top ten tuesday

TTT #89 – Top Fandoms I Am In

Fandoms is something that I am quite familiar with. I used to be quite fandomy in my teenage years and start of my twenties. Beyblade, Pokemon, Get Backers, Winx Club and all the other things I enjoyed at the time.

Now I am turning thirty this year and I am not quite as fandomy as I was back then. Sure, I love certain things but they don’t quite dominate my life like they used to back then. Fan art, fan fiction and so on. I suppose my fandomy stops at buying merchandise if available. Now I am an adult that is happening more, haha. But mostly my fandomy ways stop at just supporting the works. Which to me is the most important bit.

Now don’t argue with me, some of these are fandoms, I swear!

As always, this topic was prompted by The Broke and the Bookish as it is every Tuesday.

āŒ˜

The Cat Fandom
What do you mean that isn’t a real fandom? It totally is. Ask any cat owner. It requires lots of cooing and awing over ones cat as they take over your life.

The Book Fandom
I live and breath books every day. How is this not appreciated more as a fandom?

The Pretty Book Cover Fandom
Big fan here of pretty covers. They are the bane of my book buying budget existence this year.

The I Own Multiple Copies of the Same Book Fandom
A lot of people don’t understand this fandom. But how can you not own all kinds of different versions of some of your favorite books?

The Minions Fandom
You might have noticed during book shelf tours that I have various bits of Minions on my shelves. I can tell you, I have a minion lamp thingy in my bedroom too and a friend one send a minion back pack. They are yellow and cute. Obviously they have to be my favorite thing in the world.

Stargate Fandom
Lesser known but when this was still airing I would stalk all news regarding Stargate. There was this site that shared all news regarding Stargate and its actors and had a forum.I liked that site. I bought some companion books because of that site. I still love Stargate, will forever. It was the first tv show next to Scooby-Doo that I always watched and loved. I keep a secret eye on the actors to see what they are up to and potentially see if I’d be interested in it.

Clamp Fandom
You might have noticed when I talk about manga I talk about Clamp. I love their style and ideas and characters. I used to be so far into fan fiction and fan art for some of my favorite series by them. If I had more time, I would be stalking for Doumeki and Watanuki fan fictions. Preferably one where they make out.

Harry Potter Fandom
While I am not a big fan of the man himself I love the world and everything that is created for it. I have t-shirts of Harry Potter that I proudly wear. Now I only need to get myself a Ravenclaw scarf.

āŒ˜

What fandoms were or are you in? How active are you?

38 thoughts on “TTT #89 – Top Fandoms I Am In

  1. Book covers and cats are definitely fandoms! Although w/ cats it might be serfdom since they’re pretty convinced they rule over us, I think. Multiple covers of the same book too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know you are not a fan of Harry Potter himself! Have you ever done a blog post about that? My two favorite HP characters are Luna and Ron. You know, I have never read any fanfic. I didn’t even know what it was until I joined the HP social site, The Leaky Cauldron. After listening to the conversations about fanfic, members had read, in the common room, I knew I would hate most of it. Ha ha. I did/do love collecting HP stuff, but I will admit it was more fun before The Goblet Of Fire book came out and it was hard to find things. I think the only other real fandom I was a part of was ages ago with The Monkees when I was 11-13.

    Cats are a definite yes. I used to say I loved cats, dogs, and horses equally, but horses got to be too much work. I now favor dogs a bit more, but I think that is only because I have not been able to find an apartment that allows dogs for many many years, and I miss having one. Sebastian, on the other hand, is a diehard feline fan!

    I loved this post. Thanks for sharing.šŸ’Ÿ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha oh my gosh the Teletubbies. šŸ˜€

      No, for some reason he just never jelled with me. My husband loves Ron too. Not a fan of him either though. šŸ˜€

      Go Sebastian! We used to have a dog when I lived with my parents and I thought I was a dog person. I was also allergic to cats and a lot of other animals when I was a kid. But I kind of grew over that and my husband grew up with cats and did not want a dog. So we got cats and I realize now that I really don’t miss having a dog. Seeing my parents dog for a few days is more than enough for me. šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree that cats should be a fandom! Just look at all of the pictures, memes, gifs, and videos floating around on the Internet about them. Haha.

    I used to be more active in the Harry Potter fandom. I still enjoy that series, but I haven’t done anything fan-ish (is that a word?) for in a long time. La La in the Library, keep an open mind about Harry Potter fanfic. Some of it isn’t so great, but there are other fics that are actually pretty good!

    Here is my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your list! I am a member of the Harry Potter fandom and I guess an honorary member of the cat fandom. I’m a fan of one cat in particular, anyway (my furry niece Kitty whose picture I use on my blog). I am also a member of the book fandom (I think you have to be if you are a librarian!) and the owning multiple copies of the same book fandom (I own different versions of the HP books including U.S. and British versions of The Philospher’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and I’m seriously tempted to buy the illustrated versions).

    I don’t go in for fanfic but I do buy merchandise of some of my fandoms, particularly soundtracks and the occasional calendar. In my teens and twenties I bought more stuff and people gave me things (I once owned a talking Darth Vader piggybank and Yoda keychain courtesy of my sister) but now I don’t really feel like owning trinkets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do have my favorites among cats as well. šŸ˜‰ The illustrated versions are so pretty! I have the first one which puts me at 3 copies of The Philospher’s Stone. I can’t get myself to buy the second one yet though. No room on my Harry Potter shelf, haha.

      Yeah the trinkets can get a bit much. I’m not a soundtrack or calendar girl though. I do like mugs though. šŸ˜€ That talking Darth Vader piggybank must have been epic though.

      Like

  5. I think I went in the opposite direction. When I was younger, fandoms didn’t interest me, and now I find myself more a part of them. šŸ™‚ I am not sure how that happened. LOL Of course, I doubt my fandom counts as real fandom in most cases. Occasionally though. I love the Harry Potter world too. And cats. I should have had cats on my list. But then I’d feel bad and want to add dogs too. I love cats and dogs. This is a great list! Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a great rest of the week, Annemieke.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Book Fandom! The Pretty Book Fandom! The Minion Fandom! All favorites. But then, who wouldn’t love the little minions?? šŸ™‚

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, deze is leuk. Goh, er zijn wel enkele dingen waar ik echt fan van ben. Bij mij uit zich dat vooral in het rondsnuffelen in Pinterest-mappen, knutselprojectjes, leuke gadgets en t-shirts kopen, dingen steeds opnieuw willen herlezen en herbekijken, af en toe in quotes uit die favoriete fandoms praten, het heerlijk vinden wanneer mensen die herkennen, …

    Harry Potter en Supernatural staan absoluut bovenaan dat lijstje. Ik ben echter ook gek van Firefly, Lord of the Rings, thee, Forever Friends, Game of Thrones, … Oh en zowel gifjes/foto’s/filmpjes van schattige katten en honden kunnen mijn dag helemaal opfleuren.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Het is heerlijk als mensen dingen herkennen en dat je er dan lekker over kan kletsen. šŸ˜€

      Firefly ā¤ (jammer dat daar zo weinig van te vinden is hier). Ja foto's gifjes van katjes en hondjes zijn zo mooi door de dag heen. Gelukkig heeft het internet die in grote getallen. šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

