top ten tuesday

TTT #66 – Most Memorable Villains

When we think of book characters we often think about the main characters, the heroes of the story. We often talk about them and how great they are. But what about the villains of the story? Those that we love to hate. Some villains are more memorable than others. sometimes even more than the heroes. Here are some of mine.

This prompt was offered to us for the weekly top ten tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish as always.

āšœ

  1. Dolores Umbridge (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)
    I don’t think I am the only one that will have this one on their list. What sticks and what is so deplorable about Umbridge is that I think we have all known a person (though hopefully not a teacher) who was like this.
  2. Joffrey Baratheon (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin)Untitled
    Someone we all love to hate is this youngster that let the power get to his head. He was just such a terrible person we all loved it when Tyrion made jokes at his expense and I don’t think anyone is sad about how his story line ended up as.
  3. Darkling (The Grisha by Leigh Bardugo)
    Oh the Darkling. Such an appealing villain. There were plenty of us that swooned a bit when he came into focus in the first book, Shadow and Bone. He isn’t a good person, but his connection with Alina was interesting. And so was our little crush as readers on him.
  4. Bellatrix Lestrange (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)
    Of course this mad hatter can’t be missed from this list, though I have to say that the movies did help with that. She is so twisted, you can’t forget about her. She won’t let you.
  5. Levana (The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer)
    Levana is a character that you remember because of how she became the villain as told in Fairest, the bigger novella book. It made me understand her without feeling sorry for her which is always admirable.

āšœ

What are some of the villains that you remember most?

47 thoughts on “TTT #66 – Most Memorable Villains

  1. I loved Fairest!! I think I liked it better than some of the actual books in the series. It was SO interesting to read about Luna and what it was like there and how Levana became who she is. But yeah, I appreciated that she went through some stuff, but I didn’t ever feel bad for her because she became something really evil and a messed up background doesn’t excuse that.

    I also hate Umbridge with a passion. More than Voldemort, more than Snape (who I really don’t care for), more than Pettigrew or Bellatrix.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah Joffrey was nasty. I almost had Jaime on my list because he’s such a layered villain, despicable at first but then you understand him better (even if he is still arguably despicable lol). Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh, Joffrey. I’ve only watched season one of GoT but man, I hate him! I have The Darkling and Umbridge on my list as well. I wish I would’ve added Bellatrix too. She was so crazy and her do any thing for Voldemort attitude made her even scarier. Great list!
    My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t make this list this week but I did many weeks ago and both Dolores and The Darkling made my list! The darkling is a seductive sort of baddie and Dolores is just deplorable – more so than Voldemort because she’s supposed to be on the side of good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Umbridge is definitely a memorable villain. I never had a teacher like her, and hopefully I won’t get a boss like her too. I’ve yet to read Fairest, but I’m really fascinated by Levana’s story. Have to get to that soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. These are all unfamiliar to me, but I’ve heard great things about Leigh’s books. Her newest, in particular, sounds really good! Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Do you know I’m unfamiliar with ALL of the villains on your list? That said, I’ve heard Leigh’s books are really good/interesting. So here’s hoping I enjoy them when I finally read them! šŸ™‚

    + Do you like this series or the more recent “Six of Crows” books better?

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

