reviews

Book Review – The Graces

Book: The Graces (The Graces 1) by Laure Eve
Release Date: September 1st 2016
Genre: Paranormal thriller
Rating: 2,5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

30309025

Synopsis

Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

Review

The Graces is a book that was marketed as being like The Craft, the witch movie from in the nineties (I think). I can’t remember the movie so that did nothing for me like it did for others. However the cover and witches did get me interested. I tried not to read the synopsis too much, I like to be surprised sometimes. But in this case I wasn’t expecting such a high school drama type story.

To be honest, looking back on the book I feel not a lot actually happens when it comes down to plot. It is actually very basic at the core, girl wants to become part of mysterious high school clique but has a secret of her own, and filled up with a lot of drama. For a book that isn’t even 300 pages I felt the middle slightly dragged.  I think it was predictable in that it wasn’t very hard to figure out River’s secret or what had happened with some of the characters in this book. There wasn’t really anything new in this book for me.

For me, the Graces (our mystery clique) being seen as witches from the story that got shared at the beginning of the book, didn’t make the biggest sense. Who in modern times really would believe that? I mean, honestly. It was just a bit too shaky for me personally.

As for the writing I feel that this was solid. It is very easy to read despite not that much is happening. That it isn’t very long of course does help with this. Our main character is an unreliable narrator. She keeps her secrets hidden from us as well with a few hints here and there. River isn’t her real name and we don’t find out what it is. Unfortunately because of the slight predictability that didn’t quite work for me.

It also has some stereotypical elements. Our main character being ‘different’ than everyone else, a nasty girl at school that picks on others and so on. I didn´t feel it could move very far away from that.

I also had no real attachment to the characters. I wasn´t a big fan of our main character, River. She tried too hard. She was so desperate to get with The Graces. She only does things for them for her own interest. To be liked and accepted. And I recognize the wall she has on and not letting other people in, but I would never think of doing the things she did.

As for the other characters, I think the only one I could have found interesting was Wolf, but he was so underdeveloped. He only really served two purposes in this book, that I won´t give away. I don´t think he became a real character. As for The Graces, they were rather flat. Especially Fenrin and Thalia. I think Summer has the most potential out of The Graces to grow into a more well rounded character. But that wasn´t shown enough in this book for me.

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review – The Graces

  1. Great review!
    Read the graces last month and actually really enjoyed it (though also had some massive problems with it.)

    I don’t even know why, but I went in expecting The Craft + Mean Girls but in book form. It definitely wasn’t as good as both of those movies are, but as far as what kind of story that realyl wasn’t too far off 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. 🙂 I think a lot of people internationally were selling it as The Craft + Mean Girls. I saw some early reviews mentioning those movies. Glad you enjoyed it though. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

