reviews

Book Review – The Diabolic

Book: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
Release Date: November 1st 2016
Genre: Sci-Fi/Dystopia
Rating: 3,5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

4A43AE83-EF8D-431B-8151-E9D2F6C67631_zpsvtox5r2v

Possible spoilers 

Synopsis

Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia.

She must become her.

Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire…

Review

The Diabolic is a dystopian standalone set quite away into our future. In case you didn’t know, this takes place in space and that was pretty cool. While I really enjoyed reading this book,  I was left wanting a bit more at the end.

In case if you have seen other reviews, I don’t think the blood and death was as bad as some make it out to be. It is just what you can expect from a book with a main character that was created to protect and kill. It did not soften up anything, but if you have read Game of Thrones this will not surprise you in death count or gore.

I felt the book was very realistic in the sense that Nemesis was bred to be a killer and that did not go away. That did not change. She also already showed signs of humanity or morality to a point before meeting her future lover. It was there she just wouldn’t believe she had it. She needed to be away from Sidonia to be able to see it and to feel like she made her own decisions. She was able to develop it further.

The romance wasn’t entirely needed for me when it came down to Tyrus. But it was obvious from the start that she would end up with him. However I did like the ending where she made it clear that she wasn’t a 100% sure of his innocence. She would live her life with him but if he did lie to her she would kill him. I had no problems believing that she would.

Like with the romance I did feel the plot was somewhat predictable. Some of the deaths you could see coming from the start. I wanted a lot more on the backgrounds of the diabolics. How exactly were they created? Who, when?  There are hints to our Earth but there is very little deepening out on that. A lot is easily put away with that they don’t know anything about the technology they use but that was a bit too easy for me. I needed a lot more world building. I suppose that is the downfall of having a book like this being a standalone with less than 400 pages.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – The Diabolic

  1. I sounds like you had a pretty good time reading it. I read the Goodreads summary when I saw it start popping up on people’s Waiting On Wednesdays, but it didn’t grab me. I don’t think I was aware it was a standalone, though. That might have changed my mind a bit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far I know it is still a standalone (but then I thought Magonia was one too and then hey it had a sequel). Fantasy/Sci-fi standalones are always worth a shot in my book as there are so few of them these days.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

