Wrap Up

2016 End of the Year Survey

While it is already 2017 I don’t think it is too late to give you the annual end of the year survey, as always created by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner. I do have a reading statistics post coming nearing the end of January as well as a 16 books of 2016, but I thought it would be fun to fill this in as well.

reading-stats-2016

Number Of Books You Read: 100
Number of Re-Reads:  2
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy, what else?

best-in-books-2016

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows 2) by Leigh Bardugo. This should not be a surprise. While I don’t think this book is flawless I was completely absorbed by the world, the plot and the characters. If you have not yet started this series, do so now!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Steelheart, the first The Reckoners book by Brandon Sanderson. Here is the thing, with everyone raving about this author I was expecting to love this but I didn’t. I am still going to give his epic fantasy a go though. I have been told I will like that better.

The Forbidden Wish (review to come) by Jessica Khoury. With a lot of people praising this book I had expected to like this. But a lot of the good bits fell away to the romance which was such a shame.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

Good surprises this year were certainly The Others serie by Anne Bishop. I was not quite expecting to fall in love with this series like I have. The Kingdom by Amanda Stevens, the second book to the Graveyard Queen series that was unexpectedly a lot better than the first book. Timekeeper by Tara Sim that I have fallen in love with. And The Hidden Oracle book, the first part in the Trials of Apollo series by Rick Riordan. I was not expecting to like Apollo like I did.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I always push Jonathan Stroud onto anyone who wants to hear it.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Best series I started has to be The Others by Anne Bishop. Best sequel would be The Creeping Shadow by Jonathan Stroud. And best series ender is of course Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Anne Bishop

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer. I really don’t often read out of fantasy and especially not about mental health as that cuts a little too close to home. But I loved this book for just that reason as it also had a healthy dose of humor throughout it.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The Visitor by Amanda Stevens. While not nessecarily action packed I had a hard time putting this down at times as I wanted to know the secrets!

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Written in Red or Timekeeper.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

I read some pretty books but I am going with Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay because that cover is to die for.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

I mentioned in my post that looked back on 2016 how I have had a hard time really holding on to characters. But Denise from On the Edge of Gone was certainly very memorable to me.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

Oh you can’t make me choose.

‘Being secure in your masculinity isn’t the same as being straight.’ –
Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

‘He was a book, and he was holding his final pages, and he wanted to get to the end to find out how it went, and he didn’t want it to be over.’ –
The Raven King

 

´Don´t think you haven´t lived long enough to have a story to tell.´
A Monster Calls

 

‘We shouldn’t fear uncovering things that are shrouded in darkness. We should shine light on them.’ –
The Creeping Shadow

 

There comes a moment when time seems to slip faster, running long then short, shadows shrinking as the sun climbs. It’s the moment, he decided, when you’re no longer a child. When the concept of time and the need for more of it come together and make you powerless.Make you yearn for the longer days, the lazy days, before you knew what time passing actually meant. –
Timekeeper

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

shortest-longest

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. Not so much in plot points as that there were things that I finally realized from book 1 that were already hinted at and that was just best realization.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Meg and Simon from The Others series by Anne Bishop. I am not obsessed, you are.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Ronan and Gansey from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. But also Vlad and Simon from The Others by Anne Bishop. Cassie and Danny from The Timekeeper,

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Het levende Labyrint by Natalie Koch

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Sunbolt by Intisar Khanani

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Ronan from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater (but I totally love him and Adam together <3).

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

Timekeeper by Tara Sim!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I really enjoyed the alternate victorian world in Timekeeper or the different world in The Others.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Paaz!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

Also Paaz!

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

The novella’s by Mark Gelinaeu and Joe King.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

A Monster Calls crushed my heart a little. Does that count?

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Vacui Magia by L.S. Johnson

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson. I shall not rant about David. I shall not rant about David.

your blogging life 2016.png

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

La La in the Library. Zwartraafje.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

My favorite right now is probably Timekeeper but my most viewed is my series review of A Series of Unfortunate Events (books 1-6)

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Personal favorites
Why Do I Review Books by Dutch Authors in English? // Dutch or English? International Reader // Tells That Your Partner Is a Book Buying/Hauling Enabler

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Book talk about diversity at Westerhof bookstore in Zwolle and YAA Almere.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

I cannot say I can recall a specific moment.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Combining it with taking care of Merijn. I find it hard to find the energy and time to spend on blog posts at the moment.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Forever and always this will be my 2015 review of Hex.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My book shelf tour posts as they take a lot of work.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Books Ever After, a Dutch goodreads group.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

You can read about my challenges in this post. I completed my goal of reading a 90 books by reading a 100.

looking-ahead-2016

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Possibly The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. It is about time I picked that up. But I have many of the same type so we’ll see.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

The next Timekeeper book, The Dark Prophecy, Pitch Dark, A Conjuring of Light and so on

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Honestly, I have no idea which ones are debuts.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

The Empty Grave (Lockwood & Co. 5) by Jonathan Stroud and Etched in Bone (The Others 5) by Anne Bishop

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Oh this is hard as I don’t set goals for my blog. I hope to visit at least one event this year I suppose and to meet more bookish people throughout the year.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

So far that has only been Caraval but I do honestly recommend that to you all.

11 thoughts on “2016 End of the Year Survey

  1. How apropos the Stroud quote is currently in the world. Thanks for the ultimate shout out! I am pretty befuddled on what books are debuts this year, too. I only knew a couple. Ha ha. 🙌

    You did super well on your book totals with being pregnant and then havng Merijn! Your blogging seems to be back up to full speed, too. I think there should be a special blog award for that. Heh heh. I don’t know why bookshelf tour posts don’t get more hits because frankly, they are tops on my list of posts to read. I loved your Timekeeper review. It was your review that made me change my mind about reading it. 🏆

    Yay for Sunbolt! 🌞

    Here is to more great reading (and buddy reads) in 2017. And book pictures with Merijn in them! 📚📷🚼

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? It was why I was so drawn to it.

      Haha award for going back to normal blogging routine. I don’t have as many post going up as before but I have reasonable set schedule with which I can add more in the week if I have something special.

      Here is to buddy reads and a great 2017. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post! I makes me want to get to Six of Crow and The Others RIGHT NOW! I posted my review of a Monster Calls yesterday. 5-star review. You are right. Such a beautifully written book! That was my favorite quote as well: ´Don´t think you haven´t lived long enough to have a story to tell.´ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Zoveel liefde voor deze Blogpost. In de eerste plek omdat ik het een super leuke manier vind om terug te blikken naar een goed gevuld leesjaar. Vervolgens doordat ik iedere keer happy word wanneer ik lees dat je net als ik van Meg en Simon houdt. Niet één maar drie keer in deze blogpost én dan zag ik ook nog eens een Zwartraafje opduiken tussen je blog-gerelateerde antwoorden. Ik stuur je een super dikke digitale knuffel toe als dankjewel 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 100 is a neat number, very cool! Felt the same about Steelheart – just wasn’t as exciting as everything else by Sanderson..

    So much love for Anne Bishop – I will have to read her new series as well. Especially since my best friend read it recently and loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jaaa ik ben ook zó dol op De Anderen, wat heerlijk om hier nog meer fans te treffen. Ik ga Timekeeper maar eens even op m’n tbr zetten, ik word helemaal enthousiast van je blog. (En leuk dat Westerhof genoemd wordt trouwens) Superleuk artikel weer, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

