top ten tuesday

TTT #96 – Adult Summer Reads That Are Not Contemporary

Now that we are nearing the Summer it is of course time to start making lists like the best beach reads or books one would like to read during the Summer. In this way Top Ten Tuesday, as always created by The Broke and the Bookish, could not stay behind.

This is a reoccuring topic. I struggle with it every year. I do not really gravitate towards what most seem to see as Summer reads. Crime fiction, contemporary and so on. Even so I try and make a list of sorts every year. Last year I made a list of books you would need on basis of their title for a beach read in my opinion. And the year before that I also created a list of beach reads.

This year I would like to give you a list of some Adult Summer reads. Of course this is a bit of a harder list to create. And maybe you will see some similar books as above. But that is okay. It means they truly are great for this time of year.

⌘

Enchanted Inc. by Shanna Swendson
I feel like I reccommend this book each year. But I feel it is a great book to read during the Summer. It is quick fantasy chick lit. And highly entertaining. You could easily fly through the entire series this Summer.

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
Another series one can easily fly through during the Summer is the Fever series. A bit darker than the above mentioned book but certainly not less entertaining. And Karen Marie Moning certainly knows how to write some steamy scenes.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
This book is a perfect whimsical tale to be absorbed on a nice warm day.

The Restorer by Amanda Stevens
A series called The Graveyard Queen might not automatically appeal to be read during the Summer, but it is certainly well worth it. It is a paranormal thriller that takes place in South Carolina where from what I gather it can become very warm. Seems perfect for the Summer to me.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
This is a title that cannot have escaped anyone’s notice over the years. When one talks about humor or sci-fi this book is often mentioned in the same breath. And there are four more. Great, quick and funny reads. Perfect for the Summer.

The Martian by Andy Weir
While The Martian certainly was not by kind of book I am in the minority in that. Apparently it is funny…

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
While this might be a bit denser than the above mentioned books it certainly is well worth the read. And hey, who doesn’t like to read about circusses in the Summer?

⌘

Which books would you recommend to read this Summer?

41 thoughts on “TTT #96 – Adult Summer Reads That Are Not Contemporary

  1. The Darkfever books always catch my eye- probably because of those awesome covers. And Hitchhiker’s Guide- I should really try it again, I never finished…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I love the Enchanted Inc. series, I don’t get why it isn’t more popular! It’s the perfect summer read indeed! Have a great week and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oddly enough, I read a bit about the Fever series and Amanda Stevens’ books only last week. I had never heard of them before that, and now you’re recommending them as well. I really need to check those out. And Enchanted Inc. too. It sounds like fun. All are going on my ever growing TBR list πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read most of these, so thanks for the recommendations! I loved The Martian and enjoyed The Night Circus a lot. It’s refreshing to see a list that’s not YA! My TTT is a mix of adult and YA.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oh I struggle with the idea of beach reads too.πŸ˜‚ Mostly because I don’t read at the beach!?? Like if I go to the beach, I’ll go for a walk/swim or something. Haha. I’d rather read inside. BUT ANYWAY. I love our picks and The Ocean at the End of the Lane is SO SO GOOD. So creepy.πŸ˜‚ I also really want to read the Martian for the humour!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never even go to the beach XD. (Even though I lived close to the beach for years.) All that sand in your books though. I can’t imagine :O The Oeach and the End of the Lane was so great. πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. Daar zitten een paar boeken tussen die ik héél graag gelezen heb. Eigenlijk heb ik nog steeds geen echte seizoensboeken. Ik kies dus nog altijd gewoon het boek dat me het meeste aanspreekt op een specifiek moment. Al doen de luchtige boeken van Jill Shalvis me dankzij de locatie waar hun verhalen zich afspelen wel steeds verlangen naar een bezoekje aan het strand of een wandeling in het bos.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Enchanted Inc sounds like the coolest story ever! I have never heard of a fantasy chick lit novel before so I will definitely check it out.
    The Night Circus is a great read all year round πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. They all sound great. I’ve also heard great things about The Martian. I’ve heard it’s action packed, so if you’re looking for something like that to spice up your reading, that might just be the book you are looking for. Good post BTW. I also would recommend The Night Circus, it’s amazing.
    -Jared

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have The Ocean At the End Of the Lane, so that is one I can read this summer! I also want to read The Night Circus in the worst way, but it is never on ebook special and I won’t buy it full price. However… I think I am pretty sure from seeing the reviews from all of my buddies that I will love it, and I adore the cover, so I will probably look for the hardcover on sale. I am like you, I don’t do any specialized summer reading. I just read. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You’ve got some good ones there! I’ve read The Guide and The Martian. The Ocean is on my (owned) TBR and I keep failing to get to it! The Night Circus, on the other hand, just keeps eluding me at the library πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

