reviews

Book Review – The Visitor

Book: The Visitor (The Graveyard Queen 4) by Amanda Stevens
Release Date: March 29th 2016
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the-visitor

Other books in this series I reviewed
The Kingdom // The Prophet

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the first book in the series

Synopsis

Restoring lost and abandoned cemeteries is my profession, but I’m starting to believe that my true calling is deciphering the riddles of the dead. Legend has it that Kroll Cemetery is a puzzle no one has ever been able to solve. For over half a century, the answer has remained hidden within the strange headstone inscriptions and intricate engravings. Because uncovering the mystery of that tiny, remote graveyard may come at a terrible price.

Years after their mass death, Ezra Kroll’s disciples lie unquiet, their tormented souls trapped within the walls of Kroll Cemetery, waiting to be released by someone strong and clever enough to solve the puzzle. For whatever reason, I’m being summoned to that graveyard by both the living and the dead. Every lead I follow, every clue I unravel brings me closer to an unlikely killer and to a destiny that will threaten my sanity and a future with my love, John Devlin.

Review

The Visitor is the fourth book in The Graveyard Queen series that follows cemetery restorer Amelia Gray who can see ghosts. You might have gathered that I was somewhat disappointed in the third book of this series. I am happy to say that this book picked things back up quite a bit.

Where in the third book the focus lay heavily on Devlin and his past wife, this book refocuses back on Amelia and her abilities. And we go back to an actual cemetery in this one which I think is a plus. I am not morbid at all. But this series isn’t called The Graveyard Queen for nothing, you know. I am expecting to see cemeteries. And dead people. The cemetery we got in this book was quite an interesting one with a maze in front of it and key symbols that were on the gravestones. I still love learning bits and pieces about cemetery restoration and the meaning of symbols. Even if we only got a little in this one.

In this book we go a little further back into Amelia’s background to her grandmother. It is interesting to see where her powers come from  and why ghosts are so incredibly drawn to her. While not all things are completely uncovered it is another piece of the puzzle that is Amelia. We also learn more about ghosts and the various creatures that can come through the veil. I did feel some of the added abilities Amelia has uncovered in this book are a bit convenient. Like her ability to go into someone’s head and see a past experience from Devlin. At least she seems to have little control over it. But it is interesting to see things from her family. I wonder how far back we will go.

Another puzzle that got another piece is Devlin. While this book focuses more on Amelia, Devlin is of course still very present. I found his background concerning his unwillingness to believe in ghosts but having worked for an institute that does a little messy. But the pieces of his background we have gotten in this book I think I might understand that a little better. It has also created more interest from my side in Devlin. His family is going to play a role in the next book I am sure. Considering the ending of this book I can’t wait to see how that will play out.

The relationship between Amelia and Devlin isn’t all sunshine and roses now that he isn’t haunted. In fact there is still a clear strain on their relationship which is Amelia’s abilities and now Devlin’s background. That was felt throughout the book and is also believable. Even without Devlin’s background, Amelia knowing he was haunted without him acknowledging it was enough to put a strain on their relationship.  But their chemistry and feelings are still felt throughout the book. I have to say, Amanda Stevens can write some steamy scenes!

One thing that struck me again is how easily characters beside Amelia and Devlin get tossed to the side. The friendship she made in the last book is barely even mentioned. Her father, mother and other characters only come forward when they have a role to play in the plot and it can make them very one dimensional.  In the last book it was suggested the professor of the institute was losing his mind and he lost his son in some way. Now he seemed fine. There was only a brief mention. Things like this do annoy me as I read this series.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review – The Visitor

Leave a Reply

