top ten tuesday

TTT #70 – Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Standalones

Another fill in topic for this week’s top ten tuesday that is as always created by The Broke and the Bookish. Is it just me or are these just hard to have a theme to think up for? I always struggle in any case.

But in this case I decided to go for standalones. Many books these days are a part of a trilogy or a longer series. Heck, even duologies are making an upcoming. But standalones always stay behind a little. There are of course those authors that write more standalones. I’m thinking of Neil Gaiman for instance.

For a book club I’d imagine it be great to read standalone books. If people didn’t like a book of a series it would be hard for them to continue on. And it can be harder to step back into a book club after they have just all read that series you disliked together. Especially if it is a physical book club. So standalones seem to be the way to go. Here are some standalones I really liked.

āšœ

0C23E1C6-D4BB-492C-8D5F-12A88356CEDC_zpsvkvy2jqn

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
    As mentioned Neil Gaiman writes a lot of standalone books so many are a great pick. But I especially like this one for the mystery it provides and I quite liked the main character.
  • Otherbound and On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis
    These two books aren’t connected with the exception of their author. I think I have mentioned before that I quite liked these books. Especially On the Edge of Gone with the main character being autistic.
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
    This book was so heart wrenching. One of the few books that made me cry.
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novak
    One of those rare high fantasy standalones that really worked for me.
  • Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
    Surprise! I feel like I mention this book a lot… But good for a Halloween book club pick.
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
    This was an interesting story with a fairytale feel
  • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
    While this book does have two companions I feel this is more of a standalone. You really don’t need to read the others. It is just a great magical book.
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
    Another book with companions but you can all read them seperate from each other. More high fantasy with an interesting magic system.

āšœ

What are some of your favorite (fantasy) standalones?

33 thoughts on “TTT #70 – Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Standalones

  1. I agree about standalones. I like a good one, and yes I imagine they’d be ideal in a book club. I thought Graceling was part of a tighter series, so it’s good to know it can be read independently, especially since I was looking at it a while back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love standalones! Graceling is one of my favorites, but I love Fire and Bitterblue too. If I’m being honest, I still hope for a book 4 as well. šŸ™‚ I keep seeing Uprooted everywhere. I really want to read it. It sounds like my kind of book. Great list!
    My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved both Uprooted and Graceling so much! And The Book Thief was absolutely heart-wrenching!
    I love fantasy but it is really hard to find standalones in that genre! I love series,but sometimes a standalone is enough šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Book Thief broke my hard at the end. šŸ˜¦

      Series are great but sometimes I need a standalone. To read a book without having to commit to something longer. šŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Het is inderdaad ondertussen zo erg geworden dat ik daar al echt over moet nadenken vermits er zoveel boeken in een serie of trilogie worden uitgebracht. Ontworteld van Naomi Novik vermelde je zelf al maar die zou er bij mij ook sowieso tussen staan. Maar ook ‘Life according to Garp’ van John Irving en ‘De vrouw van de tijdreiziger’ van Audrey Niffenegger. Al zijn beide wel boeken die ik lang geleden gelezen heb.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I still have not read The Book Theif. What is wrong with me?! I am going to read Uprooted, and On the Edge Of Gone at some point, too. I have The Ocean At the End Of the Lane to read also. I have read Howl’s, so list is a big winner for me. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

