Book Haul

(Book) Haul #19 – Christmas Time

I cannot believe we have come to the end of the year already! It is officially the last day of the year. We don’t tend to celebrate New Year very excitingly. Usually I sleep half the night away, haha. We have Merijn now too so we won’t be going anywhere. What are your plants for New Year’s Eve?

This time there aren’t any new releases that I got. But it was Christmas. And I’ll pretend that by the 10th I didn’t already have 7 books stacked up.

Physical Books

A1ED8EE9-87A6-46AB-9755-818E82691A2F_zpsiv1kgdul The Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon 1) by Francesca Haig I forgot to add this to my haul last month, but I got this cheap when I visited my parents. A lot of stores like The Read Shop and the Bruna (I struggle to call these book stores because I don’t feel that they are, they sell more cards and stationary than they do books) have these low budget Dutch books that didn’t sell too great perhaps and that are marked down, sometimes by 75% so this was one of them.

60BEC385-AD6D-49A5-8EDC-FD6076E748F5_zpskqkgzqh5
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Screenplay by J.K. Rowling *
I know I’ve said I’m not interested in screenplays and that mostly still stands. However I loved the movie and I HAD to have this with how pretty the book is
Vision in Silver (The Others 3) by Anne Bishop *
In the same haul (I got a gift card for a specific online web store through my mom) I finally got this and started reading it immediately. These books are getting me into Urban Fantasy!

CCD12E75-2EA5-4659-8B38-BD4007F92A1E_zpssicqfm4hThis is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp A friend of mine finally came to see Merijn at the start of December and she gave me this book!

286FC0F6-6988-45FA-BDF9-C5AC8F5D99C5_zpswwyp63er
A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes 2) by Sabaa Tahir
This was the book that was in BookVault box. As you know I did not enjoy An Ember in the Ashes and I am not sure if I will unhaul this in January right away or if I might give the book a read.

The Visitor (The Graveyard Queen 4) by Amanda Stevens *
I saw a Dutch book blogger on Instagram haul this and made the weirdest face as they bought it in a super market while the publisher decided not to rerelease the third book (and the first release of the third one they’ve stopped printing). Yet the back says they’ll be releasing the fifth one next year… Color me confused.
Immortal in Death (In Death 3) by J.D. Robb
I am slowly collecting these in Dutch as I find them cheaply (4 Euro) in some stores. I need the second one to read on now though.

9A1B439F-1395-4335-B3F2-70894425CF28_zpsqh2v97ivFirst & Then by Emma Mills This book I won in November through a Twitter giveaway by the author and it arrived during December. When I get to a contemporary mood I know what I will be picking up.

Christmas

December of course has Christmas. A lot of us celebrate this holiday by exchanging gifts. As do my parents, my husband and I. I thought it would be fun to show you some of the things I got for my husband. As well as the books I received of course.

5E64C46B-4D0C-437A-956C-E134C7190C68_zpsfvqgiib3

Of course I had to gift my husband the Hogwarts train funko with Harry. My husband’s hobby are model trains. Ever since I saw they were making these I knew I had to gift it to my husband. I’ll get the Hermoine and Ron ones too some day for him.

4CE01240-B696-4D23-9D4E-EE1226ACB258_zpsogjotari

Kuifje or TinTin is something my husband likes. There is this shop in the province that my parents live in that sells some of these TinTin things so when we visited in November I got him a few things as he waited outside for me. And he has been wanting to see Finding Dory for a while.

48168806-B6BB-4EBA-B3D7-5551CA85C42F_zpskr19yxf8

We both got these from my parents. It is a mommy and daddy picture book. We also got some other things from my parents. I got a book gift card for instance. More books, yeay.

ED0AE298-9867-48D5-B770-87601C8D7808_zpsdrdnehta Before we go into the books, I want to show you my Scooby-Doo funko that I gifted myself. I love Scooby so I had to have this! I also got Supernatural season 11 from my husband.

But now onto the books I got from my husband.

940F5D35-6C3F-4D30-96D9-7EF4E2BF91DC_zpswusswau6

The Last Hero (Discworld, Rincewind) by Terry Pratchett *
This was an early Christmas present from my husband. I was having a bad day/week and so he gave this to me early. I had been eyeing this one since I saw it in a book store. I love the illustrations!

2AC3B44E-5BED-470B-9BD4-947FB6FA7AF7_zpskxi0jjmr

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci volume 3 by Diana Wynne Jones The last bind-up to this series so I can finish binge reading this one in 2017

B840FFB1-2207-484C-A3B1-143D8157D802_zpsmsvrwiwn

The Wizard of Oz (Oz 1) by Frank L. Baum
I love this Puffin classics edition. I have Matilda by Roald Dahl in the same edition and it is going to look so pretty next to each other!

A5F12068-CA93-460B-9443-958EFD6632BD_zpsovhlbzvj

Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends 1) by Kelley Armstrong This is probably the first book by this author that caught my attention because of that cover. I have read other books by her first now though but having seen this book first was what brought her to my attention.

12B232B2-C13F-4982-82F1-6DE57C4262F5_zpsjglxotvn

A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers 2) by Becky Chambers
So I had both Wayfarers books on my wishlist, but my husband did not catch onto that and got me the second book without the first one. I also can’t find the first book in hardcover at the moment in Dutch online stores so I am going to be forever sad I can’t match it.

5B12BBBA-B9B9-478E-B770-957B94FDFCE3_zps2qiqljvx

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files 1) by Sylvain Neuvel Very curious about this book. Look at that cover!

1A37BBC8-C33A-4CB2-929B-4C02E43A781D_zpsrcmov0jg

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria
I’m so happy I got this book (and so happy with how this picture turned out). It is so pretty. There is even a nice text on the naked hardcover.

* = read

9 thoughts on “(Book) Haul #19 – Christmas Time

  1. Oooo… such a pretty naked cover on First and Then. The Sleeping Giants book cover is beautiful. I read the synopsis for it and I think I am going to let you be the guinea pig on this one. Ha ha. Of course I already told you that I want to read Iron Cast. I also love that cover, too. I wonder if we can get illustrated Discworld books here? I love those cute Mama and Papa books. You did good, even though you got the second Wayfarers book. You never know, you might stumble upon a Long Way that matches. ☺

    Baz felt bad that he didn’t get me a book for the holidays, so he paid for my Book Outlet boxing day sale order. What is funny is one of the books is a birthday gift for him. Ha ha. So he paid for his own present. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tof om al jouw (kerst)cadeautjes te kunnen bewonderen. Sommige van die boeken hebben echt prachtige covers. Dat was ook het eerste dat me opviel toen ik het script van Fantastic Beasts ging kopen. Ik was het sowieso al van plan maar mocht er twijfel hebben geweest dan had die prachtige omslag me wel kunnen overtuigen. Uiteindelijk leek ik dit script ook met veel meer plezier te lezen dan dat van Harry Potter & the cursed child dus het was zeker geen miskoop.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja ik ben heel blij met deze covers, haha.

      Ik vond het script verrassend makkelijk te lezen en zo’n fijne herinnering aan de film Ik heb The Cursed Child niet gelezen dus daar kan ik het niet mee vergelijken.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

