reviews

Book Review – Stalking Jack the Ripper

Book: Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper 1) by Kerri Maniscalco
Release Date: September 20th 2016
Genre: Thriller/Mystery
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

32078579

Goodreads

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story’s shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.

Review

Stalking Jack the Ripper was much talked about last year when it initially released. I have to say I have always had a slight interest in Jack the Ripper, one of the most interesting and well known cases of a serial killer in history. So obviously this title would draw my attention. I held off for a while but finally read it this year. And ultimately I was a bit disappointed.

The thing is, I was bored for most of our main characters exploits and thought explorations. This is in essential a young adult thriller and mystery. But never was I thrilled when reading this book. Never did I care about the mystery surrounding Audrey Rose’s family. I think this might have been the writing. It just lacked what is necessary to bring about the right vibe to install a mood for a book like this. It is hard to create this through writing I’ll admit. Even the added pictures from that time period could not help with that. Though I do have to say that I might have appreciated that more had I read a physical copy.

UntitledThe end certainly was not a surprise as to who it was. But I did like the way it formed out. The reasons behind it. It was just a step further than I suspected.

Part of me rolled my eyes a few times at Audrey Rose. Sneaking out in the middle of the night to go about skulking the streets of London while there is a killer on the loose doesn’t quite seem a smart decision for someone who is suppose to be rather intelligent.  She made quite a few more those choices that I could not really get or find logic. Regardless of that she is a likeable character. She wants to show that women are fully capable of doing what men can do in a time period that this isn’t normal at all. She also possesses a bit of sass here and there when interacting with men which this book desperately needed.

Her interactions with Thomas were probably the most entertaining of the book. And he himself could be quite the charmer. But on other occasions he would start deducing as if he were Sherlock Holmes himself. Some felt a bit farfetched. The way he constantly referred to Audrey Rose by her last name, Wadsworth, made me think even more of Sherlock Holmes. Please tell me I am not the only one!  I don’t think the book needed that if it was intended.

Ultimately I am still interested in reading the sequel that comes out later this year as the title suggest to us Dracula. And no matter how done I am with vampires (for the most part) I am curious to see how the author will spin this.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Stalking Jack the Ripper

  1. I love Jack the Ripper movies, but it is like Horror with me; I love Horror movies, but not books. I am weird. I love pirate movies, but not pirate stories, and of course there is my love of Jane Austen movies and mini-series, BUT I LOATHE HER BOOKS, ha ha. So, I wasn’t thinking about this book at all, and after reading your thoughts on it, I know I didn’t miss anything. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

