reviews

Book Review – A Million Worlds With You

Book: A Million Worlds With You (Firebird 3) by Claudia Gray
Release Date: November 1st 2016
Genre: Sci-Fi
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Other books in this series I reviewed

A Thousand Pieces of You // Ten Thousand Skies Above You

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the previous books in the series

0A42EF93-7526-4CC8-9A03-E1F5AED67050_zpstoqvuxzd

Synopsis

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parents’ invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation—and that those plans could spell doom for dozens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation.

Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man—angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it’s up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite—wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

In the conclusion to Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed. It’s a battle of the Marguerites…and only one can win.

Review

When a book series has super gorgeous covers but the series can’t quite live up to it. That is how I feel about the Firebird trilogy. There is so much potential but it just doesn’t quite click for me.

In this book we continue on from the revelation at the end of the second book. Other world Josie being splintered and other world parents trying to get their daughter back. Other world Marquerite (or Wicked) had jumped into ‘our’ Marquerite and ‘our’ Marquerite followes her through the other universes. I say ‘our’ because clearly the Marquerite we follow does not live in our universe, just one very similar to ours as was shown by the Beatles and a purple submarine.

‘How do you grieve for another you?’

This chase gives us new universes and Marquerites, but also earlier ones. I have to say that there were a bit too many Marquerites to keep straight. Which Marquerite belonged to which universe again? Not many stood out completely, not even those from the previous two books. Though I liked the clone universe addition. I also quite enjoyed some of  ‘our’ Marquerite’s sarcasm. And there was a conclave of Marquerites. Let your imagination run wild with that one. That was fun to a point but I was actually expecting a bit more of that.

When it comes to diversity there was one Marquerite that was deaf from an early age on. Since I have read this book I have heard that Claudia Gray has experienced deafness when she was writing so this is actually considered own voices. (There is supposed to be a thread on Twitter about this but I can’t find it) I quite enjoyed the inclusion of this as you don’t often see deafness in books. It is just that we only experience this through able bodied Marquerite going into deaf Marquerite’s body. So I feel that is very tricky. Especially when able bodied Marquerite talks about how deafness isn’t like an end sentence to her life. Don’t get me wrong I loved that because I think it is true for many. However I would have preferred to have heard it from the Marquerite who was deaf herself.  I wonder how those who are deaf or disabled feel about this portion. I have not been able to find much on it.

There were a lot of other people that were jumping between universes as well though that was a bit easier to keep track of because there were only a few really important. The alliances that were made were rather interesting. It would be interesting to see how some of those would continue beyond this trilogy.

‘People like them understand the concepts of right and wrong. They just convince themselves that they’re in the right.’

With the switching between universes there was just a lot of running around that at some points was feeling a bit repetitive. Jump to new universe, figure out what wicked had done, try and prevent it, jump again. Repeat. It took a little too long to get to the point.  Yet I felt that the ending was rushed through. I was also completely not satisfied with the ending. It did not quite feel so resolved.

And a lot of it felt flat. With the running around, the many switching about universes and Marquerites and then how quickly we went through the ending I found it hard to feel anything really.

Another thing that bothered me was the splintering of Paul’s soul. He clearly asked Marquerite to back off because he needed time to deal with things and trust himself again. To find out who he is now. And while initially Marquerite said that she would not push, she did push. I felt like Paul’s troubles were more of an insert for relationship troubles than for his own character growth. It was just there for our couple to have some drama that gets resolved at the end. Whoopy-freakin’-doo. This splintering of the soul doesn’t work like that. You can’t fix him. He is a different person.  I don’t think that was really adequately addressed at the ending.  Not satisfactory enough for me in any case.

4 thoughts on “Book Review – A Million Worlds With You

  1. I won a hardcover of A Thousand Pieces Of You in a box of random books from an author and it sat on my shelves forever. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to read it ir not. I finally traded it for a hardcover of A Darker Shade Of Magic. It sounds like I got the better deal. Ha ha. Thanks for sharing your review. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

