Sunday Post · Wrap Up

Dancing out of February 2017

February felt like a busy month for me with a lot of other people and a Merijn that was a horrible sleeper in the afternoon for most of the month. But regardless I still read a lot and I got through it on a mostly postive note.

The Reading Challenge

The Numbers

# Read 60 Books
Read this month: 7
Total: 15/60

  1. Wires and Nerve, volume 1 by Marissa Meyer – 3 stars
  2. Flower of Nightfall by Maialen Alonso – 2 stars
  3. Tweedehands Vleugels (Vleugels trilogie 1) by Vanessa Gerrits – 3 stars
  4. Frost Like Night (Snow Like Ashes 3) by Sara Raasch – 3 stars
  5. A Hat Full of Sky (Tiffany Aching 2, Discworld) by Terry Pratchett – 5 stars
  6. Memories of Ashes (Sunbolt Chronicles 2) by Intisar Khanani – 4 stars
  7. Invocatie (Demon van Felswyck 1) by Jurgen Snoeren – 4 stars

Favorite

A Hat Full of Sky for sure! Tiffany Aching is great and so is Terry Pratchett

Dissapointed

I was a bit dissapointed by Wires and Nerve, but it is hard not to have too high expectations for that one.

 

The TBR and Backlist Challenge

# Unread Books
Total unread books on shelf end of january– 140
Books read in February (that count) – 4
Books bought/received in February (no ebooks) – 7
Total unread books on shelf end of February – 143

Eh, too many books. And I read 3 ebooks this month versus 4 physical books. So that doesn’t really help either.

Backlist books read in February – 5
Total – 11/50

You know I initially said I wouldn’t count any books I bought this year even if they were released before 2017, but like I obviously can’t do that. Haha. What was I even thinking?

How Was February for Me?

⌘ Like I had already mentioned in my January wrap up, February was a bit more busy for me. And I took almost no time to work on new posts or any photos for bookstagram. But the good thing about planning ahead on my blog is that you probably didn’t notice that at all.

⌘ I went to the Westerhof YA night as you might have read about.It was so much fun seeing some of the girls again and meeting new girls. We also went for a drink afterwards so I was home later than I have been in a long time, haha. But it was good for the relaxation. And a break away from Merijn

⌘ The week after that we went on a small vacation in a cottage with the inlaws. Which was fun. We had terrible weather though. Storm and rain. But at least we had games and books. And good beds to take naps in, haha.

⌘ Merijn is doing well. He just turned 6 months last Sunday. He is starting to eat bread, making crawl movements and can sit loose without support for a bit. He had mostly a good month with a lot of laughing (but not enough sleep) but since we got back from the small vacation he has been a bit cranky.

⌘ A friend of mine had her twins last week but they were born almost 10 weeks too early. The girls are doing well but I’d appreciate any good thoughts you are willing to send their way.

⌘ Random add. I really need to go to the hair dresser. But I don’t like going, haha. Merijn’s hair is growing fast too so he probably will need to go soon. Maybe that will motivate me? To be continued in March, haha.

⌘ I finally got a package from Canada after it travelling 3 months and she finally got mine this week. What is it with the Canadian post, seriously?

What Happened on the Blog?

Reviews

Vision in Silver and Marked in Flesh (The Others 3 and 4) by Anne Bishop
The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
The Wrath and the Dawn duology by Renee Ahdieh
Flower of Nightfall by Maialen Alonso
Magycker 1: De Klauw by Adrian Stone
Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas 1) by Zoraida Cordova
Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal 1) by Zen Cho
Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts 1) by Vic James

Top Ten Tuesday
Books That Could Have Done Without a Love Triangle // Books with LGBTQ+ // Five Books I Loved More And Five Books I Loved Less Than I Thought

Other Posts
Dancing Out of January 2017 // Unhauling Some Books at the Start of 2017 // Westerhof Young Adult Night: Meet and Greet with a Workshop // Goodreads and the Goodreads Tag // Book Haul #20

What Did I Watch?

Monster University // Movie
I loved Monster Inc. back in the day so watching this was a bit of a must at some point. I really enjoyed it but I don’t think it was as good as the original movie. But isn’t that often the case?

Supernatural // Season 11 / Episode 3 to 6
It got a little better.

The Flash // Season 1 / Episode 7 to 20
I wasn’t sure about the Flash but I have to say that I have become quite taken to some of the characters and I can’t wait to see where it all will go. Cisco is my new love, okay?

Best of My Bookstagram

Best liked

Other

Elsewhere

Blogs

⌘ Cait from Paper Fury shared 10 reasons books are like children. SO TRUE.
⌘ Jolien from The Fictional Reader shared her top 5 of tropes she’s tired of. I can only agree.
⌘ Ava from Bookishness and Tea compiled a list of diverse sci-fi/fantasy reads
⌘ Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff shared underrated book tropes she is tired of hearing.

