Read-a-longs and Read-a-thons

Dumbledore’s Army Read-a-Thon Sign up and TBR

With a title like that, how can you possibly miss out on this read-a-thon???

In case you missed it, lovely Aentee from Read at Midnight is hosting a read-a-thon that is focusing on diverse reads and especially own voices the first two weeks of January (1st to 15th). I want (and need) to read more diverse books so this read-a-thon seems like a good way to start this year. You can pick your diverse reads according to prompts.

Personally I am going to try and fit books here that are on my shelves already as I am trying to buy less books in 2017 as you all know. Or should know.

You can find the sign up post here.

If you are looking for some recommendations, check out Naz’s sign up post over on Read Diverse Books!

All graphics in this post are by Aentee from Read at Midnight.

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

So with this one I initially struggled to find one on my shelves as the ones that were of personal significance to me I had already read. And so this is the only book on this list that I don’t currently own. I’m not going to get to seven books so it is unlikely that I will have to buy this book. But the one book that came to mind for this that I would buy is Up by Myrthe van der Meer. It is the sequel to Paaz which I read early in 2016 and deals with being admitted to the Paaz, a ward in Dutch hospitals that deals with depression and so on. Up deals with the return. If I remember correctly this was inspired by the authors own experience so it is also an own voices book.

When reading Paaz I was struck by how close to home some of the thoughts the main character had to mine. I am certainly no stranger to depression. So therefor Up seems like the perfect choice for me.

da-readathon-expelliarmus

One book that sprung to mind was On the Edge of Gone, but I already read this book. But if you are looking for a book that features an autistic main character that is the book for you! It is a marginalised group you don’t often see, especially not in fantasy reads. So when I found Magycker by Adrian Stone I was pleased to see that it has an autistic character. I would love to read more about this group as I have friends that are autistic. But also people with syndrome of down and so on I would love to see more in books. It is a group that easily gets skipped over even by those that talk about diverse books a lot.

da-readathon-protego

For this I decided to go with Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed. I’ve had it on my shelves for a while now. While this is a fantasy world I’m fairly certain that it has Arabian world building and the author himself is an Arab American according to his Goodreads profile.

da-readathon-reducto

Another one I initially struggled with. However Naz said in his sign up post that Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho would be a good choice for this prompt. So this is what I am going with. I’ve been super curious about this book and I can’t wait to start it! Have you seen that cover too?

dareadathon-impedimenta

A diverse book I’ve left on my shelves for too long would certainly by The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I also own The Rose and the Dagger so when I get to it in this read-a-thon I can read that next!

dareadathon-stupefy

I’ve heard so much about N.K. Jemisin it is about time I read one of her books. The Fifth Season seems to be a good choice!

dareadthon-lumos

And a book that was recommended has to be Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova. It being buzzed about a lot and I’ve heard mostly good things about it and I have been wanting to get to it. This prompt seems like the perfect oppurtunity! Let us pretend that the book community is one specific person, shall we?

.

And for the fun of it, here is my ID card.

dareadathon-id-ravenclaw

3 thoughts on “Dumbledore’s Army Read-a-Thon Sign up and TBR

  1. Good luck with the read-a-thon, Annemieke! I’ll be checking your progress on Twitter šŸ˜€ I wasn’t a huge fan of Labyrinth Lost but it’s a good read nonetheless, and I quite liked The Wrath and the Dawn. Loads of luscious food descriptions, so have some cake ready!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

