken by Jeroen van Unen that just fitted better on this shelf for the time being.

21 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tour 2017- Part 4

  1. damnnnn, I love your classics collection!
    I went to a thrift store last week and came across the complete works of william shakespeare that’s been on my wishlist for years now so I was really happy I came across that one. I’ve got a Jane Austen collection and two penguin classics – Black beauty and War Horse. There’s still so much I want to buy/read when it comes to classics. Have you read all your classics read?

    I love the cover colors of under the never sky! I’ve got the first book on the shevels, still unread. But I’ve heard sooo many good things about the trilogy,I definitely want to read it somewhere this year.

    The walking fire by Anthony Ryan looks soooo awesome! I’ve held the dutch book in my hands a couple of months ago when I was at a bookstore and omg it’s HUUUUGE. The synopsis sounds so awesome and I love reading books with dragons, so this one is on my wishlist currently and I hope to buy/read it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks. I haven’t even read 10% of it I think. But I like collecting them. For when I do feel like reading them more in the future. Right now I dont read them, because they are so high up to behonest and Merijn’s play pen is in front of that section. *excuses*

      I’ve heard great things about Under the Never Sky as well. Since I have the trilogy I have no excuse not to read it really haha.

      It is kind of intimidating. 😉

      Like

  2. Hahaha, ik heb onlangs mijn Talon-reeks exact hetzelfde geplaatst als jij. Er was immers sprake van ‘een beetje’ plaatsgebrek op mijn Harper Collins-plank en dat heb ik zo opgelost. 🙂 Volgens mij loop ik nog één of twee kasten achter met mijn Shelfies. Die laatste kast ziet er ondertussen helemaal anders uit vermits ik heel wat boeken heb weggedaan dus ik zal nog eens nieuwe foto’s moeten maken.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wel euhm … vermits Strijder er bijkwam heb ik gisterenavond de Harper Collins plank weer wat anders moeten inrichten. Het blijft een eeuwig proces dat aanpassen van de boekenkasten. 🙂

        Like

  3. I feel you on picking up classics. Over the years I’ve bought quite a few classics because I found them for great prices or because the edition was super pretty and I was interested in them anyway, but they’ve been standing on my shelves unread for years now woops haha

    I love the way your shelves look. They’re cute and gezellig 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good grief, where do I start! I love all the different HP books! All we have are the original hardcovers we bought (except for my illustrated Sorcerer’s Stone). They are all first edition though, but the first three are in rough shape because they were read
    multiple times by three people. My ex got smart and bought two copies of four and five, and then there were just the two of us for six and seven and by that time Baz was not re-reading them, so the last four books are in good shape. I think it was Prisoner of Azkaban I spilled an entire cup of coffee on . XD I might, however, get the Ravenclaw box set someday, have you thought about it? ❤

    I didn't care for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe either, so I never read the others. My college housemate was crushed because they were her favorite Fantasy books. Your Tolkien books are wonderful. I love the dictionary! I loved Sickens in like eighth and ninth grade (13-14 years old), but I tried reading my favorite, Great Expectations, a few years ago, and I do not know how I read it at that age. Ha ha. I couldn't finish it. XD I think audiobooks are the way to go for classics. 🙂

    You need to read your The Scorpio Races! You will love it because the voice and style are similar to The Raven Cycle. I have been warned that I will not like any of her earlier titles, though. I really liked Anna Dressed In Blood, but I never finished the sequel. I am going to try it again sometime, it may have just been my mood. I liked Starters. I read it pre-blogging. I want to read Enders, but I never think of it when I am at the library. I don't have a guess if you will like them or not. 🙂

    Before I moved the bookshelf I did have a tbr shelf and when I get around to ordering the two new shelves I will probably have one again. I love your book shelf tours. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the Dutch ones will look up will read by the time Merijn gets to be old enough to read them himself. Must give him the HP education even if he doesn’t become a reader haha.
      Oh a boxset of the Ravenclaw ones? I often think about a completely matching English one but so haven’t.

      Haha I disliked one of the last I read and someone online was all. ‘:O That was my favorite ._.’ I think audiobooks can be great. I tried Frankenstein a few years ago as an ebook but I could not get through the first 50 pages or so. Hmm.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

