Book Haul

Book Haul #17 – The One with the Birthday Haul!

It is a proud moment when there is a month where I did not buy more than three books. And those were with my birthday money in actual October. Of course the rest were pre orders and ordered before October and birthday gifts. But let’s forget about that and savour this moment.

Birthday Haul

9C02C857-177D-4D5A-AD65-55C06243C4E5_zps72bqcyvy On my birthday I posted a wishlist of items I had asked my husband to pick a few gifts from. So very interesting always to see what he picked. And highly annying to have to take the packages at the door, knowing in it are your birthday gifts. Obviously I got some books. But let’s start with a few things that aren’t books, but have to do with books anyway.

B4BA5D73-11BD-4BE0-B19D-C2C65C762B8D_zpsahi4t4cn

★ The mug from booklovespecialityshop that says ‘Accio Chocolate Milk’
★ Bookmark from booklovespecialityshop

36D9B477-E10E-46C9-B5C0-B9D6E8E1E760_zpsbie5ad90

★ The Shannara Chronicles – season 1
★ Lewis – season 8
★ Haven – season 4

There are three books below that weren’t on my list. But we went to a few book stores and I had wanted to buy these three myself. My husband ended up buying them for me and had them wrapped. So mean to know they are laying around wrapped in the house.

3A181333-F142-4118-9EFF-D34E25CB2DEF_zpspezbc8cs

30th anniversary edition of The BFG by Roald Dahl *
Have you seen this edition, because it is so pretty! *.* It is a paperback in a slipcase, and I am in love with it. The text inside is in a similar color to the slipcase. I can’t believe I got this. ❤

4092CAF1-392B-4F4D-9A92-F5B5AF67C27F_zpsvdwyrz0p

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman. Illustrated by Chris Riddell
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. Illustrated by Chris Riddell
I think I might have a thing for the combination Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell, because the only Gaiman book I own that doesn’t have Riddell illustrations is The Ocean at the End of the Lane (and it needs it too).

0FE21EAE-DBFD-4D19-B3EE-D1CB8125E83B_zpsizksv1aq

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas 1) by  Zoraida Cordova
I have been seeing this around a lot since it came out and have become extremely curious about it. So glad I got it.

7136ADCE-4C19-4F49-96F7-F3E74CAD052A_zpsokojv4aj

Half Lost (Half Bad 3) by Sally Green
I have yet to read the first book but now I can binge read.

The Rose Society (The Young Elites 2) by Marie Lu
Another book I have to read the first book of but with the last one having come out this month I can binge read this trilogy at some point.

48F14C66-4E99-46D6-AF38-F9C8992A01C1_zpsiewo6c7x

Replica by Lauren Oliver
So initially I wasn’t too sure about this one but the more I have seen it the more interested in it I have gotten with the two stories. I have yet to decide how I’ll read it though.

There is more? Well sort of. I got some birthday money from my mom and Maarten also gifted me more books when we went to Zwolle.

251AB1B2-BFEC-4F52-A5EF-A4605EF1D8D2_zpsuz3ndky3

Talon (Talon 1) by Julie Kagawa
Rogue (Talon 2) by Julie Kagawa
Soldier (Talon 3) by Julie Kagawa
Even though I am not the biggest Iron Fey fan, I was really bummed out that I had forgotten about Julie Kagawa coming to sign books in a book store in Zwolle in September. I was mostly bummed because it was something fun and I still felt like crap. I guess thing were still more hectic then with Merijn. So when we went to Zwolle when my parents visited and I saw that these were signed, my mom got me the first one, and I bought the other two with my birthday money.

05F020D3-3883-4976-89BD-A388E541443E_zpsfyyxryjq

The Rithmatist (The Rithmatist 1) by Brandon Sanderson
With The Reckoners I haven’t been too impressed but I still want his books? I just keep hearing so many good things and it has been said The Reckoners has a different writing style from his high fantasy work  and such so we’ll see.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman *
I have been eyeing this pretty Dutch hardcover for a while as the price was so low and I love the book more as time passes.

CF3CAD7B-650E-4C7E-8A36-968AA4C1653B_zps8517madd

Caraval (Caraval 1) by Stephanie Garber
Caraval? Yes Caraval. This Dutch edition was released ahead of the English/international edition. I KNOW. Initially I was going to wait for the January release but I have no patience. I want to read it now.

