reviews

Book Review – Wires and Nerve

Book: Wires and Nerve, volume 1 by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: January 1st 2017
Genre: Graphic Novel/Sci-Fi
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Other books by this author I reviewed
The Lunar Chronicles // Heartless

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for The Lunar Chronicles.

Synopsis

When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity.

Review

I’ll be honest and say I was a little iffy when it was announced that we would be getting a story with Iko and as a graphic novel at that. In hardcover. Against my expectations the graphic novel was actually about three times as thick as I thought it was going to be. So that was certainly very much so in this books favor. Because it was certainly not a cheap buy either.

Let me start by saying that I think the art is okay. The lines and shading are done in blue. It is a bit getting used to the style of round faces but one can get used to that rather quickly for the most part. I did feel that in some panels the background lacked. In some fight scenes there is nothing in the background. Just a lot of blue or white space. I don’t expect a super detailed background in those type of scenes, but at least fill it somewhat. If you have a page or two with panels like that it just looks really empty.

The problem with creating a graphic novel after a full series is that we all already have a picture in our head with what the characters look like. While I can usually push that to the side I had a lot of problems with Thorne. His face is just so round and he looks like such a young boy. That is not how I pictured Thorne you know. Not so innocent looking.

The story takes place after Winter, after the conclusion of the main series. I was wondering what way it would be taken. I find the plot not super interesting. Having to find the wolves is not very exciting. I find it more interesting to see how Cinder is dealing on Lunar with creating a democracy. And we only got little of that. And it is great to see all the characters back and how they are refinding their place in the new order of the world. So this is not a graphic novel to be stepped in without having read The Lunar Chronicles. I just don’t think the story would be that appealing to those that have not read the series.

I was very excited about Iko as our main character. In the series I highly enjoyed her flirting, banter and oneliners. As a main character she of course needs  to be fleshed out a bit more and I think that is done. However I miss a bit of humor in this in places. I did not love Iko as much in this as I did in the books. But I hope that might change in the next volume. It is also the change of medium. I liked how Iko stepped up though and wanted to play a part, to do something for Cinder. Their friendship strongly shines through in this.

Kinney, you better be treating our Iko right or we will find you.

9 thoughts on “Book Review – Wires and Nerve

  1. I really want to read this because IKO but I totally get what you mean about the faces…like I don’t really envision faces when I read, but when I see fanart or a movie or whatnot, I still know that’s NOT the face I was thinking of.😂 If that makes sense omg.😂 So that worries me a bit, but my library just bought it so at least I won’t be spending tons of money when I read it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

