reviews

Book Review – The Reborn King

Book: The Reborn King (The Dragon’s Blade 1) by Michael R. Miller
Release Date: November 10th 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 3,5 out of 5 stars

27984704

Goodreads

Synopsis

Dragons once soared in the skies, but that was before the Transformation, before they took human form. Now, demonic forces stand to obliterate them. When left mortally wounded, Darnuir, the Prince of Dragons, can only be saved through a dangerous rebirthing spell. He is left as a babe in human hands.

Twenty years later, Darnuir is of age to wield the Dragon’s Blade. As the last member of his bloodline, he is the only one who can. He is plunged into a role he is not prepared for, to lead a people he does not know. Shadowy demons ravage his new home and the alliance between humans, dragons and fairies has fractured.

Time is short, for new threats and deadlier enemies are emerging..

Review

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I’m always excited to read anything that has the word dragon in it as does this book with a series title like The Dragon’s Blade. Unfortunately there are very little actual dragons in this book. With that I mean the fire breathing beasts. Nope, not in this book. The synopsis does mention a transformation, and I’ve read books with humanoid dragons before but they always were still able to transform into their natural form. Not the case in this book. I mean, I saw dragons in the synopsis and thought: wooh dragons. My fault really. However once I was over that general disappointment I did quite enjoy this book.

The book starts and builds us up over a few chapters to get to know previous Darnuir, our to be reborn king, who is quite the brash Dragon. It is kind of the prologue to the story and I thought it was rather strong. The two chapters following that were quite contradictory to that. These chapters focused on Darnuir growing up through showing us various scenes. They were preceded by two months later, two years later etc. It pulled me out of the story immediately and when after those chapters we got two chapters of a girl who got very little introduction as to who she was (though I guessed because it was a bit predictable) I lost a little of my interest.

The story did pick back up a bit after this. But it took me a while to get back into it. I think this also had to do with Darnuir who reborn was raised very differently and developed a calmer temperament amongst humans. I quite enjoyed the brash Darnuir of the first few chapters and could not quite feel this softer character. Once he regained some memories of his former self I felt he regained some strength as a character. He became a mix of the two personalities. With that the story picked back up even more and I felt it was back up to par with the first few chapters.

There are some things that happen in the middle of the book that were predictable. Of course Darnuir falls instalove with Cassandra for instance. Of course someone turns out to be a child of a king next to Darnuir. But at the end the predictability left and there were more pleasant surprises in traitors and how a battle folded out for instance. I also enjoyed a little how Cassandra seemed to regard Darnuirs interest in her nearing the end. I unexpectedly did become attached to some of the side characters and was not pleased with some deaths. I wailed inside my head.

The world itself is rather interesting. There is a lot of history though we mostly get the Dragon history in this book. Like the transformation of the dragons to humanoid dragons (which I am not quite sold on yet). But there are also humans, fairies, various types of demons and a type of trolls. Each race has their own things. Not all fairies can fly for instance. And magic comes at a cost for the wizards. But most of all I enjoyed the demons in this and the point of view we got of one of the specters. There was more to some of them than just blind following their master and that depth adds something to this war. It is not all so cut and dry.

Overall I enjoyed this book and I am quite curious as to where this might go.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – The Reborn King

Leave a Reply

