reviews

Book Review – A Conjuring of Light

Book: A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic 3) by V.E. Schwab
Release Date: February 21st 2017
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

401A78D4-0F14-4D73-AEFF-4A0669634BA9_zps5vrzxkqe

Other books in this series I reviewed
A Darker Shade of Magic // A Gathering of Shadows

Other books by this author I reviewed
The Archived (series) // This Savage Song

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the previous books in the series

Synopsis

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

Review

Sometimes there are books that leave you at a loss for words. A Conjuring of Light was one of those for me. I struggled for weeks to write a review for this book. Because I did not think any words I would write would do it justice. Maybe that sounds dramatic, but that is what it felt like.

This is my sixth book by miss Schwab but the first one that I have rated 5 stars. I have said with the previous two books that while I really enjoyed them I had higher expectations of Schwab for this series and such I was a bit disappointed (regardless of me having rated them 4 stars). One of the things I had issue with, especially in the second book, was how predictable the events were that happened regarding the plot. But this book. This book had none of that. It took us on a ride and then proceeded to spit us out at the end. Like literally. Along with the characters. Just dumped us out there on the street with our emotions raw and bloody. Thanks a lot Victoria. No really, thanks. I honestly enjoyed that.

The one complaint I’d make regarding the writing would be that the point of views rapidly changed at the beginning. The chapters weren’t that long and we got a change of character every chapter for a bit there. It made it a tiny bit hard to get into. But once I did this book never did let me go.

‘The answer, of course, was simple: the same way she fought anyone else. Quick and dirty.’

As this is the third book and the conclusion to the trilogy we have gotten to know our characters quite well. It makes the emotional happenings hit even harder. We have our Rhy who is struggling with being alive but also dead as the spell attaches him to Kell. Kell who has to deal with his own decisions. Alucard who has to deal with his own demons. Lila who is just Lila and happily goes through life stabbing. Holland who I wanted to hit then hug in the same moment many times. He gets a lot of deepening out in this book with more point of views by him.

“So Osaron is just a piece of magic with an ego?”

But what I love  most about these characters is their interactions. Like Rhy and Kell who are completely the ultimate brothers when that isn’t even by blood. There is such loyalty there. But also Rhy and Alucard who clearly have a great connection but there are secrets and hurt that cannot be so easily stepped around. Alucard and Kell who bitch at each other for Rhy’s attention. I live for those interactions. Imagine them on a boat together. Yeah…  But also Kell and Lila who have love for each other but it isn’t all consuming. It doesn’t take over the plot. They have their moments. They try and strengthen each other.

I also have a weakness for some of the side characters. But I am also upset about them. The whole heart wrenching bit. I could have more to say but then I would spoil you and this review is not the place for this.

So when you pick up this book, expect a rollercoaster. Up and down, and down, and down, plunging down, up, tumbling down, two steps up, oh no, going back down.  Know this is a great series ender. Like they are meant to be. Enjoy.

10 thoughts on “Book Review – A Conjuring of Light

  1. This book was so enjoyable! I was surprised I liked Holland after the end of this book. He kind of annoyed me through the first and second books, even though I felt bad for him for a lot of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

