TBR · Wrap Up

September Wrap Up and October TBR

The end of September has come and gone and we are already heading into October, my birthday month. Surprisingly I ended up reading more in September than I was expecting to. Go me. Go baby for letting me!

I decided to let the comment on new blogs challenge go. I’ll still be on the look out for new blogs to comment on, but I won’t keep track of that anymore. Keeping track is too hard now with the baby when commenting is sometimes sporadic at best.

# Read 90 Books
Read this month: 6
Total: 80/90


  1. Sunbolt (The Sunbolt Chronicles 1) by Intisar Khanani – 4 stars
  2. The Lives of Christopher Chant (Chrestomanci 2) by Diana Wynne Jones – 4 stars
  3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – 5 stars
  4. The Creeping Shadow (Lockwood & Co. 4) by Jonathan Stroud – 5 stars
  5. The Graces (The Graces 1) by Laure Eve – 2,5 stars
  6. An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes 1) by Sabaa Tahir – 2,5 stars

So I had a few good reads this month but also a few books that weren’t so great. Most of these will be reviewed throughout October and November (so you will get my opinion then) with the exception of An Ember in the Ashes. One of those books that did not work for me at all. It is one of those hit or miss kind of books and unfortunately it was mostly a miss for me.

# Unread Books
Total unread books on shelf end of July– 151 
Books read in August (that count) – 5
Books bought/received in August (no ebooks) – 11
Total unread books on shelf end of August – 157

Well I did say this goal wasn’t going to go very well from now on. I can read less now than I’ve been buying. And October will pretty much be the same as it is my birthday and my husband has been getting a staggering amount of packages from my birthday order he placed earlier this week. I’m guessing there will be books.

# October TBR


You know I like making TBR’s because they focus me on certain books. I don’t feel limited because I can always diverse from them. It is more of a guideline really. So while I am most likely not getting around to some books, I’m still making this. I like being able to choose.

First I’d like to finish my current read Crooked Kingdom. It’s so big and I love it so far but I don’t have that much time in one go to read it. Just small bits throughout the day/week. Then for the Dutch Goodreads group Books Ever After I am doing two buddy reads with two members there. I’ll be reading The Dream Catcher and The School for Good and Evil for that. So those are priority.

Other than that I’d like to get to the second Magnus Chase book, and Frost Like Night, whever that actually arrives at my doorstep. I would also like to finish Good Omens but that is more of an if I feel like it than a must/want to. I put up the third Wings of Fire book because that is just an easy in between read if I need it. The international edition of Hex I’d like to get to as well. It is the perfect month for it. And then there is also The Prophet by Amanda Stevens.

But hey, we’ll see. 🙂

10 thoughts on “September Wrap Up and October TBR

  1. I only read five books but I blame that on having to physically go into work four days a week the first two weeks of the month. I have some Halloween themed books that are only around 200 pages each for October, so that should help catch me up on my Goodreads Challenge. I am so happy you liked Sunbolt! The only good reviews I saw for The Graces came from bloggers who had super early ARCs. The later reviews, including bloggers who read the later issue ARCs, were not so favorable, so I steered clear of it. You did pretty well with only two bad books out of six, although none woulkd have been better. Ha ha. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah, that does cut into the reading time a lot. Halloween themed books sound good. I would do that too but there are too many of new releases I had pre ordered I want to read first, haha.

      Like

  2. I’ve just finished the Whispering Skull. It was so good, I really want to see what happens next. The Creeping Shadow just arrived earlier this week too. Is it the last book? And here’s an early happy birthday to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