Dutch Blogs

⌘ Marcia from Oog op de Toekomst shares her find of a Sci-Fi museum in Switzerland
⌘ Joany van NerdyMommy is starting a comic feature on her blog that she draws herself. Super cute!
⌘ Liesbet from Zwartraafje is showing her book shelves through a few shelfie posts.She also shared a DIY post for making book marks from Funko Pop packages.
⌘ Vivian from Vivians Vocabulaire talked about having her blog as a safety net.

Youtube

⌘ Little Book Owl shares a HUGE book haul.

What Is Up Next Month?

⌘ I kept my tbr small as I’d like to read some bigger books and I’m a few books ahead on my goodreads challenge anyway. And some of these are buddy reads too. I will be finishing A Conjuring of Light and Ink and Bone. After that hopefully The Young Elites (with a whatsapp group), The Lies of Locke Lamora (with Dina) and a netgalley review copy.

⌘ When it comes to the blog the books from this month will be reviewed. The ones I’m reviewing anyway. I don’t have a huge amount planned in for March anymore. So I am hoping to work on the blog properly soon. But on the other hand I’m tired and want to read…

Linking Up

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week (or month) where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news and wrap up your reading.

Links

Instagram // Twitter // Goodreads // Facebook // Tumblr

13 thoughts on “Dancing out of February 2017

  1. Looks like a good month! Frost like Night looks like an amazing cover, and I like that rose cover of caraval also. Glad you got a little break with vacation, and sending best wishes and thoughts for your friends twins.

    I liked Flash S1 too but I’m behind now, only a few epsidoes into S2…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Caraval had so many pretty naked hardcovers. There are 4 other ones out there as well.
      And thank you for the best wishes for my friend and her twins. 🙂

      Like

  2. Haha, je bent niet de enige die bezoekjes aan de kapper graag uitstelt. Ik zou zelf immers ook nog eens moeten gaan. De laatste tijd probeer ik het tweemaal per jaar te doen maar in het verleden ben ik ooit 9 jaar lang niet gegaan. Mijn moeder knipte toen af en toe de puntjes bij maar dat was het dan ook.

    Zo is een weekje weg kan echt deugd doen hé. Even alle klusjes vergeten en helemaal tot rust komen. Alleen jammer dat jullie zo’n pech hadden met het weer. Bij ons staan er nog geen vakanties op de planning maar binnenkort gaan we wsl wel een dagje naar de zee. Hopelijk doet één dagje uitwaaien ook wonderen wat tot rust komen betreft.

    Oh ja, februari werd bij mij een nuloperatie wat het laten zaken van het aantal stapel ongelezen boeken betreft. Maar ondertussen las ik al 2 eigen boeken zonder dat er nieuwe bijkwamen. Dus tot momenteel sta ik op 128 ipv de 134 waar ik mee begon. Good enough for me. Ik ben immers snel gelukkig. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Toen ik nog thuis woonde maakte mijn moeder altijd de afspraken. Dan zei ze gewoon dat ze een afspraak ging maken, haha. Nu moet ik het zelf doen en geen zin. Ik ging voorheen ook al meer dan 20 jaar naar dezelfde kapster maar nu ik ergens anders woon kan dat dus niet meer. ._.

      Uitwaaien is ook altijd lekker. Ik heb voorheen altijd in dorp bij zee gewoond en werd dus vaak uitgewaaid. Dat mis ik af en toe wel. Toch anders hier.

      Kleine vooruitgangen zijn ook goed. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, Hat Full Of Sky was delightful! Tell me when you get ready to read Wintersmith and I will read it at the same time. I am happy that you really liked Memories of Ash too. 💜

    The climbing shelves numbers are to be expected with book bloggers, I think, ha ha. Adding three was not too bad. I finally did a stack of physical books that I actually intend to read. It is much smaller than the 60+ number of total physical unreads. I will be doing a blog post about them. I think the my library’s used book sale is going to get some really nice, but strange, donations. Heh heh. 📚📚📚

    I hope Marijn’s fussiness disappears. I don’t know what to tell you about the afternoon naps because past about four months old Baz never slept in the afternoon until he became a teenager! Hehe. He is a good napper now, too. 😂 I love that pic of Merijn, it is one of my favorites. 💟 I am glad you got to go out with the girls and relax. I will keep your friend’s twins in my thoughts.

    Everyone who has made a comment on their blog seems to have wanted the clock cover. Did anyone get one? I love that IG pic. I am really looking forward to your A Conjuring Of Light review! I still have to read A Gathering Of Shadows. It is gathering dust on my Kindle. 😝

    Have a wonderful month of March. 💚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will. Hopefully next month.

      Ah that is good. Now to actually read them. 😉 How many do you have on your e reader though? 😉

      It seems to have stabilized a bit this week, his afternoon sleeping. The last few days anyway. He does mix it up. A day with better sleeping, a day with a little worse sleeping. So I guess not too bad.

      Right, that one is so pretty. I have seen it on instagram but not that many seem to have gotten it.
      READ AGOS!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

