reviews

Book Review – The Upside of Unrequited

Book: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Release Date: April 11th 2017
Genre: Contemporary
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Other books by this author I reviewed
Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Goodreads

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

Review

You know, I don’t remember ever having the desire to pre order a contemporary before this year. So well done Becky Albertalli. The hype and how much I loved Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda just made me excited. For a contemporary. Can you imagine that? I can’t. But it happened.

So did I love this as much as Simon vs? No I can’t say I do, but that doesn’t make this a bad book at all. Actually I could very much so relate to Molly.

Molly is our main character who has had a lot of crushes, is jewish, one half of a twin and is fat. In case you did not know, I am fat.  I have been most of my life. In that regard Molly was a 100% relatable to me. Her feelings and thoughts about herself were things that reminded me of when I was a teenager. Added to that, I had crushes I did nothing about either. Granted, not as much as Molly, but I completely get the having crushes thing.

Next to that there is a lot of diversity in this book. From an interracial family with a Jewish background to lgbtq+ characters.  And these are all characters you feel for even if we only get Molly’s point of view.  From Cassie who falls in love for the first time, to their moms who have so much to deal with family wise, to the twins friends who each have their own things to deal with.

Still this book did not end up moving me as much. I had a bit of a love hate feeling towards Molly’s twin Cassie who I would have loved smacking upside the head a few times. I am not the only one, right? I missed a bit of humor here and there though for me personally.

Where Simon vs had a mystery element, this book did not have that at all. We knew where this was going but it was about the journey, the coming of age, and not the end result. The book certainly stands up on its own for that.

‘There is just something about this kind of moment – this tiny thread connecting me to a total stranger. It’s the kind of thing that makes the universe feel smaller. I really love that.’

Also how did I not notice right away that Simon was making a cameo? Like who am I even? I love when authors do books in the same universe thing and we get cameos. I knew there was going to be a cameo yet it did not register at the moment. I totally need a Molly and Simon meet up though. It has to happen.

11 thoughts on “Book Review – The Upside of Unrequited

  1. I loved the diversity in this book, too. However, as you probably all ready know the shallow tv sitcom-esque teens really irked me. I was a disappointment because the characters in Simon Vs. weren’t like that. I kept thinking all of the misconceptions and judgemental thoughts she had would be used as growth platforms, if not with outward progress, at least with some kind of internal dialogue. It was shocking to me the incorrect ideas many of the European members of MyLeaky had about US teens and US high schools from tv shows and YA books, so when I read a book (especially YA) that re-enforces those misconceptions it makes me a little mad. Ha! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can understand reading those kind of things can be rather annoying. A lot of YA contemporaries do go that way. TV shows especially! Still i could relate to Molly so I think a lot of teens will be able to as well.

      Like

  2. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book and how cute and wonderful it is, so I am so glad to see you enjoyed it so much too! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

