top ten tuesday

TTT #101 – Best Books of 2017 So Far

A few more days and we will be in the second half of the year. That is always a great time to look back on the reading year so far. This year I think what I have been reading has been mostly average. Not a lot of bad but also not that many great books which is a bit of a shame really. Yet I did gain some new favorites.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

āŒ˜

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal 1) by Zen Cho
Review

Sorcerer to the Crown was the big surprise of 2017 so far. The more I look back on this diverse adult fantasy, the more I realize that I love it, and the more I think I will likely change my rating of 4,5 stars to 5 at some point. I highly recommend this book to you all.

A Hat Full of Sky and Wintersmith (Tiffany Aching 2 and 3, Discworld) by Terry Pratchett
Review book 1 / Review book 2 / Review book 3

This year I have been continuing on with Tiffany Aching through a buddy read with La La in the Library and we are both loving these books. Of course Pratchett is great, but what he creates with Tiffany is just amazing. I love so many aspects of this.

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic 3) by V.E. Schwab
Review book 1 / Review book 2 / Review book 3

The first book by Schwab that I rated 5 stars even though I’ve read quite a few by her up to now. I think the strength in this book lies with the bonds I as a reader have with the characters.

Emerald Blade (Landkist Saga 2) by Steven Kelliher
Review book 1 / Review book 2
A book I was offered in exchange for a review and I am quite pleased I decided to continue with this series. This second book completely took me by surprise.

Red Seas Under Red Skies (Gentleman Bastard 2) by Scott Lynch
Review book 1
I already had become quite taken with the characters in the first book and this book just furthered that feeling. Also I quite loved the setting, especially in the second part on the ship. My review for this book is currently not up yet but will come in July.

36 thoughts on “TTT #101 – Best Books of 2017 So Far

  1. I really liked the setting in ‘Red Seas under Red Skies’ as well šŸ™‚ This book is my favourite from the series so far! The Tiffany Aching books are still on my to read-list and so is the Landkist Saga – I’ve heard good things about it. Even better that you liked the second part so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hadn’t heard of Red Seas Under Red Skies, but after seeing it on a few lists today I think I need to check Scott Lynch out. I also need to get a move on with Victoria Schwab’s series – EVERYONE is recommending them, and I still haven’t even started it yet! *face palm*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I really need to read Red Seas Under Red Skies! I loved the first book but for some reason I haven’t continued on yet. Hope to change that soon, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve had a lot of average reads too and a few really good ones. Pratchett I’ve never read, oddly enough, and same for The Gentleman Bastards although I know some people LOVE those books. I should give em a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no, you should read Pratchett. I think you could connect with his humor possibly. The Gentleman Bastard series just has some great characters and humor really.

      Like

  5. Ahhh we’re twinning on Scott Lynch and A Conjuring Of Light!! *HI FIVES FOR OUR EPIC TASTE* I can’t get enough of Schwab books tbh and Locke Lamora cracks me up so bad. I’m just frustrated the 4th book keeps being pushed back. I NEED IT. šŸ˜±

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Five! We deserve cake just for that. Locke and Jean interactions are the best really. It is why I didn’t start the series sooner you know. Trying to not have to wait that long. Did you read the short prequel stories book (I think) Bastard and Knives?

      Like

  6. Ah! I didn’t know it was you who was buddy reading with LaLa! I love that you’ve been buddy reading Terry Pratchett – he’s one of my favourites! And the Gentleman Bastard series is one of my favourites. I will warn you that while I LOVED the third book (I accidentally started with it. Don’t ask, long story) it’s not been as popular. The good news is that it looks like it might not be too long a wait til the next book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Pratchett is so great. But he has written so much it is hard to catch up. I hope the wait won’t be too long. I have started the third book but I am taking my time, haha.

      Like

  7. Sorcerer to the Crown! I put that one on my tbr wishlist a while ago and still haven’t read it yet.
    I also have the first of Scott Lynch’s books in my collection somewhere.
    There are so many books I want to be reading right now šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yay, Prunella! Sorcerer to the Crown was similar for me – I thought it was fine when I finished it, but by the time I’d written about it I realised it was better than fine, and the more time goes on the more I look back on it with endless love. It just plants a seed and grows in your heart. Also, Mak Genggang. And Zacharias. And, and, and… ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I still haven’t read A Gathering Of Shadows!!!! I know!!!! Our Tiffany buddy reads have been wonderful. I almost don’t want to read The Shepards Crown because after that there is no more Big Wee Hag. šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

