reviews

Book Review – The Sinner

Book: The Sinner (The Graveyard Queen 5) by Amanda Stevens
Release Date: September 27th 2016
Tags: Paranormal / Horror / Adult / Ghosts
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 Untitled

Other books in this series I reviewed
The Restorer / The Kingdom / The Prophet / The Visitor

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the previous books in the series

Synopsis

I am a living ghost, a wanderer in search of my purpose and place… 

I’m a cemetery restorer by trade, but my calling has evolved from that of ghost seer to death walker to detective of lost souls. I solve the riddles of the dead so the dead will leave me alone. 

I’ve come to Seven Gates Cemetery nursing a broken heart, but peace is hard to come by…for the ghosts here and for me. When the body of a young woman is discovered in a caged grave, I know that I’ve been summoned for a reason. Only I can unmask her killer. I want to trust the detective assigned to the case for he is a ghost seer like me. But how can I put my faith in anyone when supernatural forces are manipulating my every thought? When reality is ever-changing? And when the one person I thought I could trust above all others has turned into a diabolical stranger?

Review

Sinner is already the fifth book in The Graveyard Queen series and wow, this series has become quite the addiction. I’ll be the first to admit that this series also has flaws and problems. I still get annoyed with how easily characters from previous books get pushed aside unless their name is Devlin or they are a plot point for instance. Other characters don’t appear as just a part of her life. But once I start one of these books I hardly can seem to put them down.

The story starts us around a year after the events of the fourth book. Devlin and Amelia have gone their separate ways and Amelia has taken on a new assignment. Unfortunately this assignment brings her close to yet another murder and quite the gruesome one at that. A woman buried alive in a mort safe, designed to keep people out.

I love the direction that the fourth book was hinting at taking us in with Devlin and this book slowly continues to weave on that. The idea of various secret organizations in the world that deal with people like Amelia or want to get rid of people like Amelia I find really interesting and it continues to build this world. It isn’t just Amelia or her family who can see ghosts. There are others out there. And of course there are those that oppose it.

The whole feel of this book is so creepy. Amanda Stevens continues to weave such an amazing atmosphere through her writing. She certainly knows how to drag me along into this story. How to build a story line throughout a book  that concludes in one while still weaving elements of the overarching arc without losing sight of either of their importance. That can be a hard task.

The arc is building up now that we know a bit more about the organizations and a bit of who are a part of it. I feel though not everything can be resolved in just book six so I’ll be curious to see if there shall be more books coming out for this series. I would honestly welcome it I think.

6 thoughts on “Book Review – The Sinner

Leave a Reply

