Book Haul

Book Haul #21 – March, April and Boekenfestijn

Now that we are nearing the end of April it is about time I showed you my second book haul of the year. It’s not so bad. I mean I bought so many books in one month last year so really, I am making progress. Sort of. Maybe. A little.

Hey! At least I got some ebooks this time. I’m trying to read more ebooks. I am!



The Waking Fire (The Draconis Memoria 1) by Anthony Ryan
I was in the book store with my husband and I was staring at this so he was like; ‘Do you want it?’  And I was like; ‘Yes but it is expensive.’ And then he got it for me. It was expensive though as this is the Dutch edition and the bloody paperback was 25 Euro! That is Dutch translated adult fantasy for you…


Treasure Island by Rober Luis Stevenson
I love these Puffin editions as I have two others and when I saw this cheapish I could not resist.


Holiday in Death (In Death 7) by J.D. Robb
Still slowly collecting these in Dutch as cheap as I can find them.


The Watchmaker of Filligree Street by Natasha Pulley
I’ve been hearing such good things about this book from Dutch bloggers that I picked this when I could pick out a book as offered by my husband when we visited Westerhof Stadshagen in Zwolle where friends work. ❤
Makkelijk Leven by Herman Koch *
This years Dutch book week gift. I did not enjoy it at all though, too bad.


Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
I was going to get the paperback some time this year of this because the hardcover was around 25 Euro. But then it was marked down online and I had to order it. I know. Shh. But it is pretty.


Defy the Stars (Defy the Stars 1) by Claudia Gray
I was not going to get this at all but it was in the book store and my mom offered to get it for me… I swear, this whole monthly book budget is not going my way, haha.

Merijn was jealous…

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli *
I had this on pre order. I know, me, have a contemporary on pre order!

 

Oh look, a cat’s tail and socks…

Shadowcaster (Shattered Realms 2) by Cinda Williams Chima
This is not the cover I pre ordered. But they changed the covers last year all of a sudden and now they look like TOG rejects. I swear, if you have such pretty covers why change them to these butt ugly ones??? WHY?

 Ebooks

blood fever stalking jack the ripper

Bloodfever (Fever 2) by Karen Marie Moning *
Finally bought the next book in this series
Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper 1) by Keri  Maniscalco *
I went back and forth on my interest in this book as it is not a fantasy. But we are reading it as the thriller book of the month for April in Books Ever After (as you know by now the Dutch goodreads group I am active at) and I figured I should give it a shot for the price the ebook was at.
Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children 1) by Seanan McGuire *
Oh my gosh, I was so excited to see that Tor was offering this book up for free for two days if you signed up for their newsletter. I had this on my wishlist for a while but I know it isn’t the longest book so I was waiting on the paperback potentially or maybe an ebook deal, but now I didn’t have to.

the dragons blade heartsnare fire

 

★  The Reborn King (Dragon’s Blade 1) by Michael R. Miller *
Veiled Intentions (Dragon’s Blade 2)  by Michael R. Miller *
I received these copies from the author for review.
Heartsnare by Steven B. Williams *
This synopsis and cover drew my attention on Netgalley. As you all know I request very little on there.
Fire (The Ninth Circle 1) by C.A. Harland
Ah Netgalley. I saw this on the fantasy read now section. It sounds like Supernatural except with a female duo. I needed it. It doesn’t come out until October though so I have got all the time in the world to read this. I like low pressure. But I have high hopes.
At Fire’s End (Champions 1) by Charlotte Jain
I received a copy from the author for review.

Boekenfestijn

On a complete whim I went to the Boekenfestijn in Leeuwarden in March. I know. Clearly I didn’t need more books. But somehow I did. I was actually kind of dissapointed by the English books there this time. But at least I scored two harry potter mugs so all is well in the world.


The Bone Season (The Bone Season 1) by Samantha Shannon
The Mime Order (The Bone Season 2) by Samantha Shannon
I actually owned The Bone Season in English mass market paperback but couldn’t find The Mime Order in the same height. It annoyed me and so I had not picked up this book. I’ll be getting rid of that edition though. These two Dutch editions together only cost me 7,50.