6DED50ED-A279-4366-A90F-56B014C9BF53_zpsbjrkroo1

The Worst Witch to the Rescue (Worst Witch 6) by Jill Murphy
This I saw in a book store for 3 Euro and it is so pretty. The blue is soft!

E8A2BAD4-6EBA-40E6-A572-1C2BFAA9CCD0_zpsgqznx6rd

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
The Dutch edition was released around the time the Engish one was. With buying the book I can also get the ebook of their site so that is great.  I’m very curious about it because I like the idea but I am interested to see if the executionworks.

 

Other Books

C8FB636F-2BBB-46AC-B512-A47CA5058FBB_zpsldhq7k2p

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard 2) by Rick Riordan *
Obviously I had this on pre order. Just look at the colors of the spine. Just as pretty as the first one.

Frost Like Night (Snow Like Ashes 3) by Sara Raasch
Finally my pre order arrived! Only 3 weeks late.

4321140A-0324-4F17-BFD5-43BEC4B52E37_zpseiagrxic

The Pyramids of London (Trifold Age 1) by Andrea K. Host *
I read this book last year through Netgalley and really liked it. But the physical copy was extremely expensive to get at the Dutch webstore (40 Euro) and not available in the book store, but I saw at the end of September that it was at a normal price. I decided to get it for myself as an early birthday present. ❤

 

Merijn

58936A69-75D1-4926-8ED4-E5ED90859FFC_zpswlhc1pa2

Audio Books
I went into a store and saw these Dutch audio books (almost all Roald Dahl) really cheap. I figured it was good to get these now even though Merijn is still a bit too young for them. Besides maybe I’ll like these audio books. 😉 (And these were already bought at the end of September after I made the September book haul post)

0391153A-034A-444C-B931-A507C9DE6F7C_zpsokmgstyx

Dikkie Dik by Jet Boeke
Oorlog en Vriendschap by Dolf Verroen
Dikkie Dik is a picture book. Oorlog en Vriendschap (War and Friendship) is this year children’s book week gift. I’ve decided to collect those now that Merijn has been born.

Ebooks

32595360

De Wereld achter het Water by Jen Minkman *
This is the continuation to Het Boek van Voorheen that I reviewed earlier this year. The author asked the reviewers of the first book to review the next one as well.

* = read

17 thoughts on “Book Haul #17 – The One with the Birthday Haul!

  1. Nice birthday haul! Replica of course I’m excited about, having just read it, naturally I want to know what everyone else thinks lol. And The Rose Society looks good. Plus DVD’s! Hope they’re all good shows!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome birthday haul! I really like your mug and bookmark! I live for bookmarks but I don’t have very many. Those Roald Dahl books look amazing! I’m interested to see what you think of Labyrinth Lost! I love witches and I believe there are not enough witch books out there! I hope you had a wonderful birthday! Happy reading and have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The mug is great. I collect book marks. There are so many pretty ones out there *.*
      I am very curious about Labyrinth Lost. I’ve heard mostly good things about it. 😀

      Like

  3. Yay, happy birthday! I love that HP mug and it’s absolutely perfect for the upcoming winter season. I love The Ocean at the End of the Lane, I really need to sit down and reread it soon. It’s never too early to start the young one’s own library. Hope you enjoy all your new books!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wat een indrukwekkende haul. Ik ben echt fan van de leuke beker en bladwijzer al zag ik ook heel wat leuke boeken langskomen. Het zwarte hart vond ik echt mooi. Dat boek heeft zeker een plaatsje verdiend op mijn Ontdekkingen van 2016-lijstje.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yowser! My head is spinning! Ha ha. HUGE HAUL When you are getting ready to read the first Half Bad book, let me know and I’ll buddy read with you. I might not commit to binging all three because I read the prequel novella and didn’t quite like it, but Cait has said the books are way better than the prequel. That is why I bought the ebook when it was on sale.

    I LOOOOOOOVEEEEE that you are stocking Merijn’s library already! A lot of people have given me weird looks when I have gifted books for baby showers. They just don’t understand!

    Maarten is so sweet with the book buying. Does he read much himself?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Will let you know for sure! I’m curious to see what I will think of it as I keep hearing such conflicting things.

    Oh when people asked what to bring as a gift I told them to bring me books. And my former co-workers brought a book for Merijn and a book gift card for me. Books for the win!

    No, not at all. He struggles with it a bit so he doesn’t put in the effort unless it is a comic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

