Book Haul

Book Haul #16

I feel I say this every month, but I wasn’t suppose to have this many books this month. I was only suppose to have my pre orders and have that be it. But I have no self restraint. And one pre order has even been delayed! So I shall just duck my head in shame and let you see what I got this month.

9ECB79C6-85F0-4A0D-93FB-8CC0DEA4A858_zpsl55euvrj

Physical Books

The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn 2) by Renee Ahdieh
I have yet to read The Wrath and the Dawn but I want to read these two closely together. I waited for a while on buying The Rose and the Dagger as it was expensive for a bit as hardcover. But at the start of the month it was for a price I was willing to pay and I ordered it right away. Very curious about this duology.

602AC282-96C6-43DE-A338-0E405BC9CFD0_zpshxehbial

Half Bad (Half Bad 1) by Sally Green
Since I won Half Wild last month I had to get the first book as well, obviously.

The Graces (The Graces 1) by Laure Eve *
This was one of my pre orders this month. I got the Dutch edition as I like this cover and they made it cheap for a Dutch edition. Ten Euro when normally it would be 18-19 Euro. So I figured that was a good reason to get the Dutch one for once.

3120DD15-3360-411B-B008-7327CE3CA91D_zpsq21jvwn3

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness *
A Monster Calls was the fantasy book of the month at the Dutch goodreads group Books Ever After where I am a member. Every month a book gets voted on for book of the month read, but as long as I had been a member, no book I wanted to read had been picked. Until this month. But I had to buy it. I ended up getting this pretty hardcover. It is so nice! So pretty under the dustjacket.

The Creeping Shadow (Lockwood & Co. 4) by Jonathan Stroud *
Of course I had this on pre order. And I started it as soon as possible once I got it. I still love this series and its characters. It is really worth a read!

3888CCB3-1A9F-40EB-8ED7-A7A2386C49E3_zpswydhhxyp

A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire 1) by Jessica Cluess
This cover is so pretty and I am really curious to see how it is. I’ve heard mostly good things about it!

3C3B6B7E-B3FA-4128-858D-B0F5BEA5D415_zpsv7gju7ta

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth 1) by N.K. Jemisin
Jemisin is an author who I’ve been eying to get a book from for a while now. I am very curious about her writing.

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes 1) by Sabaa Tahir
When this book was released last year I initially was somewhat interested in it. But the reviews went from hot to cold. Lately I’ve seen a small increase of positives towards this book. And the Dutch publisher has published a smaller paperback for 5 Euro. So I figured that was a good price to try out this book for.

CB55E946-3C84-491F-A19F-432F86D1B9E0_zpstyvjwxdu

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
A gift from my mom when she was here. She likes buying me books. And I am secretly curious about this one.

Alle Verhalen by Roald Dahl
This was another gift from my mom. This is a collection of shorter and other stories by Roald Dahl in Dutch. I’m curious since I mostly know his well known children books.

Six of Crows (Six of Crows 1) by Leigh Bardugo
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows 2) by Leigh Bardugo
With loving Six of Crows I went back and forth on whether or not to get the boxset of hardcovers. As you can see I caved. I needed it.

Ebooks

ebook-haul-sept-2016

The Prophet (The Graveyard Queen 3) by Amanda Stevens
The Visitor (The Graveyard Queen 4) by Amanda Stevens
I had initially pre ordered the Dutch edition that was supposed to come out in October but that was cancelled as the publisher won’t re release it any more in paperback. Which sucks. So I got the ebook and the next one as well. I think the fifth one should be coming out soon as well.

Rivers of London (Peter Grant #1) by Ben Aaronovitch
My sister in law said this was really good and I saw the ebook cheapish so I figured I’d give it a go.

*already read

12 thoughts on “Book Haul #16

  1. This haul is fantastic! I want to read A Monster Calls this October. Definitely before the movie is out.
    I have Wrath and the Dawn on Kindle, but I love the hardcover so I may have to get a copy if it as well. And I finally decided to start reading for Six of Crows! I am actually going to meet Leigh Bardugo this Saturday, so it’s perfect timing. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh A Monster calls is great for this month!
      I hope you are enjoying Six of Crows. I loved that one. 😀 And have fun on Saturday. I’m secretly jealous, haha. 😉

      Like

  2. This is tne second time I have seen Rivers Of London lately, so I went and added it to Goodreads. I probably would have added it when I saw it on the other blog, but he didn’t have his books linked. Grrr… I want the boxed set of the Bardugo books, too! 😍 I have an ebook of Half Bad. Tell me when you are going to read it and maybe we can buddy read. Nice haul! You have convinced me to add Stroud to my tbr. Ha ha. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many books!!! Vuur en As is just AMAZING (can’t wait to read TORCH). 1 week ago I read some of the short stories written by Roals Dahl for a school project. They were pretty weird and if you read them for a second time they are like completly different, which was actually quite funny 🙂 Furthermore, I would really love to read Three Darkest Crowns 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I know. Vuur en As didn’t end up being my thing entirely. 🙂
      Yeah I heard the short stories were quite a bit different. That is why I’m actually pretty curious about them. I’m curious about Three Dark Crowns as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

