various

Movies I Like to Rewatch in December

It is finally December. And now that it is past December 5th and the children’s holiday Sinterklaas is done I can start wearing some of my Christmas sweaters. It is time to embrace THAT time of year. And with that time of year there always comes the movie rewatches.

I like to put a stack of movies I’d like to rewatch next to the tv during this month though I probably won’t get to them all this year. For some reason these movies put me in the mood for Christmas. Some of these will be the same from my favorite movies

Harry Potter movies
Is this really a surprise? And a lot of tv stations agree with me as they show them often around this time of year. I suppose like the books the movies give me a warm feeling when returning to this world. I especially like to rewatch the first few movies when they were younger. And not everything had gone to hell yet. And there is magic. Plus the movies often came out around this time of year.

‘Happiness can be found in the darkest of times if one only remembers to turn on the light.’

Lord of the Rings
I have to rewatch Lord of the Rings and especially my extended version of The Two Towers. I think it is the perfect trilogy to curl up on the couch with while it snows/rains/is cold outside. They are long and you can completely imerse yourself in a different world. And Legolas and Gimli’s interactions are life.

‘Looks like meat’s is back on the menu, boys.’

The Hobbit trilogy
The Hobbit is a recent addition. While they aren’t favorite movies by a long shot I still enjoy going back to Middle Earth and seeing our dwarves. And like with Harry Potter, the movies came out near Christmas in the theatres so they are easily linked to this time of year.

‘True courage is about knowing not when to take a life, but when to spare one.’

Ice Age
The Ice Age movies are great to watch as they are set during the ice age (duh) and so are very fitting for the winter. I also enjoy the family vibe they give off while still being able to make me laugh.

‘I don’t know about you guys but, we are the weirdest herd I’ve ever seen.’

Shrek
The Shrek movies are the same to me as the Ice Age movies are. And I love the voice actors for these movies. Eddie Murphy ❤

‘All right, nobody move! I’ve got a dragon and I’m not afraid to use it! I’m a donkey on the edge’

Elf
Elf is a Christmas movie that has become typical to rewatch for me. There is something oddly endearing about it.

‘I like to smile. Smiling is my favorite.’

The Rise of the Quardians
The feel of this movie screams Christmas to me. I mean it does have Santa and Jack Frost. And the Easter Bunny but we don’t talk about that, haha. I quite enjoyed this movie with Jack’s arc.

‘Am I on the Naughty list?’

‘Naughty list, you hold the record!’

Up
Oh my gosh I love this movie and totall forgot about it on this list. I’m ashamed. I just love everything about it but mostly the start to this movie with him and Ellie growing up and old. I loved to see their love for each other in those short moments.

‘That might sound boring, but I think the boring stuff is the stuff I remember the most.’

Santa Clause 1, 2, and 3
It is Tim Allen as Santa Clause. How is that not the ultimate Christmas movie to watch in December! They are cheesy but I like cheese every now and then. (Who am I kidding? I love cheese! The food that is.)

‘Seeing isn’t believing. Believing is seeing.’

Wall-E
When I first head about this movie, with the robot main character, I didn’t think I’d like this. But I saw it during Christmas break on the BBC 2 years ago or so and really took a liking to it. Wall-E is just so stinkin’ cute.

Kung Fu Panda 1 and 2
While certainly no favorite animation movie of mine they are certainly very entertaining to watch.

‘One often meets his destiny on the road he takes to avoid it.’

Madagascar 1, 2 and 3
While Madagascar might not have that wintery feel I do like the interactions between the characters. Who doesn’t love to watch animals bond together like a family. I do.

‘Remember, cute and cuddly, boys. Cute and cuddly.’

8 thoughts on “Movies I Like to Rewatch in December

  1. We used to watch the first Harry Potter movie every Christmas Eve after it came out on DVD, and then the rest of them on Christmas Day, until Baz hit I3 and then it was just me watching. Ha ha. I haven’t watched them myself in about three years. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wij hebben ook de gewoonte om rond Kerst de eerste Harry Potter-film nog eens te bekijken. Lord of the Ring en The Hobbit hebben we recent nog gezien maar het lijkt me wel leuk om de kerst-afleveringen van Supernatural te bekijken. En eventueel die van The Big Bang Theory én Friends én …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha ja kerstafleveringen kijken is ook wel leuk. The hobbit lieten ze hier van de week zien met de extended edition. Helaas heb ik de meeste avonden liggen pitten want die duurden tot 1 uur ofzo. Van de week laten ze de Lord of the Rings extended edities zien. Daar zal ik ook wel weer niks van meekrijgen. Gelukkig heb ik de gewone films op dvd. 😉

      Like

      1. Wij hebben van beide meerdere edities in huis. Yep, meerdere. De gewone films los gekocht, de extended-edition maar dan in een verzamel-box en tenslotte ook de extended edition op bluray. Bij Star Wars hebben we hetzelfde voor. De oudste trilogie hebben we zelfs nog op VHS in de kast liggen. Tja, de echtgenoot is al jaren fan én dan krijg je dus wel wat bij elkaar. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