The Shadowed Sun (Dreamblood 2) by N.K. Jemisin
The Broken Kingdom (Inheritance 2) by N.K. Jemisin
I don’t actually own the first books of these series but I saw them for 4 euro a piece and as I would like to read books by this author I figured it would be good to grab them along. I do have the first book of another series by her but I think it might be better to start one of these first.

 

* = read

11 thoughts on “Book Haul #21 – March, April and Boekenfestijn

  1. THE WALKING FIRE (#1 THE DRACONIS MEMORIA) is high on my wishlist. I ‘ran into’ it the other day when I was in Eindhoven with a friend and it looked amazing.
    The price shocked me as well so I gently put it back on the shelf haha. Maybe some other time..
    THE WATCHMAKER OF FILLIGREE STREET sounds amazing as well. And that Dutch cover is to die for! For the cover alone and the fact it involves LONDON, makes it an instant-buy for me haha.
    And the cover of NORSE MYTHOLOGY is also amazing, woww ❤ love it!

    Can't wait to see what you'll think of DEFY THE STARS. I got it earlier this month on the release date and started reading the same day.
    I LOVEDDDD the book and was really sad when I finished it. Can't wait for the sequel!! Just amazing ❤

    There are so many books in this haul I want to say stuff about haha.. You've got an amazing haul ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yeah I would have put it gently back on the shelf as well if my husband hadn’t offered. So many others book could be bought for that price. Norse Mythology is the prettiest! There is a hammer on the naked hardcover too!

      I can’t wait to see what I think of it as well. Ive heard good things mostly!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, wat jammer dat het Boekenfestijn aanbod voor jou ook tegenviel. Ik hoopte echt enkel leuke Engelstalige paperbacks op de kop te kunnen tikken maar daar kwam dus niets van. Ter compensatie bestelde ik nadien ‘s avonds wel 6 boeken én 7 boekenleggers online. Ik moet er nog eventjes op wachten maar binnenkort is de stand van mijn ‘Lees die tbr omlaag’-project weer helemaal om zeep. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wow you got great books here! I LOOOOOVE Merijn’s pic with The Upside of Unrequited! so adorable. OMG. I heard tons of good thing about The Upside of Unrequited. I hope you like it. I was super excited about Every Heart a Doorway too but unfortunately I didn’t like it as much as I thought I was going to. Hope you do!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks. He loves to touch books.
      I enjoyed Every Heart a Doorway but I did have some higher expectations that just didn’t work in such a short book.

      Like

  4. Ahhhhhh! OMGawd, girl, you hauled! I guess this is good and bad, ha ha. XD

    Is that Ryan book a paperback? That would have been over $27 here. It better be really, really good! Do they tax books in The Netherlands? They tax them here, but not ebooks.

    I loooooooove the cover of The Watchmaker Of Filligree Street, and American Gods isn’t too shabby either. I love both of the photos, too. I wasn’t going to bother with the Puffin books, but then I started thinking about having them around for grandchildren. Ha ha. It is never ending!

    It’s a good thing you got a new bookshelf. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haulin’ Haulin’ Haulin’ 😉
      It is a paperback. I already told you but all prices here have tax included in them. 🙂

      They are super pretty, the puffin classics, and really not that pricey considering they are hardcovers.

      I knew I needed it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ik ben zo nieuwsgierig naar Defy the Stars!! Ik ben benieuwd wat je ervan gaat vinden 😀 Het bottenseizoen heb ik echt al 100x in mijn handen gehad, maar nog nooit gekocht haha.. ik twijfel er iedere keer opnieuw over XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja ik ook!
      Ja ik weet eigenlijk niet zo goed waar ik het Bottenseizoen moet plaatsen. Maar hij klinkt erg interessant dus ik hoop dat hij wel goed is. En voor die prijs kon ik ze nou ook weer niet laten liggen. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

