reviews

Book Review – Bloodfever

Book: Bloodfever (Fever 2) by Karen Marie Moning
Release Date: October 16th 2007
Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

344262.jpg

Other books in this series I reviewed
Darkfever

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the previous books in the series

Synopsis

I used to think my sister and I were just two nice southern girls who’d get married in a few years and settle down to a quiet life. Then I discovered that Alina and I descend, not from good wholesome southern stock, but from an ancient Celtic bloodline of powerful sidhe-seers, people who can see the Fae. Not only can I see the terrifying otherworldly race, but I can sense the sacred Fae relics that hold the deadliest of their magic.

When my sister was found dead in a trash-filled alley in Dublin, I came over to get answers. Now all I want is revenge. And after everything I’ve learned about myself, I know I have the power to get it….

MacKayla Lane’s ordinary life underwent a complete makeover when she landed on Ireland’s shores and was plunged into a world of deadly sorcery and ancient secrets.

In her fight to stay alive, Mac must find the Sinsar Dubh–a million-year-old book of the blackest magic imaginable, which holds the key to power over both the worlds of the Fae and of Man. Pursued by Fae assassins, surrounded by mysterious figures she knows she cannot trust, Mac finds herself torn between two deadly and irresistible men: V’lane, the insatiable Fae who can turn sensual arousal into an obsession for any woman, and the ever-inscrutable Jericho Barrons, a man as alluring as he is mysterious.

For centuries the shadowy realm of the Fae has coexisted with that of humans. Now the walls between the two are coming down, and Mac is the only thing that stands between them.…

Review

I’m so conflicted about this book. There was a moment I was really enjoying this book but then those were switched up with rolling my eyes and even being annoyed.

The first half of this book is strong. The story was building up certain things that I wanted answers to. I could not stop reading it. I did not want to put it down. Karen Marie Moning has an addictive writing style that sucks you in and spits you out in the end. Unfortunately we get spit out without any answers really. There are still zero answers about Barrons, in fact there are quite a few more questions now. And instead of learning more about others like Mac as the introduction of some characters led us to believe, the second half of the book railroads us from getting any. Or barely anyway. I am feeling rather unsatisfied at this point and I wonder if every book is going to be like this. It is one thing to hook a reader in a series by not giving all the answers right away but now I feel like we didn’t get any. And it is such a shame.

The second half of the plot did not do much for me. I get  that V’Lane comes back but essentially he raped her again and I just don’t see why this is necessary at all. Or why she keeps listening to him at all. And I had absolutely zero interest in the Malluce portion of the book or what was inflected on Mac. Why do female leads always have to endure that kind of physical crap in adult books?

So why am I still rating this 3 stars? Because I do genuinely have interest in this world. And I did enjoy myself. As I said, the writing style is addictive. And I do have some interest in the characters.

Mac was a bit better in this book than she was in the first. She grew a little though she still has much to do. But I do like how she calls out males on their crap. But they still manage to manipulate her anyway and she needs to learn a bit more from that.

Barrons remains a mystery and I don’t know what to think of him yet. I find him too aggressive towards Mac at times. And he really is bordering on being abusive to be honest. So I am hesitant on rooting for their possible relationship. If it does head that way it is a slow burn romance. So at least yeay for that aspect!

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Bloodfever

  1. I heard of this series, but I always imagined it to be an old one. Did the author write other similar books? When I was looking up “The Falconer” by Elizabeth May, a lot of people connected that trilogy with Moning’s work. I am still kind of feeling my way through adult literature because I get really triggered by sexual abuse and violence. So, I guess I won’t read this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oops wrote down the wrong release year. It is an older series! Thank you for spotting that.

      Yeah this book would really not work for you at all then. I hope you find some great adult lit. What kinds are you looking for?

      Like

  2. Wel grappig dat je je aan dezelfde dingen ergert als ik. Zowel V’Lane als Malluce. Het derde boek vond ik dan weer spannender. Mac wordt wat zelfzekerder, je krijgt toch alvast enkele antwoorden maar jammer genoeg blijft Barrons nog steeds een mysterie. Ik heb echter enkele vervolgdelen klaarstaan in de kast vermits ik na de cliffhanger van dat laatst gelezen boek echt wel verder wil lezen.

    Like

    1. Ugh V’Lane. Ik snap gewoon echt niet waarom het nodig is. Het derde boek klinkt al een stuk beter daardoor haha. Ik hoop dat we in het vijfde boek dan toch alle antwoorden krijgen, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

