various

2017 Beat the Backlist Challenge

You might remember that at the start of 2016 I posted a 16 books or series to read in 2016 list in my 2016 reading goals post. How many I’ve read of those you ask?

A grand whooping total of 1.

I know.

Suffice to say I sucked at it this year. Though I feel I get a pass as I was pregnant or taking care of a baby the entirety of this year. I did not think of that list at all. And there were some books on there that I just lost interest in all together. But this year I want to get back to tackling some books and Novel Knights Beat the Backlist Challenge seems like the best way to do this. Together with others.

And it does not require much. All the books released before 2017 count. So that is basically my whole physical TBR at January 1st. Yeay.

The Goal

I would like to read 50 books towards this goal. It will highly depend on how much reading I do get in next year so I am keeping my goal somewhat low. Next to that I would also like to make only books count that I own as of January 1st. So no books that were released before 2017 and/or bought after 2017. I have more than 50 books on my book shelves that will count for this, as I am sure you are all very well aware by now.

Hogwarts House Mini Challenge

Novel Knight also created a mini challenge to go along with this that is optional. It is a Hogwards House challenge. You sign up for a house. And by posting on social media about the books you read or post reviews you earn points for your house.

btbhpcupsicons_ravenclaw

I am signing up for Ravenclaw!

The initial starting list!

Here are some of the books I am considering on reading first.

  • The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicles 1) by Patrick Rothfuss
  • The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive 1) by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Warrior Heir (The Heir Chronicles 1) by Cinda Williams Chima
  • The Young Elites (The Young Elites 1) by Marie Lu
  • Assasin’s Apprenctice (Farseer trilogy 1) by Robin Hobb
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards 1) by Scott Lynch
  • Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles 1) by Melina Marchetta
  • Dream a Little Dream (Silber 1) by Kerstin Gier
  • Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal 1) by Zen Cho
  • Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  • A Hat Full of Sky (Tiffany Aching 2) by Terry Pratchett
  • Wintersmith (Tiffany Aching 3) by Terry Pratchett
  • I Shall Wear Midnight (Tiffany Aching 4) by Terry Pratchett
  • The Shepherd’s Crown (Tiffany Aching 5) by Terry Pratchett
  • Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky 1) by Veronica Rossi
  • Half Bad (Half Bad 1) by Sally Green
  • De Klauw (Magycker 1) by Adrian Stone
  • Starters and Enders by Lissa Price
  • The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury
  • Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas 1) by Zoraida Cordova
  • Throne of the Crescent Moon (The Crescent Moon Kingdoms 1) by Saladin Ahmed
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • Truthwitch (Truthwitch 1)Ā  by Susan Dennard
  • Fire (Graceling Realm 2) by Kristin Cashore
  • Bitterblue (Graceling Realm 3) by Kristin Cashore

And many more that qualify as I mentioned at the top. But I am hoping to finally get to some of these.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “2017 Beat the Backlist Challenge

  1. I might join this one! I was thinking about hauling out all the physical books I have not read and cataloging them, so why not. Ha ha. I want to help Ravenclaw. šŸ’™

    Why do I seem to be the only person who doesn’t know about this Rothfuss guy?! šŸ˜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annemieke,
    I want to try to get as many of my books as possible. This challenge sounds pretty neat. Will have to catalog books to figure out what to read. Clever girl, I am not surprised you’re a Ravenclaw. I’m a Slytherin. *dramatic bow*
    Happy New Year, love. ā¤

    Like

Leave a Reply

