Book Tags

A to Z Book Tag

I saw this tag at Dina from Dinasoaur and with so many questions I thought it would be great to have a go at this tag for this month.

Author you’ve read the most books from

According to Goodreads I’ve read the most books by Rick Riordan which sounds quite accurate. I have read some of the companion books as well. I’m sure I’ll just continue to read more by him. Though I do hope that Terry Pratchett will overtake him at some point.

Untitled

Best Sequel

There are various series where I feel the second or next book was better than the previous one. Murder of Crows for instance was such a great step up from Written in Red. But also A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett, the next book in the Tiffany Aching series. The Golem’s Eye, the second Bartimaeus book by Jonathan Stroud also took such a step forward from the first book. We need more great sequels like these.

Current Read 

Windwitch by Susan Dennard, buddy read with Kirsten from Boekwereld.

Drink of Choice While Reading

Tea or Blue Bastard energy drink.

E-reader or Physical Book 

If you know me a little it won’t surprise you that I say physical book. Though I have been using my e reader more lately.

Fictional Character You Would Have Dated in High School 

Honestly? I’d have no idea. I didn’t date anyone in high school to begin with and I don’t really look at these (often younger) characters like that. Sure I love some characters but not like that, haha.

Untitled

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance

I’m very glad I gave Pyramids of London a chance when I came across it on Netgalley a few years ago. I still think of it and it is on my list to reread at some point. I am still eagerly awaiting the sequel.

Hidden Gem Book

I think I might have said often but the Bartimaeus sequence by Jonathan Stroud is a big hidden gem. I don’t understand why not more people have been picking it up, especially considering the attention his current series, Lockwood & Co. has been getting. But there is also Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho which so many more fantasy and/or history readers need to read.

Important Moment in Reading Life

Learning to read would be one. My mom taught me. Then next would be picking up reading again through the reccommendation of Cinder through a friend.  And lastly but certainly not least is starting this blog. I’ve discovered so many great new books through all of you.

Just Finished

Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy. Edited by Ameriie.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read

Once I would have said contemporary but I have been reading that more here and there. Just a few. I guess pure erotica I won’t pick up. Other than that I do on occasion pick some things up. I might not be drawn to non-fiction but sometimes there is something that stands out to me. Same goes for history (though often in combination with fantasy).

Longest Book You’ve Read

That would probably have to be one of the A Song of Ice and Fire books by George R.R. Martin. Some of my mass market paperbacks had 1100-1200+ pages. Oh, no wait, The Complete Sherlock Holmes!

Major Book Hangover Because Of

A broken heart from characters dying. But mostly I don’t get real book hangover.

Number of Bookcases You Own

Three, downstairs. Upstairs I technically have three more… But they are filled with children’s books, some non-fiction, books I want to get rid of and so on.

One Book You’ve Read Multiple Times

The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud.

Preferred Place to Read

The couch downstairs. I can sit however I want and I have the great view on my bookshelves. I also can put the radio on in there and put food and drinks near me without potentially messing up my book.

Quote that Gives You Life

I’m not a big quotes person. I had to look up some quotes I saved on Goodreads. But there this one stood out to me by Neil Gaiman.

‘Books make great gifts because they have whole worlds inside of them. And it is much cheaper to buy someone a book than it is to buy them the whole world.’

Reading Regret

Not writing down all the books I read during my youth. I’ve just forgotten so many titles. Reading less during high school and college. Can you imagine the amount I could have read then?

Untitled

Series You Have Started But Need to Finish

How long do you want this post to be? These are just the books that have all books out currently.

Discworld by Terry Pratchett // Howl’s Moving Castle companion books by Dianna Wynne Jones // Enchanted Inc. by Shanna Swendson // Graceling by Kristin Cashore // and more…

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books

Why always these hard questions?
The Golem’s Eye // The Demon King // A Hat Full of Sky

Unapologetic Fangirl For

Jonathan Stroud. Bartimaeus series. Lockwood & Co. The Others by Anne Bishop. Discworld. Terry Pratchett.

Very Excited For This Release

DAvP_ONXsAAvzRE.jpg large

Worst Reading Habit

Starting too many books at once I suppose.

X Marks the Spot–Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

A quick count tells me this is Illuminae.

Your Latest Book Purchase

 Last book bought (well my husband did) would be The Summoner and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Honestly, I go to bed on time. I read during the day so this never happens to me, haha.

9 thoughts on “A to Z Book Tag

  1. I have the same reading regret of not writing down books I read when I was younger. I mean, I guess it doesn’t really matter? But I think it’d be cool to know anyway. But I read sooo many in middle and high school that I honestly wouldn’t even recognize some of the titles now lol. I’m also just curious to know how many books I used to average in a year back then.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a really fun booktag! I, too, share the same regret. Also not having read enough during my ’20s. It’s also funny how many books I completely forgot about reading them, until I accidentally came across them on Goodreads. But I don’t even remember whether I liked them or not.

    Like

  3. ahh this Tag post is really awesome!!

    Reading less through high school and afterwards is a regret I definitely share with you. But I was busy with so many other things back then, lol. The only thing I always hate with some Tag questions is the ‘your favorite’.. because it’s IMPOSSIBLE to choose hahhaa

    Like

  4. “Sure I love some characters but not like that” that sentence made me smile because I feel the same way everytime I read a YA book haha I haven’t heard about any of your favorite books but I think I’m going to check them out !

    Like

  5. Forty years of books! Can you imagine if I tracked each one. When I’m on Goodreads, I try to remember how a book made me feel and go from there. It’s the best I can do. Also, I don’t read all night. I teach and I’m a mom. I’m a zombie anyway. Nice tag. I completed it and will post on Saturday! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. I think Pratchett will end up being the most read author for both of us. I think believe there are more Discworld books than A Wrinkle In Time books and spin-offs. I too regret not writing down all of the books I read in elementary school and high school. Every once in a while one will pop into my head and I run to Goodreads and add it. I love this tag, too. 🙂

    Like

  7. Ik heb ooit een gelijkaardige tag in het Nederlands gedaan. De vragen waren wel wat anders (ah ja, anders komt het alfabetisch niet echt uit) maar misschien moet ik deze toch maar eens opslagen. Bij je laatste antwoord moest ik trouwens glimlachen. Die vraag komt regelmatig terug in tags en eigenlijk heb ik hetzelfde als jou. Ik ben nu eenmaal geen nachtlezer en lezen in bed vind ik al helemaal niet leuk. Vijf à tien minuten en dan heb ik er genoeg van vermits ik geen comfortabele houding kan vinden. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

