top ten tuesday

TTT #83 – Books That Could Have Done Without a Love Triangle

With Valentine’s Day coming our way next week this might be a bit of an interesting topic choice of mine. But I think we have by long established that I am a difficult romance reader. And hey, I could have done a topic like less romance as the prompt this week was books I wish had more or less of this (as always given to us by The Broke and the Bookish). But that didn’t seem quite so appropriate for the month.

Love triangles are the bane of the existence of many young adult reader. One could say we could do without love triangle at all. But some love triangles DO work. That no example springs to mind doesn’t mean this isn’t true. But there are those books with love triangles that make it all about the romance and push away the plot. Here are a few where I got a bit annoyed by the triangle and could have done without it.

 ⌘

  • Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas 1) by Zoraida Cordova
    I quite enjoyed this book but there is a bit of a triangle going on. I could have done without it. Without the triangle one of the love interests could have been developed more and their chemistry might have come across on the page better.
  • A Thousand Pieces of You  (Firebird 1) by Claudia Gray
    The triangle in this is so annoying. It really took away from the story for me.
  • Eona (Eon 2) by Alison Goodman
    Eona is the second book of the Eon duology and it suddenly adds in a triangle. It was ridiculous and it ruined the book for me. Insert sad face.
  • Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Ashes 2) by Sara Raasch
    I did not mind the triangle in the first book too much because I felt it had ended with the guy she chosen, but then in this book I feel like we are returning back to triangle and that was such mood killer throughout the entire book.
  • Legend trilogy by Marie Lu
    I really enjoyed this trilogy but one thing is that there are a few triangles going on that I could have done without. I never understand when you have a relationship that is going that another person is added to create drama.
  • Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms 1) by Morgan Rhodes
    This isn’t so much a triangle as I think but more that there are various squares going on. It does not make the characters more likeable. I stopped reading after the second book though so who knows what else was added.
  • The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa
    Oh, this triangle was so unnessecary. We all know who she was going to end up with anyway… More annoying was even the triangle that was there in the past with 2 of the 3 characters from this triangle. It detracted from what could have been a good story.
  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
    The triangle is in the second half of the series and again I don’t think was quite as nessecary (but then I wasn’t fond of the second half of the series anyway). I don’t know how it ended as I did not end up reading the last one.

 ⌘

These are the ones that spring to mind at the moment. Tell me yours!

30 thoughts on “TTT #83 – Books That Could Have Done Without a Love Triangle

  1. Yes! You’re right, sometimes love triangles do work (I really liked the love triangle in The Infernal Devices) but in general… NO. I agree with every single example you listed that I also read, like Ice Like Fire, Legend and Iron Fey – the love triangles in these really irritated me. I do love the Falling Kingdoms series, but I agree that the love triangles are too much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ik vind het echt zoooo jammer dat er steeds vaker liefdesdriehoeken in boeken vermeld worden. Ze hebben immers enkel een ergerlijk effect op me vermits ik er niet in wordt meegesleept én het al helemaal niet romantisch vind wanneer iemand om de vijf minuten van gedachten lijkt te veranderen. Nog een reden waarom ik de boeken van Anne Bishop zo geweldig vind.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES, in Legend it annoyed me SO MUCH. Why can’t a boy and a girl just be friends, without one falling for the other?!
    It’s the same with an Ember in the Ashes. This book was dramatic enough without the lovetriangle/square that was going on, it was totally unnecessary!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I didn’t know Iron Fey had a love triangle, how disappointing! I can’t stand love triangles. They give me hives!
    I made a series of blog posts featuring YA fantasy books with no love triangles, and discovered loads of promising books on this quest, you might want to check it out if you are looking for books with no love triangles: YA Fantasy with no love triangles

    I am currently reading the e-ARC of Red Sister by Mark Lawrence (coming out in April) it has no love triangle and no romance. It’s an awesome read so far (50 pages left to finish) full of awesome magic, has a great plot and no stupid teen drama/love triangles.

    If you haven’t read it, Wheel of Time is another awesome series, there is a bit of love triangle-ish thing but it’s so minor it didn’t bother me at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, I’m tempted to say that EVERY book could have done without a love triangle because for me that’s almost the worst thing that can happen in a story and I don’t think it will ever stop being annoying 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

