top ten tuesday

TTT #94 – Things I Wish to See More in Books

Do you ever read a book and think with an element of the book that you wished to see more of that in other books? Yeah, you are not alone. Some things just tick with you, that will always work for you. And some things we just don’t see enough of in books. Certain tropes do often come back within books. So there is no wonder we want to see less of those and more of these other things.

This prompt was of course given to use for Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish.

⌘

  1. Slow Burn Romance
    I need this with a passion. I am not a big romance person but slow burn romances make me cheer on and be invested in the romance so much more when it is done over a few books. I’ll be anticipating the romance instead of rolling my eyes.
    Example: The Others serie by Anne Bishop
  2. Active Parents
    I understand that young adult focuses on the young person and that dead parents are a great revenge point and all but this really doesn’t need to be the case in every book. In some books the parents are still alive but basically non-existant. I hate that. It is not always realistic. It doesn’t mean they have to be perfect. Just there, a part of the life of the character, you know.
    Example: Timekeeper by Tara Sim
  3. Diversity
    This is a given really. I don’t understand how there can be people that say that not all authors need to write diversely. #sorrynotsorry I thought books reflected our society?95A0D12E-072A-47DB-A21D-B1EAA912241E_zpst9j67do6
    Example: The Blazing Star by Imani Josey, The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
  4. Dragons
    Surprising right? Dragons make everything better, really.
    Example: Seraphina duology by Rachel Hartman
  5. More Book  Series You Can Read Out of Order / Companion Books
    There are so many series out there that you need to real in order. And some of them are so long that I really can’t be bothered. Even if the newly released book looks super amazing with that cover. But with series that you don’t need to read in order you can just pick up any book just released or that you come across. It makes life so much easier.You can also continue with the series whenever. There is no rush to have to finish a story line as it wraps up at the end of each book. I love seeing books set in the same world like that with reoccurin books that keep it fresh.
    Example: Discworld by Terry Pratchett
  6. Lesser Known Fairy Tale and Classic Retellings
    I understand that Cinderella and Pride and Prejudice are great stories to retell but there are so many out there that deserve attention to.
    Example: It is kind of sad I can’t think of an example for this. Give me an example!
  7. Alternative History
    I’ve recently realised I quite enjoy when authors have a look at our history and rewrite portions of it so it will give us a different present. So many options.
    Example: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
43 thoughts on “TTT #94 – Things I Wish to See More in Books

  1. Dragons definitely! And slow burn romance is always preferable to the insta variety or the too quick variety- when it plays out over a series that’s even better. Ditto on parents being around and not just a plot device!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I pretty much agree wholeheartedly with all of these! But especially the slow burn romance (I love it! And hey, there’s the reminder I needed to FINALLY start The Others series 😉 ), active parents and diversity! Oh, and dragons do make everything better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just commented on someone else’s blog that I want some Jekyll/Hyde retellings! The only ones I’ve found were just inspired-by, not actual retellings. I want Dorian Gray retellings too. Idk any lesser-known fairytales, but I really want Greek mythology retellings of specific stories, not just stories with the gods as MCs.

    I actually want LESS of those companion type series though! It’s so frustrating to me when I come across something that sounds good only to find the other books are about different characters. I like having the same characters and one big arc. I feel like we should just have a different name for the types of series or a way of differentiating them so everyone who specifically wants a certain kind can find them easier!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Jekyll/Hyde retellings would be really interesting. And I agree with the specific stories of Greek mythology. That be great to see.

      I agree that it would be nice if there was an easier way to see the differences between those two things. Now it is all called a series but that doesn’t really work.

      Like

  4. I agree on so many of these! I would love to see more slow burn romance, active parents, and diversity! Those are all things I’ve been looking for in books lately. And Dragons! Seraphina is one of my favorites. Wonderful list!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Active parents and slow romance are on my TTT list too.

    For not-so-usual fairy tale retellings, have you read “Sweet Remembrance” by Emily Ann Putzke? It’s a retelling of Hans Christian Anderson’s “The Little Match Girl” set in a Jewish ghetto during WWII, and it’s beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love a slow burn romance so much. I typically read romance for the characters not for the heat so it’s definitely my preference. Also yes on the active parents. I get that parents can put a damper on the adventure but either them not appearing at all or being essentially the bad guys in irritating and not really a great message. I love the idea of lesser known fairy tale retellings. There are so many amazing stories that I’d love to see a twist on that aren’t the typical Disney stories. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes!! On dragons… I seriously thought about this one, but I like companion dragons not monster dragons. And slow burn romances are so much better! I like romance in all the stories I read but not center stage most of the time. Companion books is a really cool one for a world with many characters but only one protagonist. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes to Alternative History! I love Wolf by Wolf so much I don’t think I can get enough of that genre now. And a big fat THANK YOU for #sorrynotsorry! I cant even understand why would someone say that!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dragons DO make everything better. Like 500 x better. And I also really want to see more active parents in books too! *flails* Also the gloriousness that is alternate realties, because Ink and Bone is such a brilliant idea. I adore it! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally. All books need dragons.
      Even though I did not enjoy Ink and Bone as much as you did I do think the idea is brilliant yes. We need more of those ideas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

