top ten tuesday

TTT #99 – Bookish Gift Ideas For the Non-Reading Father

While my mother and I certainly were readers, I cannot say the same for my father. He would read the newspaper, sure. But reading a book was never his thing. And hey I am certainly not saying there is anything wrong with that. My husband is also not a big reader. Though I’d argue that comics are reading too.

Still this is a book blog and I thought it would be great to share some ideas to still promote reading to these fathers without pushing it on them too much. So here we go.

āŒ˜

Locke & Key by Joe Hill
Like I said, I think reading comics is reading. There is no reason to look down on someone for reading comics like I know some do. Comics offer us a great deal as well. So adding a graphic novel onto this list seemed like a great idea. It is a little violent in places but overal a good read and only 6 volumes long. Not a series they have to keep up with.

Donald Duck
Why yes, Donald. Here there are pockets being released of superhero Donald, detective Mickey or even Donald in history. I know they make great gifts for my husband who is also now a dad. So these can make great gifts.

The Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter 1) by J.K. Rowling (illustrated edition)
If you have a father who grew up with Harry Potter or even a father that might have caught onto this series later on in life, this is a great gift to them.

Book adaptions
While not a book it is still attached to it. If they aren’t a reader but you want to share the joy of a world with them this is always a great way to do it though perhaps not perfect. These days there are plenty of movies and tv shows inspired by books so there is a lot to choose from.

Give them the book that their favorite movie or tv show is based on
I wouldn’t start with A Game of Thrones but A Monster Calls illustrated is a perfect gift for those that did love the movie.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay by J.K. Rowling
Did they love the movie? This is a great gift for them then. A great way to relive the movie.

A book about their hobby
This is always a great way to entice them to read a book.

20 thoughts on “TTT #99 – Bookish Gift Ideas For the Non-Reading Father

  1. Graphic novels are great for non- readers sometimes. I know people why aren’t really into books but they’ll read a comic or GN. And book or TV- inspired stuff is always good as well…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great ideas! My dad reads a bit, but not that much. But I like these ideas for both non-reading dads as non-reading friends and family in general šŸ™‚ I totally tried the book about a hobby with my husband! He hasn’t suddenly become a reader (yet), but he was happy with the gift šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never understand why people say that reading graphic novels/manga/comics is not actually reading. Why? It’s the same with audiobooks. Just because you listened to it, doesn’t mean you didn’t read it. I just don’t get it.

    Locke & Key sounds really interesting, I think that would actually make a great gift.

    Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a good idea! I especially like the idea of giving someone the movie adaptation of one of your favorite books, or the book from one of their favorite adaptations. Fortunately, I don’t have this problem with either of my parents, as they’re both readers, but I’m going to keep it in mind for the non-readers in my life!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

