Book Tags

The Mid-Year Book Freakout 2017

Initially I was not going to do this tag again this year. I haven’t been tagged either. But then I saw it pass me by on booktube and I decided, why not? Or rather I made twitter decide for me. Always a good way to make your decisions. Don’t know what to do with your life? Make twitter choose for you.

There will also be no top ten tuesday until August 15th as TTT is on hiatus until then. I’ll be filling the Tuesdays up with other posts.

Anyway, here we go.

Best Book You’ve Read So Far This Year

Untitled Honestly, I have read a few good books. Some 4,5 and 5 star reads. But I can’t really choose between them. And I know that is a cop out but I haven’t had that one book that excelled over all others. That one definite favorite yet so far. Sometimes it is about how books stick with you. If for that criteria, so far in this first half year that would be Sorcerer to the Crown.

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017

I’ve read some good sequels so far this year. All the sequels in the Tiffany Aching books were stellar. But for this one I will have to go with A Conjuring of Light. I rated the previous two books 4 stars and was perhaps a tad underwhelmed where everyone else was raving about them. But A Conjuring of Light blew me away with all the feels.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet but Want to

I’ve been trying to read new releases as soon as when I get them or otherwise they will end up on the tall pile somewhere. So I think I have been doing rather well in that area. But a preorder I have yet to read would be Shadowcaster. I’m just so dissapointed in the cover change to be honest. It makes the book a bit less appealing. I’m sure I’ll get over it though. I didn’t read Flamecaster right away last year either.

Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

There are some great ones coming. I also recently did a  top ten tuesday post on this topic so I’ll just link that.

Biggest Disappointment

The Love Interest for sure. I had so much hope for that book and it all dwindled. The idea was great but the execution lacked so much.

Biggest Surprise

35060597 The Emerald Blade. It is a sequel to a book and while I knew I would like it I had no idea I would end up loving it so much.

Favorite New Author

Untitled
Robin Hobb! I binge read The Farseers trilogy in a week or so. I just could not put them down. And I really want to tear through the rest this year. But I have to buy them all so I am not sure that will happen.

Favorite New Crush

Oh I’m not much of a crusher. Currently I suppose Jean from Gentleman Bastards has my heart a bit. But not as a crush.

Favorite New Characters

Jean and Locke from Gentleman Bastards. Zacharias from Sorcerer to the Crown. Merik from Truthwitch.

Book That Made You Cry

Unless you are asking about tears of frustration, none so far.

Book That Made You Happy

Untitled
Adulthood is a Myth. How can that not make anyone happy?

Most Beautiful Book You Bought This Year

I’ve gotten a lot of gorgeous books but I really love Norse Mythology.

What Books Do You Need to Read Before the End of the Year?

All of them!

I Tag

21 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout 2017

  1. Oh yay, a fellow Hobb admirer! I read the Farseer trilogy and The Liveship Traders trilogy last year and have yet to continue with the next trilogy (I think it’s the Tawny Man). The Farseer Trilogy was definitely my favorite of the two series, though. I got all of my Hobb books used at Better World Books- if you like used books, they do ship for free internationally with no minimum purchase.
    Adulthood is a Myth looks excellent- I love Sarah Andersen’s comics!
    ~Litha Nelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I tried to answer the questions just going through them, but I feel like I can only answer half right now. The other ones I’d really have to think about. This includes the best book I’ve read so far. None really stand out. Perhaps, because none were surprisingly good, by which I mean that the good books I read were predictably good: I knew they were gonna be good, so they didn’t knock me off my feet.
    Still 6 more months to go this year though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emerald Blade looks awesome! Nice cover, and Robin Hobb- I loved those books when I read them! She’s so tough on her characters, but man those were fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read anything by Robin Hobb, but I I have been seeing a lot of those books around lately and I think I might try them! And I definitely have to check out Adulthood is a Myth. I have been feeling lately like I want to hand in my adulthood card because I am OVER IT! That book looks so cute! Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard so many people that were so dissapointed by The Love Interest. I guess the hype and idea created something we were expecting that it was not.

      Like

Leave a Reply

