Wrap Up

Mid-Year Check In With My 2017 Reading Goals

After doing the Mid-Year freak out tag, and realizing that we are already at the middle of the year, I have been thinking about my reading goals. Some, like my goodreads and tbr challenge I am on top of. I look at those every month during my wrap up as well. But I did do a few others that I was struggling to even remember. So I thought it would be good to do a bit of a better look at where I am now with my 2017 reading goals.

The Reading Challenge

Read 60 books – Completed

If you read my monthly wrap up posts you will know that I have already completed this goal. The moment of writing this I have read 66 books. I think I have hit this number because I am not as strict with what I would I count towards the goal. And rereads count this year too and that helps. But also I have been on a reading high these last two months where, by my standards, I have been inhaling books. Some big ones too. It is quite satisfying. I think this also shows I have been doing better depression wise.

I will not change this goal now. I just want to see where I can end up at by the end of the year as Merijn growns older. That will be a good indication for next year I think.

Beat the Backlist

Read 50 Backlist books

I am quite enjoying participating in this yearly challenge. I enjoy the hogwarts house aspect of it and having a chat every month with others who are participating. It is good to try and focus on some backlist books, yet I have seen that I don’t nessecarily need to as I read a bunch of backlist books without making myself. So far I’ve read 38 backlist books. So I’m doing well on this goal. Considering though that I have already read 66 I could be doing better I suppose.

The TBR Challenge

Total unread books on shelf January 1st 2017 – 145
Goal – Under a 100

151. I shall go hide under a rock then. I was doing okay at the start of the year but as I have been reading more books, I have also been buying more books. Weird how that works. I think I need to make this goal more realistic because I think we all know I won’t be able to get it under a 100. So I am changing this now to 130. I should be able to manage that, right? Right?
Untitled

Read Books by Dutch Authors on My Shelf

Owned books by Dutch authors at start of 2017 – 8
Goal – Read them all

  1. De Stem van de Zee by Mara Li
  2. This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
  3. Onder Mijn Huid by Marlies Slegers
  4. Profeet van de Duivel by Adrian Stone
  5. In Transit by Margaretha van Andel
  6. De Klauw by Adrian Stone
  7. Invocatie by Jurgen Snoeren
  8. De Drakenkoningin by An Janssens
  9.  Up van Myrthe van der Meer
  10. De Nachtuilen van Jeroen van Unen
  11. Het Laatste Licht van Jen Minkman

As you can see I have not been doing super great with this goal. Two so far. I have been letting international books push these to the back. Those books have been exciting me. These somewhat less. I have also gotten a few more books by Dutch authors than the original 8 at the start of the year that I have added onto the list. The old list is in italics. The new ones are not.

Read 5 Classics

A big zero. I haven’t been feeling like picking up a classic. With those I have to be in a certain mood I suppose. So who knows. I might pick up 5 in the next 6 months. I might pick up none. This is not a goal I have to complete. More it is here to remind myself that I have a bunch of classics still to read.

16 thoughts on “Mid-Year Check In With My 2017 Reading Goals

  1. Congratulations on reaching your goal for the 2017 reading challenge. Have you reset it or will you just leave it at 60? I like the challenges that you are doing. I think I will try out some after August. Lately, I have been reading ARCs a lot but it would be nice to read some of my own stuff.

    All the best with your remaining goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoveel uitdagingen. Ik ben gestart met die van Goodreads (130 – ziet er momenteel niet echt veelbelovend uit) en de Reading Bingo van Madelon (daar heb ik al enkele keren Bingo). Onlangs heb ik ook het lijstje van de Verbeelding Book Challenge eens overlopen – daar verschijnt binnenkort een blogpost rond. Maar wat het weglezen van die TBR betreft … is er nog plaats daar onder die rots?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, ik kreeg begin deze week twee boeken als verjaardagscadeau en gisteren kwam mijn Bookish Summer Swap pakket toe met nog een derde boek. 🙂

        Like

  3. Ooooh congrats on hitting your reading challenge goal, Annemieke, that’s so awesome! I’m five books away from hitting my goal of 50, but I’ll bump that up soon. 😆 Totally not ever gonna judge anyone for the number of unread books on their shelf. I counted yesterday and have 125 😩 Good luck with the rest of your challenges. Hope you get them all!

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is great. Sounds like you’ll hit that goal soon. It is rewarding to know you can hit your goals so well.
      Want to be under my tbr rock? It is big, has a lot of space. Might be able to keep a few books there…. 😉
      Thank you!

      Like

  4. Haha, my TBR also just seems to go up. It also started off well at the beginning of the year, but now… Not so much.
    You really should read UP, at least if you enjoyed PAAZ. 🙂 I loved both.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats !
    Every year I tell myself I need to read more classics but I never do it. Why read classics when there are so many shiny new books waiting to be picked up, right ? Haha

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There is progress on all but the classics challenge, I would consider that a giant mid-year success. I know you are going to say no progressive on the unread books from your shelves, but if you would quit buying books, ha ha, you would be ahead. XD

    It is great you hit your Goodreads goal already! You were so worried about your reading time, and I am so happy some of it is due to lifting depression. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

