reviews

Book Review – The Prophet

24200034Book: The Prophet (The Graveyard Queen 3) by Amanda Stevens
Release Date: April 24th 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Other books in this series I reviewed
The Kingdom

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the first book in the series

Synopsis

My name is Amelia Gray.

I am the Graveyard Queen, a cemetery restorer who sees ghosts. My father passed down four rules to keep me safe and I’ve broken every last one. A door has opened and evil wants me back.

In order to protect myself, I’ve vowed to return to those rules. But the ghost of a murdered cop needs my help to find his killer. The clues lead me to the dark side of Charleston—where witchcraft, root doctors and black magic still flourish—and back to John Devlin, a haunted police detective I should only love from afar.Now I’m faced with a terrible choice: follow the rules or follow my heart.

Review

After loving the second book I was very much looking forward to reading this third book. I am sorry to say that I am quite disappointed with this installment. It isn’t a bad book but I got annoyed with certain aspects. But not enough to want to stop reading the series.

In this book Amelia returns back to Charleston and we even briefly return back to the graveyard Amelia started restoring in the first book. And of course Devlin comes back into this book. I noticed in the second book how I liked that he wasn’t as present. But he is in this book as was expected. On the one hand I do like that they have such a strong connection to each other and Amanda Stevens knows how to make it a bit steamy. But I find the constant focus on him very annoying. There is so much to Amelia’s abilities and the possibilities with the plot, but everything keeps coming back to Devlin.

99874BDB-3FB4-4F4B-A542-5A39D5F0BFA2_zpsslq1t2nnI think that is also why I feel disappointed in this third installment. I feel that the plot is lacking. Especially in the first half not a lot happens and it is mostly all about Devlin. The second half is stronger because there are a lot more discoveries, but even so I find that a lot more could have been done with the plot. There is a part where she is out to discover who killed a cop and of course this ties into Devlin’s past and ghosts. It went very fast over into Devlin and the dead cop fell away a bit too much for me even though that is where it started. It all just felt a little lackluster for me compared to the previous two.  But I do like that Devlin’s ghost aren’t being prolonged over several more books.

Also the tie into magic with the grey dust and the person getting into her dreams feel more like they are a set up to Amelia discovering more about her abilities. Like we are heading into a different area. And there is a tie into another culture which is always to be applauded. However I couldn’t help but wonder as I was reading this how poc would feel about the representation on this. I felt they were so easily pushed into the villain role and into the stereotype like Mariama as the woman who drove every guy crazy, promiscuous, jealous etc. But I also feel I am not the right person to judge it.

And there were other things that stood out to me. How Amelia always compared herself to every other woman in this book. Every other woman was beautiful while she was plain. She seemed to have made a friend at the start but this person easily falls of the page when they have served their use for the plot. Or how her mother was ill in the second book but hardly mentioned in this one.

So yes I had high expectations and this book fell short. I’m still interested in reading the rest of the series though.  I hope this is just a one off in between book and that in the next one we are diving right into her abilities.

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Prophet

Leave a Reply

