top ten tuesday

TTT #67 – Books I read on Recommendation

With so many books being published daily it can be hard to decide what books to read. Synopsis, covers and having read the authors previous works can help to decide. But even more so other people telling you what a great book something is can really help. These can be (your fellow) bloggers, professional reviewers or friends. For me, especially those that have been personally recommended to be tend to stick and be those that I want to read. Below is a list of books that were either general recommendations or those that were personally recommended to me.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme by The Broke and the Bookish where they provide us with a prompt.

āšœ

  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    Rec: Zadien
    Cinder was recommended to me by an online friend that I had known for years. Cinder was what got me back into reading so I am still very happy I got this recommendation!
  • Naked in Death by J.D. Robb
    Rec: Zadien and Zwartraafje
    This series has been so higly recced by these two that I had to read it this year. And I am so glad I did.
  • Discworld by Terry Pratchett
    Rec: Carol
    I had heard about Terry Pratchett before in passing but not until Carol showed her love for it did I really start buying and reading them.
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
    Rec: Rebecca (on Tumblr but she has since deleted it)
    Rebecca is one of the biggest The Book Thief fans I know. On Booklr she shared her love often and she made me want to read this book. I’m glad I did because it did become a favorite.
  • Lockwood & Co. by Jonathan Stroud
    Rec: Kay
    Kay is a fellow Bartimaeus and Jonathan Stroud fan and she is the one that said I needed to read Lockwood. So I did. šŸ˜€
  • Sunbolt by Intisar Khanani
    Rec: La La in the Library
    Recommended to me on Goodreads by Linda. I read it as we both felt the same way about The Raven Cycle during our buddy read, and I really liked reading Sunbolt.
  • The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
    Rec: Many but Cait was the most vocal of her love for these books
    Do I even need to say it. Everyone that knows Cait knows that she shouts her love for this series on a daily basis. It’s hard not to want to read the series after that.

āšœ

So thank you all for these general or personal recommendations! What book you loved was recommended to you?

20 thoughts on “TTT #67 – Books I read on Recommendation

  1. I read Cinder, The Raven Boys and The Book Thief also because of recommendations! I’m not sure if I would have picked them up otherwise, so I’m glad I did because they are some of my favorites now! šŸ™‚ So I’m all for recommendations – they help you discover books you wouldn’t otherwise have picked up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed. I don’t think I would have picked up The Book Thief otherwise and The Lunar Chronicles were the first books that really got me back into reading again. So without those I might not have been here. šŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. The Lunar Chronicles, The Raven Cycles and Lockwood & Co are definitely great series! I just finished Hollow Boy and that ending caught me way off guard. Creeping Shadow is with my sister who’s away at the moment, so I need to wait for her to get back before I can start that. I can’t imagine what it must have felt to wait a year!
    I love that you remember all the recommenders. I have poor memory so I couldn’t figure out who recommended what on which blog, which makes me feel bad šŸ˜¦ I definitely remembered picking up Raven Cycle because of Cait though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get Creeping Shadow soon. The year wait was terrible. šŸ˜¦
      I try to remember. After making this blog I remembered a few more, but oh well. With blogs it can be hard to remember because we often visit so many.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s awesome that someone recommended Naked in Death to you. I loved that series back in the day!
    a href=”http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/10/11/top-ten-tuesday-all-about-books-you-read-because-of-recommendation/”>My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Lunar Chronicles and The Book Thief are two of my favorites, so I am so glad to see them on your list. šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. EEEEP. I’M GRINNING LIKE A CHESHIRE CAT RIGHT NOW. šŸ˜ŠšŸ˜Š I think those books are perfect omg (I mean, surprise…haha, no one knew I’d say that…šŸ˜‚) And I LOVE the Lunar Chronicles and The Book Thief too. Soooo much appreciation there!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay for reading Naked in Death, I love this series and just read four of the books when I was on holiday. The great thing is they are all consistently excellent and I am on book 40 something of it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

