reviews

Book Review – Tweedehands Vleugels

Book: Tweedehands Vleugels (Vleugels trilogy 1) by Vanessa Gerrits
Release Date: December 1st 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

32454276

Goodreads

Dutch Synopsis

Max heeft nieuwe vleugels nodig. En als Kraai – een wezen dat deels mens, deels monster en deels machine is – kan hij dat alleen maar regelen door ze te stelen van een ander gevleugeld wezen. Een Beschermengel bijvoorbeeld. Iemand zoals Lucy.

Lucy verliest alles met haar vleugels: haar vrijheid, haar carrière en mogelijk zelfs de ziel van haar Bestemmeling. Maar één veer blijkt genoeg om haar leven terug in handen te krijgen.
Elk met een verborgen agenda, sluiten de Engel en de Kraai een ongewone alliantie. En al snel staan er levens, harten en vleugels op het spel…

English Synopsis (losely translated)

Max needs new wings. And as a crow – part human, part monster and part machine – he can only arange that through stealing them from a winged being. Like a guardian angel. Like Lucy.

Lucy loses everything with her wings: her freedom, her carreer and possibly even the soul of the human she guards over. But one feather is enough for her to take back charge over her life.

The angel and the crow, with each their hidden agenda, form an unusual alliance. And quickly there are lives, hearts and wings on the line…

Review

As I was planning on going to the book release event at bookstore Westerhof in Zwolle for the new books by Jen Minkman and Vanessa Gerrits I figured it would be a good idea to have read at least one book by both authors. As such I purchased Vanessa Gerrits Tweedehands Vleugels.

I will be honest and say that I had low expectations of this book. It is paranormal romance and with angels so I had danced around this book for a while before. Angel books make me a little hesitant. However I have to say that I was actually pleasantly surprised by this book in places which might not be completely reflected in my rating. But I’ll get to that.

What really pleased me about this book is how it was written. There is such an ease in the words that you can’t help but be sucked in to a point. I was also struck by the humor that was in some places. Sometimes when something was a bit cliché there would be a bit of a wink in humor to that. I liked that. It shows that at least the author knows she has some clichés going on. It also made the characters more likeable.

FFE266FD-F6E0-4902-A5EA-585C299F5DA6_zpsfou36aih
Another thing I quite enjoyed about this book was the world. Or the idea of the world. It isn’t just angels. There are actually a lot of different creatures in this world. Vampires, werewolves, humans, elfs and so on. And then there are the crows. The crows are actually a sort of hybrid. Humans who have upgraded themselves with parts of these creatures.  I enjoyed reading about the angel world with the guardian angels, the council, their sweet tooth. We get a bit of the crow world as well but not quite enough for me. I wish there was a bit more world building outside of the angel world. We get hints of these other creatures but we don’t see them. We don’t really know their place in the world and that is such a shame. It would make this world and this book so much richer.

This book starts with a crow stealing an angels wings. This crow, Max, and this angel fall in love. I knew that. It was clearly all over the synopsis. However the build up to the romance was way too quick for me. I did not understand, I still don’t understand. Sure Max is charming. He also took something from her by force. She only spend a short amount of time with him yet now she is in love. The jump was too quick. The forgiving too quickly even if that is in the nature of an angel.

Then there is the point that she is engaged to another angel. There are some complications around that but that this isn’t talked about during a date bothered me so much. How are you going on a date when this is yet another thing that stands between you. When there is someone else and you both know it?

So the romance wasn’t really my thing and that was a bit part of this book. However I did see something else happen nearing the ending that I hope will mean we will get more non-romance plot in the next book that I find interesting. Something happened to Max that was moved over because there was little time to reflect on it at the end. But I have hopes that there will be a continuation on that.

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Tweedehands Vleugels

  1. A read a lot of YA Paranormal Romance when Baz was in the really horrible part of his illness and we were at the hospital all the time. They were easy to pick back up after interruptions and not difficult to put away when I had to. The romance was always the ugh part for me. I think I rated most of them three stars on Goodreads. I am “allergic” to angels, too. Ha ha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They do tend to be quick reads. I have had some bad experiences with angels, haha, so I am less likely to pick up an angel book these days. Still I did really enjoy Angelfall by Susan Ee. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ik heb ze nog steeds niet gelezen maar eigenlijk ben ik doorgaans niet zo gek van boeken met engels er in. De boeken van Weatherly konden me bijvoorbeeld niet helemaal overtuigen. De Angelfall-serie vond ik dan weer wel erg leuk. Ik hoop dat de Fallen Angels-reeks van J.R.Ward die hier nog op me ligt te wachten me ook gaat bevallen. Die heb ik een tijdje terug tweedehands gekocht omdat ik haar Black Dagger Brotherhood boeken zo graag lees.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

