top ten tuesday

TTT #79 – 2016 Releases I Meant to Read

Welcome Top Ten Tuesday to 2017! I skipped last week’s top ten tuesday post as I have problems each year with finding debuts that I honestly also pick up throughout the year. And quite frankly I don’t need the added pressure to my TBR, thank you very much.

So this week we are talking about 2016 releases we meant to read throughout that year but never got to. There are so many books that are released throughout a year that there are bound to be a few we didn’t get around to as we also try and read those backlist books. Here are some 2016 releases I didn’t get to. Some of these I pre ordered. I should be ashamed of myself.

What are some books you meant to get to in 2016?

āšœ

  • Truthwitch (The Witchlands 1) by Susan Dennard
    I was super excited when this arrived on pre order in January last year, but my pregnancy reading slump prevented me from getting past page 30 or so and I never picked it back up after that. I’ve heard mixed things since then, but I am still curious to read it.
  • Calamity (The Reckoners 3) by Brandon Sanderson
    The ending to this trilogy was released early on in 2016 but I didn’t start reading this trilogy until later. I had meant to finish it this year but as you might have seen from my reviews, The Reckoners trilogy hasn’t been able to catch me like I thought it would.
  • The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn 2) by Renee Ahdieh
    I mean, I still have to read the first book. But I thought I would have gotten to that one by now. But you know, those pesky pregnancy hormones and baby routines were and are getting in the way.
  • Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas 1) by Zoraida Cordova
    I’ve heard such good things about this one that I can’t believe I haven’t actually picked it up yet.
  • Nevernight (Nevernight Chronicle 1) by Jay Kristoff
    It is so pretty! But I’ve been hearing mixed things so we will have to see.
  • Replica (Replica 1) by Lauren Oliver
    None of her other books really appealed to me before but with the two sides this seems interesting.
  • Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns 1) by Kendare Blake
    I initially wasn’t so sure about this but a lot of good sounds made me pick it up regardless. I’m still a bit hesitant though.
  • A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire 1) by Jessica Cluess
    The pretty that is this cover though. It sounds like a typical young adult fantasy and I tend to like those so yeay. Just haven’t gotten around to it though.
32 thoughts on “TTT #79 – 2016 Releases I Meant to Read

  1. I have a lot of these books on my shelves, so I am hoping to pick them up. Truthwitch, Calamity, Rose and the Dagger, and A Shadow Bright and Burning! So much to read. It’s exciting. *Rubs hands together*
    PS: where do you find these Top Ten Tuesday topics? Would love to participate!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Truthwitch- check. And I liked Replica although I know not everyone did. I do like the dual nature of it. Three Dark Crowns I actually started reading in the bookstore to get a feel for it and was hooked, so I need to read that now. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My review of Labyrinth Lost was scheduled for this thrusday but I’ll push it for next week because I want A Monster Calls to go first. I liked LL. 3.8 stars
    I just got the notice from the library that Nevernight is ready for me to pick it up! Can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Three Dark Crowns and The Rose and the Dagger made my list as well! Though I did just finish The Rose and the Dagger today, so yay for at least crossing one book of my list šŸ™‚ I did read and enjoy Truthwitch and Nevernight but all the others are still on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh I completely forgot about the Rose and the Dagger! Labyrinth Lost and A Shadow Bright and Burning both made it on my list too (my TTT: http://bit.ly/2icZADI)! Truthwitch and Three Dark Crowns I sadly DNF… Truthwitch I’d probably give another shot to thought, but Three Dark Crowns is dark and dull…….. (mostly dull). Good luck with it though!
    Thanks for sharing — great TTT! ~Gwen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sad to hear you dnfed those. I had started Truthwitch as well but was unable to get into it after 30 pages so I put it to the side for a bit and never picked it back up. Will do so this year though.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoyed Three Dark Crowns but otherwise so many of these books are still on my own wishlist. I’m really excited for Truthwitch though – I’ve heard so many good things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Omg I’m with you on SO MANY of these!! Like YES for Three Dark Crowns, Replica, Rose and the Dagger, and Labyrinth Lost. *buries self* I told myself 2016 was the year I’d get on top of my TBR…and now I’m just laughing at my self’s silly ideals.šŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

