Book Tags · Topics/Discussion

Goodreads and the Goodreads Tag

Goodreads.

I think all book bloggers and most online active readers will be familiar with this platform. It is one of the biggest and most well known platforms to keep track of your reading.

And we love to hate it.

Let’s be honest here. We all have our complaints. Just to name a few of my own:

  • gif reviews,
  • group invites,
  • event invites (which I mostly get for other people’s review on their blog, what is up with that?),
  • people who keep ‘updating’ their review so it keeps popping up in the news feed without actually changing anything about it,
  • no half stars,
  • you can’t add rereads.

When the goodreads lay-out changed earlier in 2016 we all nit picked at it. No change is ever going to be as good as half star ratings or the abbility to add rereads! (Of course since I wrote this portion of this post Goodreads has added the reread feature at the start of 2017. So they DO listen to us.) And we wanted them to know it. Because we are petty like that. Well at least I was.

But for all that we complain we still all massively use Goodreads though. So there have to be good things about it. Like:

  • being able to keep track of our reading progress,
  • easy interactions with others on their reading progress,
  • book becommendations,
  • being able to find all the different editions or to be able to add them,
  • meeting new people,
  • goodreads groups.

I kid. I love using Goodreads. Like every website that has to cater to so many users it will have its positives and negatvies. And they will be different for everyone.

Now onto the tag portion of this post!

1. What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

Invocatie. A high fantasy book by a Dutch author.

2. What are you currently reading?

Ink and Bone.

3. What was the last book you marked as ‘To Read’?

Kort en Gelukkig. Another book by a Dutch author.

4. What book do you plan to read next?

I’m hoping to start A Conjuring of Light and by the time this has posted there is a good chance I have put Ink and Bone to the side and have already started that book.

5. Do you use the star rating system?

Not as Goodreads intended it to but yes I do rate books on goodreads. I have my own interpretation of the stars though.

6. Are you doing the Reading Challenge?

Yes. I set it to 60 this year as I don’t know how reading will be for me with Merijn growing older. So keeping my goal low.

7. Do you have a wishlist?

Of course. Not on goodreads though. There I just add books I find interesting to my to read. But isn’t nessecarily a priority wishlist. Just books I keep track of the reviews.

8. What book do you plan to buy next?

I have Shadowcaster in my basket to pre order.

9. Do you have any favorite quotes, would you like to share a few?

While I like to add quotes to my book reviews I never quite hold on to those quotes seperately. So I can’t really answer this. I haven’t even looked at the quotes section of Goodreads in years.

10. Who are your favorite authors?

Oh, difficult. I don’t really have super high faves I guess. I don’t really feel like one can be  a favorite if I only read one series by them, you know? But certainly Jonathan Stroud, Rick Riordan to a point, Cinda Williams Chima.

11. Have you joined any groups?

I have. I am a member of TreesofReverie Read-a-thon, top 5 wednesday, Of Wonderland Book Club, Blossom Books read-a-thon, Dewey’s 24h read-a-thon. beat the backlist and Goodreads Feedback. But I am the most active on the Dutch goodreads group Books Ever After. You can find the link to that in my sidebar.

12. How many shelves do you have on Goodreads?

30+ I think. I like to add books to shelves with rating, genre, year I read it in, favorites. So there are a bunch of shelves. I might change it up again this year. I don’t know.

22 thoughts on “Goodreads and the Goodreads Tag

  1. I thought I was alone in my annoyance with GIF reviews. I don’t understand the appeal. It takes away from your credibility as a writer. But, then again, I think my training as a student is probably showing right now. You have 30 shelves? that’s amazing! I have to start organizing things better. I shy away from making shelves, for some reason. Any tips?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right? I find them so annoying.
      Sometimes I think I have too many though. For what would you like shelves is a good question to ask yourself. I like having shelf that shows in what year I read what. But also of different genres and the ratings I gave them. I also have a shelf with my ebook tbr and physical tbr. I always add books to shelves when I add my review on goodreads, which sometimes I do forget to add books that I didn’t write a review for.

      Like

  2. I have a crap ton of shelves lol. There are just so many things I like to keep track of. And I also don’t use the rating system by their interpretation. What’s really stupid is that GR and Amazon have different descriptions for the stars. Like, 3 is okay on Amazon but it’s good on GR or whatever. Do they expect us to change our ratings depending on the site?! No thanks, I’ll stick to my own. Oh, and I also hate gif reviews lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my! I haven’t been on Goodreads forever. I never even updated the last books I read last year. I do love the website, but for now, I’m just happy I’m still able to post once a week on my blog. Hopefully some day I’ll be able to incorporate Goodreads again as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love Goodreads too! Some things about it can get annoying at times (like there not being half star ratings- UGH!), but overall, it’s a really nice place to share your reading progress and keep track of the books you want to read! I love reading others’ reviews and finding books I may like on it, as well.☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t think we’re ever going to get a half-star system on Goodreads, but I’m really happy with the reread option, even if it’s a bit buggy at the best of times! It keeps saying that I’ve read everything twice, for instance, so definitely need to flatten out a few crinkles.

    So glad to have you part of the Of Wonderland book club. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that there is little chance of it but I still hope. But at least we did get the reread option. Oh yeah, I’ve seen that with a few books as well with mine. It is annoying.

      😀

      Like

  6. I would add people being able to rate books before ARCs are even available to the not good list. I still think ARCs need to come with a code and if you don’t have an ARC code you can’t review it on GR until it publishes. I get so upset when I see a book with no ARC that has a one star rating sitting there before anyone even knows. Especially when it is an indie or self published author.

    I think I will love the reread feature as so as I learn how to use it properly. Ha ha. I also discovered the “friends only” average rating a couple of days ago. I like it!

    I am going to do this tag! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

