top ten tuesday

TTT # 87 – Top Fantasy Type Quick Reads

Between family, work and other personal commitments, it can be hard to find the time to read. Especially when you are tired. Looking at my favorite genre, fantasy, those books tend to be rather on the large side, especially when you read adult fantasy.

But I am here to help you out with a few quick reads in the fantasy type section. Some of these are more novella’s, others are normal length but have a style that is quick to read. Some are young adult, others are considered adult. I think there is something for everyone here. I hope.

As always this prompt was given to us by The Broke and the Bookish.

āŒ˜

Untitled

  1. Sunbolt (Sunbolt Chronicles 1) by Intisar Khanani / Review
    This first book is a novella length book of about a 100 pages and certainly well worth the read. The next book is full length though, but once you have started this world it will be hard to leave it and you will tear through the next book as well.
  2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness / Review
    A book I think most are familiar with as it was recently turned into a movie. The book itself is not that long and most editions are illustrated. That does not mean this book does not pack a punch though.
  3. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
    If you like quick reads with a bit of humor and mythology this certainly is the series for you. You fly through these books
  4. Faith and Moonlight by Mark Gelinau and Joe King / Review
    This duo of authors have been writing novella length books in a similar world, together called An Echo of the Ascended. Faith and Moonlight is one that struck me the most of those I have read. So far there are only two parts out for this.
  5. Prince of Mist (Niebla 1) by Carlos Ruiz Zafon / Review
    Perhaps not his most well known work, this Niebla collection of young adult books, but certainly well worth the read. Prince of Mist so far is the only one I have read but I have high hopes for the others.
  6. Precious Stone trilogy by Kerstin Gier / Review
    These books might look big but the style of writing makes these such incredible fast reads. You’ll have sit down and then poof, the book is finished.
  7. Eric and The Last Hero (Discworld) by Terry Pratchett
    Discworld might look intimidating with 40+ books but most of these books can be read seperately. Some are divided into arcs that follow certain characters like Death and Tiffany Aching. The above mentioned are from the Rincewind arc but can be easily read out of order. They are both short and The Last Hero is also illustrated. Well the edition I read anyway.
  8. Enchanted Inc. by Shanna Swendson
    A bit of a fantasy chick lit that reads incredibly fast. I especially liked the first two of the four I’ve read.
  9. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman / Review
    Neil Gaiman writes various types of books, including children’s books that are still great to read even if you are an adult.

āŒ˜

Do you have any recommendations for quick fantasy reads?

40 thoughts on “TTT # 87 – Top Fantasy Type Quick Reads

  1. I love The Graveyard Book!! And the Ocean At the End of the Lane is also teeny tiny and INCREDIBLE. šŸ˜šŸ˜ And also a Monster Calls…omgggg. I did not expect that one to be as emotional as it was. Pure masterpiece. Sometimes the little books pack the biggest punches, right?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far I’ve yet to truly dislike a Gaiman book,haha. Right? I didn’t think A Monster Calls would give that punch in such a short amount of time. Yet I still want to reread it. šŸ˜¦ Asking for the hurt.

      Like

  2. I actually haven’t read any of these! I’ve been seeing A Monster Calls on a bunch of lists today too. It’s been on my tbr for quite a while so I hope to get to it eventually. I love a nice quick read some times, especially after reading a really long book. It a nice quick fix.

    ~Julie
    https://happilyeverchapter.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great list! Finding short(ish) fantasy books are so hard, and there are definitely times when I don’t want to pick up an 800 page brick! A Monster Calls and Percy Jackson are great picks, and now I really want to read Faith and Moonlight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I need more fantasy novellas or quick reads so thanks for this list. šŸ™‚ I’ve been kinda wanting to try Kirsten Gier at some point…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am definitely aiming to read a bunch of Gaiman novels. I got a couple of them on my shelves. Part of me is somewhat intimidated by his awesomeness. I have been listening to his interviews, and he is just so eloquent and funny in this out of the world way. (does that make sense?).
    But, I’ll have to give his work a try, for sure.

    A Monster Calls seems perfectly heartbreaking. I have my copy ready to go. I have a couple of other works by that author, too. Do you ever feel like we don’t have enough time in the day? I just want to read all the books I have, and then get more books and read even more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, read him. What books do you have on your shelf by him. I’m reading American Gods right now.

      Ugh, all the time. I need like 48 hours in a day or so. Of which Merijn is active for about a quarter of that so I have plenty of time to do all the other things that need to be done like reading, haha.

      Like

  6. Well, this definitely gave me a lot of new TBR books – but since they’re so short, I’m not too concerned.
    Garth Nix’s “Mister Monday” is middle grade and relatively short, but it’s an especially quick read because it’s for kids. Also, GARTH NIX

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I definitely want to read ‘A Monster Calls.’ I keep hearing so much about it. “The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ also by Neil Gaiman is a quick fantasy read.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sunbolt would be one of mine also. Hmm… this is interesting for sure. I need to have a think on this one. The novella for the Fairyland series would be one because I feel it really gives the flavor of Valente’s writing style. I want to read The Graveyard Book in a bad way, but it never goes in ebook sale. Everyone seems to love it, though, so I might look for it when I do Book Outlet shopping. Should I add the Precious Stone trilogy to my tbr?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gaiman hardly ever goes on sale unlike other authors. But he is worth it. I am not sure if the Precious Stone would really be for you. It is a quick young adult read, but maybe a bit too whimsical in places for your taste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

